Thread: Well done Mick

Well done Mick

Well Done Mick on staying up - you dont need to spend millions to do this ( Newcastle take note)

Mick has been great in the league this year - no runing to newspaper, giving out about
    refs etc - just gets on with it ... if they can get a proven goal scorer along with Doyle they can kick on from this season as their defence particurlarly the last few weeks has been great.

Aain Well done Ireland and the Irish Wolves lads.

49 Posts
    as long as Mick keeps the irish boys playing i'll be happy. hope keogh gets a good pre-season in after been out for a good while.

yeah very glad for him.

he's a good guy.

you never know... he may have a second spell as ireland boss in him.

Well done to Mick,he deserves it.

Very happy for Mick - he's done more for football in this country than most. Still hope he gets an offer he can't refuse for Doyle in the summer, though.

244 Posts
    Congrats to Mick, he's had a lot of adversity in his managerial career and never turned sour or walked away from the game. A lot of managers have been chased out from far lesser controversies and challenges.
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

It's a shame that Mick was hounded out of the Irish job over that stupid spoilt baby Roy Keane. Ireland played their best and most pleasing on the eye football under Mick.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by yapster View Post
    It's a shame that Mick was hounded out of the Irish job over that stupid spoilt baby Roy Keane. Ireland played their best and most pleasing on the eye football under Mick.
    Probably because he had a guy named Roy Keane, unarguably our best player ever, playing in midfield for him.

401 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Very happy for Mick - he's done more for football in this country than most. Still hope he gets an offer he can't refuse for Doyle in the summer, though.
    Who do you think from?
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

65 Posts
    The FA should refund his fine now, although I think it was suspended.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    Probably because he had a guy named Roy Keane, unarguably our best player ever, playing in midfield for him.
    Not to denigrate Keane's ability as a footballer but in my lifetime alone Giles, Brady, McGrath?

Unarguably? What a ridiculous statement.

And had him playing when he could be bothered turning up.

Lads lets not get into McCarthy vs Keane again please

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by yapster View Post
    roy keane saga aside i dont think thats why he left. in fairness things were going stale at the end and a change was needed, these things happen in football. we all move on.

59 Posts
    To be honest, I could see Mick taking up the Irish mantle again down the line. Towards the twilight of his managing career. I for one would welcome him back if that happens

558 Posts
    Mick with Roy Keane as his number two would be a dream team down the line.

Team talks might be a little rombustous though !

Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post
    Who do you think from?
    Hopefully a team whose aspirations are higher than mere survival.

20 Posts
    For one brief naive moment I actually thought we could have a pleasant thread where we congratulate one of the few Irish managers in the business at the moment for keeping his team in the Premiership. But no, no: a few ... you-know-whats ... have to bring up bloody Saipan AGAIN. You'd think that's the only thing McCarthy or Keane had ever been involved in during their lives ...

Well done Mick. Now build on this year & get Wolves into mid-table respectability. Surely now the coffers will open up a little bit more for him ...

Yep, fair play to him for keeping them in the division, although you'd have to temper that with the fact that there were some unbelievably bad teams down there. Hull and Burnley are probably as bad as there's been. If only Newcastle hadn't gone for Shearer last year then Hull would rightly have returned from whence they came. As for Burnley; they just hit a hot streak at the right time as the Championship throws up every now and then.
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

130 Posts
    Congrats Mick. He is very supportive of Irish talent which is always very welcome.

21. Thanks From:

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Docboy View Post
    Yep, fair play to him for keeping them in the division, although you'd have to temper that with the fact that there were some unbelievably bad teams down there. Hull and Burnley are probably as bad as there's been. If only Newcastle hadn't gone for Shearer last year then Hull would rightly have returned from whence they came. As for Burnley; they just hit a hot streak at the right time as the Championship throws up every now and then.
    Don't forget the disaster that is Portsmouth effectivly reducing the relegation places to 2. All-in-all probably one of the easiest years in memory to stay up but as it stands they are 6th from the bottom and 7 points above the relegation zone which is a decent achievement. Well done Mick!