Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Inter-toto Cup Draw 2004

No mention of the inter toto on the malmo website (www.mff.se), though my swedish isn't that hot.

I was there once. Nice city, smaller than Cork i'd say. Only half an hour by train from Copenhagen so that would probably be the best way to get there.

I'd say they would bring a big crowd to Cork so the home game could be a laugh.

They're playing their first league game against Hammarby today.

No doubt they're sweating after our great result against Longford!

Quote Originally Posted by ccfcman
    doesnt the whole league need an impeccable record?rules out city wit the likes of dan connors around the eL
    Its a countries disciplinary record in europe this season that counts. I think irish clubs are currently ranked 8th or 9th in europe for 2003/2004 season. If a country gets a UEFA cup Fair play spot its the club with the best disciplinary record in the last domestic league season that gets it.

Last season I think that was Bohs or Shels but since they're in europe anyway City are next and would qualify.

at the moment sweden are top of the pile for the fair play
    award. After that there is a draw for two countries above a certain mark (ireland are above the mark) who get a UEFA place as well.

City were in the hunt for the award last year but were not drawn out

Its the countries clubs in european competition and the international teams performances that count. So luckily Dan Connor doesnt count (or Roy Keane, come to that ).

The Ryanair flights may be cheap, but you have to wait at Stansted for about 6 or 7 hours to get the flight to Malmo.

You could get an Easyjet flight to Copenhagen for approx the same price.
    I think a plan is just a list of things that don't happen - Mr Parker

You were top of the fair play league so if ireland gets the spot you'll be in the uefa. We'll get the inter toto then. Have no idea when that draw will be made

honestly,whod want to be playing in the inter toto mini cup.Wud ye not rather be playing in the uefa cup?????
    The only interesting answers are those which destroy the questions!

Malmo confirmed on citynet

citynet

depending on how the Fair Play draws go....

Sheeze ... that is kinda late in the day to be finding out isn't it.

"As reported back in February, Cork City are still in with a chance of qualifying for the UEFA Cup through the Fair Play system. The Fair Play draw will not be made until May. "

That is a real spanner in the works !!

From www.svenskafans.com Malmö forum:

Namn: Crespo
    Sänt: 2004-04-05 20:02:27
    MFF against Irish team in Intertoto

We are likely to play Cork City, that is if the Irish dont get a extra spot according to Uefas Fair play-system. If thats the case we're up against S:t Pats Athl. We'll have to wait til May before this whole thing is decided.

heres a link to the MFF forum: http://www.svenskafans.com/fotboll/mff/forum.asp

yeah copenhagen could be a plan. still, its off to sweden we go!

Uefa Cup

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    .....still, its off to sweden we go!
    ...or not, possibly, maybe......errr who knows...?

I'd say:base yourselves in Copenhagen. It's much nicer there than in boring old Malmö and the booze is better and way cheaper in Denmark!

i got this on another board about our inter-toto involvement

"For the Netherlands Heerenveen, Roda JC and NEC "signed up" for the Intertoto. Heerenveen is almost certain of UEFA-cup, so Roda JC will start in the 3rd round versus Czech Rep 1, Slovakia 1 or Armenia.
    And NEC will start in the 2nd round versus Cork City or Malmö. And if they win they play France 1 in the 3rd round"

Funnily enough ive only gone to one Dutch match and the team i saw was NEC! They were slaughtered by Ajax on that occasion.

How bout 451 setting up a travel club so we all end up travelling to the same place before the match??????

is malmo definate if we miss out on the uefa fair play spot!
    j'accuse!

Quote Originally Posted by ccfcman
    is malmo definate if we miss out on the uefa fair play spot!
    but can't Malmo also still get into the UEFA cup through the fair play league, I thought Sweden were heading that at the mo'.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    but can't Malmo also still get into the UEFA cup through the fair play league, I thought Sweden were heading that at the mo'.
    Yes but that table not been updated since December 2003.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    Depends on whether they finished top of the "Fair play" league in Sweden last season.

Quote Originally Posted by DIFChick
    I'd say:base yourselves in Copenhagen. It's much nicer there than in boring old Malmö and the booze is better and way cheaper in Denmark!
    Was in Copenhagen a few years ago for a city break. They don't really have a pub culture and the nicest bar we saw was an Irish one in the city centre.

At the same time its a very big city so some local knowledge might help in finding good places off the beaten track.

Was in Malmo and its much smaller. Definitely better range of accommodation in Copenhagen.Probably only worth going to Malmo on the day of the game only to mingle with home fans.

If you stay in Denmark another problem is you need Danish and Swedish currency for the trip.

Copenhagen

Was in Copenhagen when we played Brondby a couple of years ago. The Dubliner and The Shamrock are decent Irish pubs over there, but Foleys is the dogs ******! Late license, from what I remember (which isn't much!), and plenty more non-Irish spots aswell. Fantastic-looking women, cheap booze, brilliant city - highly recommend yiz base yourselves there!
    I love cheatin'; it wasn't over the line!

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast