Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Shamrock Rovers Fans!

Quote Originally Posted by GGAJD View Post
    WTF are you on about, I go to the maldron before games and I see the w*nkers involved in this. But I can honestly say I've never seen them abusing families walking down the road, the situation is bad enough without you spreading lies.Yes they've been involved in hoolie behaviour for a long time and they now have a junior section looking up to them and it needs to be dealt with ala banning them from Tallaght and the club has dragged their feet in dealing with these knobs for far too long, but throwing in non factual stuff gets us nowhere.
    I go the maldron every game to with some freinds and many a time i've come out to see our lovley little scumbags from T.V last night chanting and intimadating any away support walking up the road, families included. Get the blinkers off, the club tackles it head on with an iron fist or they are wasting there time, this discussion wouldn't be taking place if nothing happened up in Dundalk last night.

have to say after seeing the footage this eveing it should be very easy for the Rovers board to pin point these thugs and kick them out of Tallaght for good
    there is far to many good genuine Rovers fans that i know and admire for these idiots to get away with.
    what struck me about the incident was the age of these guys at the head of it , forgetting about the young lads who just want to be part of THE gang
    but the instigator seemed to be a bald middle aged guy with glasses assisted by an older white haired man who was at least 50 !!!
    amazing c,mon Mr Roche get rid of these thugs

Quote Originally Posted by tallaghthoop View Post
    I go the maldron every game to with some freinds and many a time i've come out to see our lovley little scumbags from T.V last night chanting and intimadating any away support walking up the road, families included. Get the blinkers off, the club tackles it head on with an iron fist or they are wasting there time, this discussion wouldn't be taking place if nothing happened up in Dundalk last night.
    I think thats called singing on your way to the ground for starters, the way you put it in your post you'd swear they were screaming at pregnant women and babies. I know they are scumbags but posting lies about them isn't the way to go, they do enough crap without you making stuff up that hasn't happened.

And I don't wear blinkers I've seen these tw*ts doing crap like this for years and years and I'm not making any excuses for the cnuts, I've had more than a few run-ins with them, but the club has done fcuk all about it and I honestly believe you'll see these same knobs at the Galway game on Friday. Maybe, hopefully after last night's goings on and the reaction in the media today, they'll finally get rid of them.

Sorry i fail to see where i mentioned pregnant women or babies.....i said families get your facts right and they don't choose who they scream and shout at, its at everyone in that general direction. Another poster that wants the same thing but can't face the facts. As i said blinkers off and hammer them.

You've just contradicted yourself there, in your original post you said they intimidated families into saying they'll never come back, now it's no-one in particular.
    Read my post, I hate the ****ebags and want rid of them, 'Face the facts', I know the facts more than you do because I was actually there last night and could see it building up before it happened, you've been only short of saying 'throw them out of the league' by a whisker all day, and I say 'them' because I don't believe for a second your a Rovers fan, no Hooper would post the rubbish you've been spouting all day.
    We're all embarrassed and ****ed off about last night and have had enough of the cnuts, hopefully (as I've already said and you ignored it) the board finally fcuk them out of Tallaght and away from Rovers games forever.

622 Posts
    remember that well.. I got caught up in it at half time when walkin across to the club shop and had to do a runner after they tried to barge past our stewards! the memories of it all came back last nite watchin it!
    Marty heroically ran for his life!

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Shamrock Rovers Football Club condemns the behaviour of the 10 to 15 so called ‘fans’ at last night’s Airtricity League match against Dundalk in Oriel Park, which was attended by over 500 Rovers supporters.

http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35...park-incidents

Are they having a laugh? 10 to 15? LOL
    I almost spit out my tea when I saw that - improbably small estimate.

I'm a Rovers fan (been attending games on and off since I was 16 - 24 now), but there's always been this sort of element among the support - comfortable, middle class kids who think they're tough by shouting insults at the Gards. I haven't seen Rovers much since Tallaght opened, but it certainly seems like the broader base on support has pushed the thuggish fringe to the margins a bit - in my day, you'd see a dozen coins thrown at the officials a match. Perhaps a trip away is the excuse pretend fans like this need to start a bit of trouble because they won't get away with it at home anymore.

Quote Originally Posted by Dyl10 View Post
    Nah, that's rubbish.
    I wouldn't expect my Leinster Senior League match to be on TV, but if I killed someone in it, I would.
    The news shows extreme stories/stories of interest, that's the nature of it.
    Am I missing something here? Was somebody killed in Dundalk? All I saw was about 15/20 heads wearing e-bay bought stone island rags throwing shapes at gardai. There were some items thrown on the pitch granted but it wasn't exactly a riot or an "extreme story". I am not for one minute condoning this before people jump down my throat but Ciaran W is right here.

Put it this way, the only time when all pubs in the southern end/Park Street/Carrick Rd/Cresent area of Dundalk close their doors are when there is a traveller funeral nearby or when Shamrock Rovers come to town. Says alot.
    Well isn't that a well thought out, relevant and helpful post. Thanks for that.
    Last edited by GreenStar; 05/05/2010 at 10:30 AM. Reason: Forgot the quote

remember that well.. I got caught up in it at half time when walkin across to the club shop and had to do a runner after they tried to barge past our stewards! the memories of it all came back last nite watchin it!
    I'm not sure that trouble could be totally blamed on Rovers. Not just that game, but in my experience many incidents in the league are down to poor policing, poor organisation and lack of basic cop on imo.

I go the maldron every game
    So do I and you're exaggerating, unless you're one of the supporters around the place that think that singing a few songs and standing up is going to bring about the end of civilization.

I think something needs to be done (and it will be) about our wanker element in our club as much as anybody, but some of the shite you're posting here to lick the arse of the anti-Rovers brigade in here is toe-curling. I find it hard to believe you've supported the club a wet weekend, if at all.

If you're that concerned, become a member and help us deal with it (and it should be dealt with) within our own club instead of wringing your hands on here and playing into the hands of the usual suspects who have an axe to grind against our club.
    Last edited by stovelid; 05/05/2010 at 8:24 AM.
    While we are here, they'll never die.

82 Posts
    What happened to the foot.ie boycott? Temporary relaxation?

147 Posts
    Shocking behaviour by Rovers fans and while the game was at Oriel, they should be made play a game behind closed doors in Tallaght when this is added to the Pats incident with the genius coming onto the pitch. I am no Rovers fan - especially given their abject failure to deal with their scum element - but there is a touch of hysteria here as well. As many people have said, no one was injured. Unlike when Dundalk came to Terryland last season and an element that travelled with them attacked two Galway United fans outside the ground, leaving one with blood streaming from his face. One way for Dundalk to ensure this does not happen again is ban Rovers fans from Oriel, but don't see that happening
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Beyond identifying previously banned individuals to the home club's security at the turnstiles, and working with the Gardai and home club security to identify individuals after the incident, I'm not sure what more Rovers as a club can do when the trouble happens at an away ground?
    I'd agree with this.

The whole "there's nothing we can do about it" argument can come across as a stupid excuse, but it can also be the truth.

If a club is doing all it can to try and stamp out trouble-making and trouble-makers, then it's difficult to see why they should be punished. The question is what exactly "a club doing all it can" consists of, or should consist of.

Is there anywhere we might find some kind of directive outlining the steps a club should take when attempting to deal with trouble-makers?
    Last edited by osarusan; 05/05/2010 at 11:40 AM.

Earlier in the thread Ezekial stated that Dundalk wanted to have tickets for the away end to be only sold from Shamrock Rovers. If that was the case, and they sold tickets to known trouble makers, then it clearly is an issue for them

According to Ezekial, Rovers were unwillingly to do this, and told fans to get them "on the night"

Obviously his is only the Dundalk perspective, but its one area that could work. (For the record Rovers fans could only buy tickets for the Pats game in Richmond from Tallaght - none were available for the away end "on the night")

399 Posts
    I think the solution to future Rovers games in Dundalk may be to restrict the sale of tickets to fans on the night if they can display a SRFC season ticket. Other than that the only other ticket to get in should be via Rovers, (DFC sent 500 I think for this game but only around 100 were taken up) then those who do not have season tickets can call in and purchase tickets at SRFC before they travel.

I dont think the line 'If that was the case, and they sold tickets to known trouble makers, then it clearly is an issue for them' is fair Dodge, how were those on the ticket booth in Oriel meant to know who known trouble makers were ? And if these people (400 I think who paid on the night) were refused tickets, would this not have created huge tension before kick off ?

I think its an irish thing not to bother buying tickets in advance so naturally the club were not going to refuse 400 + buying on the night, besides as mentioned many times before, the trouble makers were only a very small majority. If this continues maybe SRFC should appoint their own security men to vet away fans at grounds around the country.

This was a real shame what happened as even when the mini riot scenes kicked off, I made a point of watching what the rest of the fans were doing, I had a good view from the stand and the majority hardly moved.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

Quote Originally Posted by stovelid View Post
    So do I and you're exaggerating, unless you're one of the supporters around the place that think that singing a few songs and standing up is going to bring about the end of civilization.

I think something needs to be done (and it will be) about our wanker element in our club as much as anybody, but some of the shite you're posting here to lick the arse of the anti-Rovers brigade in here is toe-curling. I find it hard to believe you've supported the club a wet weekend, if at all.
    If you're that concerned, become a member and help us deal with it (and it should be dealt with) within our own club instead of wringing your hands on here and playing into the hands of the usual suspects who have an axe to grind against our club.
    Become a member are you havin a laugh, i've better things to do with my cash than spend it on the constant stream of fines thats coming our way. I thought hard about buying a season ticket this year my 1st time in 11 years i wouldn't of had one, because of some of the carry on i have witnessed in our own stadium last year, and time and time again a blind eye was turned.....sure you must remember the numerous threads over on the ultras forum last year. You just have to look at the excuses been used this time around, i've heard sligo been mentioned Bohs supporters been mentioned, Pats supporters been mentioned.....what the fcuk has it got to do with them. My concern is our fans.......not every other tom dick and harry's. Practice what we preach i say.

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    I dont think the line 'If that was the case, and they sold tickets to known trouble makers, then it clearly is an issue for them' is fair Dodge, how were those on the ticket booth in Oriel meant to know who known trouble makers were ? And if these people (400 I think who paid on the night) were refused tickets, would this not have created huge tension before kick off ?
    Sorry for the confusion. I was actually supporting your argument. The posters above had said that Rovers (as a club) couldn't be held responsible for the actions of their fans at away games. I said that if all away tickets for the Dundalk v Rovers game were sold by Rovers (as Ezekial claimed Dundalk wanted), they couldn't use the "sure how do we know who buys tickets for our end" excuse.

(and BTW I love being able to buy tickets on the night for any game, and I'd definitely have sympathy for genuine Rovers fans who couldn't get over to Tallaght midweek to buy tickets for an away game in Dundalk)

Become a member are you havin a laugh, i've better things to do with my cash than spend it on the constant stream of fines thats coming our way.
    Thought as much. You're on a wind-up. I won't be answering again.
    While we are here, they'll never die.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Sorry for the confusion. I was actually supporting your argument. The posters above had said that Rovers (as a club) couldn't be held responsible for the actions of their fans at away games. I said that if all away tickets for the Dundalk v Rovers game were sold by Rovers (as Ezekial claimed Dundalk wanted), they couldn't use the "sure how do we know who buys tickets for our end" excuse.

(and BTW I love being able to buy tickets on the night for any game, and I'd definitely have sympathy for genuine Rovers fans who couldn't get over to Tallaght midweek to buy tickets for an away game in Dundalk)
    Last year that was the case, but because it was two away games in three days (pats in richmond on friday) the club felt they probably couldn't sell an away double header when the pats tickets were on sale at the shligo game.

25. Thanks From:

Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast