Thread: Early season... How goes it?

Early season... How goes it?

Morning Lads.

Whats the general synopsis of the start of the season. I've missed the two home games but attended the Dublin City game and I suppose doing what we are expected to do. Lose to top of the pack opposition, draw with similar opposition for which I wish we beat to third last year and finally a win against the side touted for the drop...

I was disappointed with long ball against DC. Has the same been present for Bohs and Cork? I looked at the Flancare pitch on Saturday and it appeared fantastic considering the distance I looked from...

Finally, is a 1500 attendance all we can muster?
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

Too early - 4 matches in the next 2 weeks will, as I've said in another thread, define our season. I'd be happy enough with 8 points or above.

Poor quality of football again on Saturday - which is so frustrating, as when we get it down on the deck we split teams open. Having said that, could've fallen into the trap of playing the same as the opposition - Cork are all long ball. And given the Tolka pitch last week, easy to fall into the same habit.

We've also got to remember that we haven't seen the best team yet. The back four loses, mean we're losing the combative midfield options.

the cork game wasnt a great performance but a result all the same! thought graham gartland and murph were great at the back but still the lack of creativity around the goal is worryin.....hopefully that can improve. it will be interesting to see how they perform with barry and hopefully brian mc govern back on tuesday against rovers. stephen paisley got injured in the warm up before the cork city game
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

In terms of quality of football it has been pretty poor.Still i'm happy we have 4 points from 3 games which we played pretty poorly.The team aren't gelling at all,never mind the new players,the likes of kirby,pip and vinnie look like they'v never played together.Up front Barret still looks rusty and has not as much confidence as last season.Keegan's comitment has impressed me but hes not great with the ball at his feet.I dought francis is too happy with being on the bench and i think he'll force his way into team with a few goals like last season.I would like to see lavine get a chance to prove himself.He did well in pre-season but has not been given a chance in the league yet.
    The pitch looks very well and fair play to whoever got it up to standard.
    As for the attendance,its the same negative view that everyone in longford has.We had 1900 at the bohs game which is deasent for a monday night,but the result didn't help us and many people won't bother coming out again.
    There seems to have been a good rise in attendances in dublin and cork.The difference between them and longford is that people in dublin and cork have only been introduced to the idea that there is a local soccer team near.People in longford have always known about de town and so nothing changes in terms of attendances.If you drive through the town you will always see at least 10 people wearing town jackets,jumpers or jerseys,If half of the people that have town merchandice got their arses out to flancare we'd fill the place every time.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Unhappy

Strangely the best football attacking wise was the Bohs game. Since then we ave gone backwards. We seem vulnerable to the long ball as against Cork and the new signings have not struck me as being much better than last year. Dessie has being good in patches but does not help enough in defence and Keego no doubt good in the air is not so good on the ground and does not seem to be the player he was two years ago for Bohs-I am just wondering is that why Bohs let him go?

Our crossing generally has being very poor and although we can outmuscle most midfields like on Saturday nite there is no end product to our play. Kirbs except for the Cork game has not being himself and Barrett is still not match fit. I thought Francis should ave being brought on earlier in the match and I am wondering why Levine is not coming on as sub.

digger has ok in patches but his kickin has become suspect at times. The discovery so far has being Sean Prunty who has being a rewvelation at left back.

I also think that our home form will be very poor again this year but when has our home form ever fantastic. As far back as I can remember our home form has never being sesontional and I am just wondering with the Dublin influence that typically they treat the Dublin games as a home game as if they were still playing for a Dublin team.

Based on what I have seen, I reckon around midtable will do us again this season and I reckon the next round of matches will see climb up the table as traditionally we have being poor starters. Think about this time last year and the previous year-Drogs just avoided relegation and Waterford were be midtable.

I also think that a few more squad players should be given a chance eg John Martin has only come as sub so I cant really give an opinion.

My prediction for the two games -draw against shams 1-1 and Waterforrd 1-1.

Quote Originally Posted by MARTINHO II
    We seem vulnerable to the long ball as against Cork
    We were missing our two first choice centre backs, and tbh I didn't think they created too much, long ball or otherwise.

Dessie has being good in patches but does not help enough in defence and Keego no doubt good in the air is not so good on the ground and does not seem to be the player he was two years ago for Bohs-I am just wondering is that why Bohs let him go?

Our crossing generally has being very poor and although we can outmuscle most midfields like on Saturday nite there is no end product to our play. Kirbs except for the Cork game has not being himself and Barrett is still not match fit. I thought Francis should ave being brought on earlier in the match and I am wondering why Levine is not coming on as sub.
    Think you're being harsh after only three games. Matthews should stick with his first choice for longer, and see if they gell. If the front two aint working then Francis is the only option. Hasbeen has had enough chances to prove himself. Wait and see how we do with Gartland and/or Paisley in the midfield (one of them is a must IMO). They'll give the ball players more of the ball, including Pip, to get the attack moving.

I also think that our home form will be very poor again this year but when has our home form ever fantastic. As far back as I can remember our home form has never being sesontional and I am just wondering with the Dublin influence that typically they treat the Dublin games as a home game as if they were still playing for a Dublin team.
    Until we can get decent crowds (at least 2000) regularly I think our home form will always suffer. It's about the atmosphere, not where the game is being played...

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Until we can get decent crowds (at least 2000) regularly I think our home form will always suffer. It's about the atmosphere, not where the game is being played...
    I agree but the fact is the people of Longford as a whole have a poor record of attending sports matches, even the GAA find it hard to get decent crowds and they would traditionally have higher attendances than any sport, only had 2,500 at their last home game which was a crucial game.They only come out for really big games e.g. Tyrone in the GAA or a cup semi final in Flancare. Bar stool Asenal and United followers most of them..

250 Posts
    crucial match tonight for both teams.attendance will be effected by tv football
    im afraid.probably struggle to get 1000

even if rovers fans are scum bags they still turn up, i think the 7pm kick will have more of an effect on the attendance, but i feel a lot of dublin based fans will travel direct from work in richmond
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

250 Posts
    so you are expecting a warm welcome from the rovers boys then??