Thread: Fantasy football competition

44 Posts

Question Fantasy football competition

You know the way that everyone follows the premiership right..

Well i was wondering and am only putting out feelers here, but what would people think of just organising a fantasy football league within the Premiership one that goes on every year?
    You don't have to have any interest in what goes on at LTFC but just have to enter our league! Fans could coaks their non-LTFC fan friends into the league and they'd get as much out of it as any LTFC fan would.

Have a nominal entry cost €10 or €20 with 50% going to prizes, 50% going to the club?

What is it now 2 weeks to kick off, is it too late to get a hundred entries or more in?

1,104 Posts
    Wouldn't think it's too late, people can join the league after it starts in any event. If you do it online the code could be given out when people pay. I suppose people may give out the code but i'd imagine you could delete teams if they haven't paid?. I'd join anyhow and I'm sure I'd convince a few more.

44 Posts
    I'm thinking i could surely get a minimum of 10. If 9 others could get 10 that's a minimum of €500 in prizes and the same for the club at €10 entry fee.

We could use facebook, boards basically anything with a longford section on it to get entries in. Word of mouth is also good i hear.
    Just call it the Longford League?

If we had a cut off point where you couldn't enter after we'd save late entries coming in after they've started well in some other league....?

What say €10 with your team name to a contact point before the 21st of Aug?

1,104 Posts
    Sounds good to me. I would hope to be able to get in 10 without too much bother. Just let me know if and when it definitely goes ahead and I'll get cracking on it.

44 Posts
    Done:

Title: The Longford League

Code: 872868-179456

Entry fee: €10 to either myself, Longfordian (if that's ok with Longfordian)
    or someone that can get it to one of us by 21st August with your team name attached.. 50% of takings to go out on prizes. Structure of prizes to be determined once we have a better idea how many we have entering.

Only teams with payment recieved before 21 Aug will be included.

I'll get the editor to put it in the next home programme and we'll see if we can't get a few in.

Shur even if we don't get that many, what harm? Wont it give us a reason to watch the premiership anyway...

1,104 Posts
    Fine by me. Anyone that wants my contact details can PM me on here if need be. (In relation to this only not because I'm such a swell guy).

Im up for this, will try get another few in aswell.

1,104 Posts
    Good lad. Just in case people miss the announcement above, you can contact us on longfordfantasyleague AT gmail.com and we have a PayPal account set up at that address too. Time is of the essence so, with advance apologies to those who are seeng this in a few places, to ensure everyone starts off the same if people could spread the word to all their mates who usually take part in these leagues it'd be very much appreciated. Remember that half of all contributions go towards prize money so it could be worth your while.

33 Posts
    count me in as well and will pass it around the usual suspects in work to see if anyone is interested

Im in got another lad who has entered too and paid through paypal, crackin idea lads, hopefully it will raise a nice bit
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

1,104 Posts
    Yeah those payments came through alright. Fair play to ye and may the games begin!.

Can't use paypal myself, will post ye/hand ye money when I have it off a few other lads.

1,104 Posts
    Whatever suits yourself. Once ye get yer teams in by the 21st it's all good.

112 Posts
    Hey Sorbo, Marty will give ya 10 yoyo from myself, could you send me the link for the Fantasy League website? Also, John Joes is closed?

Quote Originally Posted by sorbothegreek View Post
    Done:

Title: The Longford League

Code: 872868-179456

Entry fee: €10 to either myself, Longfordian (if that's ok with Longfordian)
    or someone that can get it to one of us by 21st August with your team name attached.. 50% of takings to go out on prizes. Structure of prizes to be determined once we have a better idea how many we have entering.

Only teams with payment recieved before 21 Aug will be included.

I'll get the editor to put it in the next home programme and we'll see if we can't get a few in.

Shur even if we don't get that many, what harm? Wont it give us a reason to watch the premiership anyway...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

1,104 Posts
    It's on the Premier League site Pauro, fantasy.premierleague.com . The code is as above.

I've got myself plus 2 others so far. Hoping to get another few still.

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    Also, John Joes is closed?
    Yea last night. Finally i can save some money...

1,104 Posts
    Where's the new HQ going to be for ye then? JB's? Just wouldn't be the same.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Where's the new HQ going to be for ye then? JB's? Just wouldn't be the same.
    we havent decided yet.. just have to try a few pubs and see what the buzz is...

112 Posts
    Real shame to see John Joe's go. Manys a good sesh there....
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'