Page 11 of 29 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

Thread: What the FAI thinks of progressive clubs:

You will never, ever, get a majority of clubs in the league, let alone every club to join together in some sort of protest against the FAI.

Simple solution to this: Proceed with the friendly and limit the capacity to 19,999 tickets. The FAI cannot sanction games with a capacity of over 20,000 without seeking the permission of the third party they have the agreement with apparently...

Quote Originally Posted by John Delaney, CEO FAI on the Marion Finnucane show;
    'We would have a relationship (with an agency) in terms of the organisation of friendlies coming into Ireland.
    'There are certain games we can grant and there are certain games we can't in terms of attendance figures.'
    'We cannot sanction friendlies with attendances in excess of 20,000 without the permission of this agency'

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Simple solution to this: Proceed with the friendly and limit the capacity to 19,999 tickets. The FAI cannot sanction games with a capacity of over 20,000 without seeking the permission of the third party they have the agreement with apparently...
    I would imagine that reduction in attendance and gate receipts makes the economics untenable?

Unless Limerick need 20,000+ to break even...

89 Posts
    FAI getting rattled?

"A large amount has been written since Friday about the FAI’s position in relation to friendly matches and in the interests of clarity, the Association wishes to confirm the following:

1) The sole objective of the FAI is to develop, promote and foster the game in Ireland. Any commercial venture entered into by the FAI is designed purely to fund the development of the game at all levels throughout the country. This includes the Airtricity League which is funded by the tune of €5m p.a. for the benefit of all clubs. Any suggestion that our decision was made for reasons other than the good of game is simply untrue.

2) Unlike commercial agents, the FAI is not in the business of profiteering from such games. Any profit the FAI does generate is delivered straight back into the development of the game. One of the reasons why we have entered into an arrangement with a commercial partner in relation to friendly games is to protect and maximise the value of our rights, to benefit the game as a whole. If games were to be organised outside of this arrangement, profit made by any agent would be lost to the game. For example, with one club the Association had agreed a price for a visit, only for an agency in Ireland to offer double the amount. This is inflationary and not in the interests of football since any profit generated by that agent would not be reinvested in the game.

3) Limerick FC are portraying as a certainty that with FAI permission the game would come to Limerick. We are aware that even with FAI permission (which in any case, we are unable to grant), FC Barcelona has not made any decision to come to Limerick. We have spoken to high level officials at the club who have confirmed this and we are also know that international match agents are offering FC Barcelona to other clubs in other countries on the same date, July 31.

4) The FAI has already made clear the reasons why it did not grant permission to Limerick FC to play Barcelona on July 31 because a) the Association has third party commercial agreements which prevent it from granting the game in stadium with a capacity in excess of 15,000 and b) the FAI is in negotiations with FC Barcelona itself in relation to a visit of Aviva Stadium and c) because the Association is obliged to retain ownership of the July 31 date because of Airtricity League fixtures. Limerick FC were aware of all of the above prior to making their announcement on Thursday evening.

5) Under FIFA rules, FAI rules and under the participation agreement which all clubs signed, no club can arrange any match without the prior consent of the national governing body. The clubs were reminded of this in writing in May last year.

6) Under the participation agreement which all clubs signed, the FAI is entitled to enter any commercial agreements which it sees beneficial to the game. The game Limerick FC have referred to would benefit just one club. The FAI is obliged to operate in the interests of the Airtricity League as a whole.

7) Since the sponsorship revenues from the League do not come close to covering the €5m p.a. it costs the FAI to run it, revenues from international matches and club friendly games (e.g. Airticity League XI v Manchester United) are used by the FAI to fund the running of it.

8) It has been suggested that the FAI is not happy to grant friendly games to Airticity League clubs. This is not true. In recent times alone, we have granted permission to Celtic, Newcastle, Liverpool, Wolves, Atletico Madrid, Real Madrid, Hull City and Ipswich Town to play Airtricity League clubs and we will continue to do so.

9) It was suggested in one newspaper that the FAI declined a request from Bohemian FC to play FC Barcelona. This is not true and the club have confirmed that.

10) The manager of Bohemian FC stated in today’s newspapers that if they were to be drawn for a Champions League game on August 4, they would play it regardless. The FAI has already met with Bohemian FC and the other clubs in European competition two weeks ago and at this meeting we explained that if there were two Dublin clubs in European completion on that week, then one game would take place on August 3 and the other on August 5."
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

2,284 Posts
    You will never, ever, get a majority of clubs in the league, let alone every club to join together in some sort of protest against the FAI.
    Awk, let us dream, will you? :P

89 Posts
    Where is the €5m p.a figure coming from?

If we say prize money is €1m and administration(salaries etc) is another €1m, where is this other €3m coming from?
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

2,771 Posts
    any points i havent remarked on is because it is meaningless rubbish.

Point 2 - yeah right... paying off the costs of financing New Lansdowne is redirecting the funds "straight back into the development of the game" - do they think we're that thick?

Points 3 and 5 - contradictory. Why state point 5 if you stand by point 3?

Point 9 - untrue. Bohs asked the FAI unofficially and were told No. This was on the Bohs mb prior to the Limerick fiasco coming to light.

Point 10 - missing the point entirely. Why schedule Man U vs. League XI on a week where 4 teams could be committed to playing vital Euro ties? Why not use you effing brains for a change and schedule the meaningless friendsly for another week? Oh sorry, right, the cash.

Thats what it all boils down to Delaney, dont even try to pretend otherwise.

FAI - F*ck All Interest.

Quote Originally Posted by MariborKev View Post

If we say prize money is €1m and administration(salaries etc) is another €1m, where is this other €3m coming from?
    prize money which was reduced and is being provided by Airtricity.
    Last edited by dahamsta; 17/05/2010 at 9:03 PM.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

2,284 Posts
    1) The sole objective of the FAI is to develop, promote and foster the game in Ireland. Any commercial venture entered into by the FAI is designed purely to fund the development of the game at all levels throughout the country. This includes the Airtricity League which is funded by the tune of €5m p.a. for the benefit of all clubs. Any suggestion that our decision was made for reasons other than the good of game is simply untrue.
    So this is what altruism looks like in the modern age then?...

3) Limerick FC are portraying as a certainty that with FAI permission the game would come to Limerick. We are aware that even with FAI permission (which in any case, we are unable to grant), FC Barcelona has not made any decision to come to Limerick. We have spoken to high level officials at the club who have confirmed this and we are also know that international match agents are offering FC Barcelona to other clubs in other countries on the same date, July 31.
    Interesting, seeing as its completely at odds with the line Limerick are pushing.

4) The FAI has already made clear the reasons why it did not grant permission to Limerick FC to play Barcelona on July 31 because a) the Association has third party commercial agreements which prevent it from granting the game in stadium with a capacity in excess of 15,000 and b) the FAI is in negotiations with FC Barcelona itself in relation to a visit of Aviva Stadium and c) because the Association is obliged to retain ownership of the July 31 date because of Airtricity League fixtures. Limerick FC were aware of all of the above prior to making their announcement on Thursday evening.
    Still don't see the relevance of 'b)' there. Just looks something like, "Well, we want them for us, so fat chance you're having them if it'll interfere with our negotiations". As for 'a)', that's not quite true either, is it? At least, in the FAI's initial public statement there was no mention of this 15,000 threshold which formed part of these third-party agreements. Although, at least that detail surfaced on a later date.

6) Under the participation agreement which all clubs signed, the FAI is entitled to enter any commercial agreements which it sees beneficial to the game. The game Limerick FC have referred to would benefit just one club. The FAI is obliged to operate in the interests of the Airtricity League as a whole.
    Seems fair enough in that Limerick willingly and voluntarily signed up to the participation agreement. It does give the FAI quite a lot of scope and power over the league clubs' affairs, however, which is rather unfortunate. As someone said earlier in the thread, having to sign up to all this crap before you're allowed to even kick a ball is a very sorry state of affairs. I mean, then going on to criticise the game as being beneficial to only one club? Well, so what? Tough luck to the other clubs; at least Limerick had the initiative and gumption to go ahead and attempt to organise something of this magnitude by and for themselves. They don't owe the same duty of care or concern to the other league clubs that the FAI does and it's certainly not the duty of the FAI to impede them were they ever to think outside the box and try and win some legitimate advantage by showing a bit of foresight and positive thinking. Anyway, I thought they were saying a second ago that it would benefit only a third-party agent and that they couldn't envisage Limerick benefiting from such a game at all...

7) Since the sponsorship revenues from the League do not come close to covering the €5m p.a. it costs the FAI to run it, revenues from international matches and club friendly games (e.g. Airticity League XI v Manchester United) are used by the FAI to fund the running of it.
    Yeah, actually, the real reason I'm fuming about this game is because it wasn't between combined Manchester United/Arsenal and Chelsea/Liverpool teams!

8) It has been suggested that the FAI is not happy to grant friendly games to Airticity League clubs. This is not true. In recent times alone, we have granted permission to Celtic, Newcastle, Liverpool, Wolves, Atletico Madrid, Real Madrid, Hull City and Ipswich Town to play Airtricity League clubs and we will continue to do so.
    But sure all those games would benefit only one club; the club hosting those games. And there's nothing wrong with that at all. Good luck to them for organising them.

Out of interest, when did Atletico Madrid play here? My memory fails me.

10) The manager of Bohemian FC stated in today’s newspapers that if they were to be drawn for a Champions League game on August 4, they would play it regardless. The FAI has already met with Bohemian FC and the other clubs in European competition two weeks ago and at this meeting we explained that if there were two Dublin clubs in European completion on that week, then one game would take place on August 3 and the other on August 5."
    This is the most galling thing of all that has occurred this week, in my book, and I've read this "explanation" a few times, but have absolutely no idea what it's supposed to mean. Bohs would play the game regardless? As opposed to what? Dropping out of the Champions League?

This goes nowhere near getting Delaney off the hook for putting our league champions' competitive European fixture secondary to a meaningless friendly.

44 Posts
    Did any one else notice Fran Gavin kept calling Con "Tony"!!!!
    Only another 9 titles till Drogheda become pride of county louth!!!

22 Posts
    Rico imo lost all creditability tonight on MNS he was easily bought by the FAI one cheque to manage in a micky mouse friendly and he becomes delaneys best friend I have lost all respect I ever had for him

108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shep View Post
    Did any one else notice Fran Gavin kept calling Con "Tony"!!!!
    Yep, he was also well clued up on the champions league qualifiers - seems bohs only have to win through the round taking place the same week as the manu fixture to qualify for the group stages.

Obviously the fai managed to get some concessions in the wc fallout

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D.24saint View Post
    Rico imo lost all creditability tonight on MNS he was easily bought by the FAI one cheque to manage in a micky mouse friendly and he becomes delaneys best friend I have lost all respect I ever had for him
    Completely agree with that. Sadlier was the only one with a pair of balls to actually come out and say something negative about the FAI in all of this. And fair play to Con as well for actually asking some tough questions, it's about time someone did!
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D.24saint View Post

Yeah felt a bit let down by him as well, but we know now he is a tainted man.
    Paul Mcgee - he is just a right muppet
    Last edited by bennocelt; 17/05/2010 at 8:39 PM. Reason: sorry Mcgee - thats his name!!!

Everything else a side, we have learned a lot about the FAI and friendlies in the last few days that we did not know.

1. Is that a third party basically makes the decisions about friendlies, not the FAI.

2. All money must go through the FAI and they can decide what to do with it and where it goes.

3. There is Limited capacity for friendly games or you are interfering with the third party. (I'd love to know what the other stipulations are, cause i'm sure there must be more)

So basically if this whole thing had never happened the FAI would have happily allowed LOI clubs have small friendlies against small clubs (Ipswich, Sunderland, Leyton Orient etc..), with small capacities but when the big boys come to Ireland they want them to themselves for their new stadium.

I love the way Fran Gavin and Richardson for that matter went on about certain procedures when getting friendly games in place even though the FAI followed no procedures themselves. Surely if the FAI had sent Limerick a clear well written letter/fax/e-mail stating all the reasons the game could not go ahead in the first place then none of this would have happened. Instead they send a 3 lined fax basically saying "Airtricity Fixtures on that day, sorry no friendly for ye. That will do ye now run along quietly".

Agree with the lads about Richardson. It absolutely stank of licking the FAI's arses because he is managing the LOI team. And Ski summed himself up "the united game is more important" i believe he said, or something like that anyway, ridiculous comments.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 17/05/2010 at 7:14 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Out of interest, when did Atletico Madrid play here? My memory fails me.
    They played Longford, I think it was last year.

MNS was costed at something like €4 million over 4 years wasn't it? So thats another mill

Think they might want to invite the Licensing Committee to look at their budget if they need €5million to run this league...

Well I saw them play dundalk.

22 Posts
    question - was the existence of this 'third party' made known to the clubs when they signed up to the participation agreement? I'm assuming the agreement is basically a contract, so it would have to make mention of the existence of this group and it's control over friendly matches of a potential particular size? or does the PA basically amount to the clubs saying to the fai 'do what ye want, ye don't need our agreement or consultation regarding anything down the road'? genuinely curious.
    i believe in one man, one vote. i should be that one man with that one vote.

ALWAYS ON TOUR!

2) Unlike commercial agents, the FAI is not in the business of profiteering from such games. Any profit the FAI does generate is delivered straight back into the development of the game. One of the reasons why we have entered into an arrangement with a commercial partner in relation to friendly games is to protect and maximise the value of our rights, to benefit the game as a whole. If games were to be organised outside of this arrangement, profit made by any agent would be lost to the game. For example, with one club the Association had agreed a price for a visit, only for an agency in Ireland to offer double the amount. This is inflationary and not in the interests of football since any profit generated by that agent would not be reinvested in the game.

Does the FAI's commercial agent charge less than other commercial agents.

Obviously profit made by any agent is his to keep.

The very same profit the clubs or the FAI make after the agents get their cut, is not lost to the game.
    A transient, horrible, fantastic dream,
    Wherein is nothing yet all things do seem:
    From which we're wakened by a friendly nudge
    Of our bedfellow Death, and cry: "O fudge!"

Ambrose Bierce

Page 11 of 29 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast