Thread: Away v Pats - Live on RTE 2

Away v Pats - Live on RTE 2

Any chance of us nicking something from this? They're in serious form. A mate of mine who supports them reckons we haven't got a hope, as they want to build up a decent lead at the top before proceeding to throw the whole thing away after the halfway mark.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Will be tough ,they're on form but this season has proven that there's no outstanding team and anyone can beat anyone.Plus we'll have Ndo hopefully that'll give us an extra dimension

Personally think your mate is waffling. Our form before the setanta games was played four, drew 3, lost 1 (at home to
    drogheda) and only 1 scored. First setanta game was against your reserves, second one was against a team who were already out

There's a reason why Sligo are unbeaten in the league too

Thanks Dodge - you've cheered me up no end.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

I have a good feeling about this one, I think the manager has been building up to this match and I suspect we will see a different level of committment in this game with our strongest possible team out. I am not aware of any injuries and I would not expect our latest signing to start but he will come on at some stage. Shams, Sporting, Bohs and Dundalk have all failed to beat us in the League so far and I would not rate Pats as being any better than any of those.

I dreamt that we won 3-1 last night.

i have a feeling we will take pats tonite. setanta was only a limbering up exercise. 6 points from pats and shams would set us up nicely for a big home gate. who said there are no optimists out there still???

151 Posts
    Here comes the Parade P isser. When was the last time we took even a point out of Richmond Park?

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/...ats_sligo.html

October last year - the last league game we played there

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    Here comes the Parade P isser. When was the last time we took even a point out of Richmond Park?
    how about these:
    http://www.stpatsfc.com/report.php?report=334
    http://www.stpatsfc.com/report.php?report=316

Played them 4 times in the league and we won 2 (1 home, 1 away), drew 1 (away) and lost 1 (home).

Keep the faith
    "Excuses are the nails used to build a house of failure"

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    we will be celebrating a great win at 9.30 tonite. come on avvenleaf, our country is full of pessimists like you and that's why we are going down the swanee!

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jc46 View Post
    we will be celebrating a great win at 9.30 tonite. come on avvenleaf, our country is full of pessimists like you and that's why we are going down the swanee!
    Or The Dargle?

Ryan and Donninger need to drop deeper and look for the ball. This craic with Brush hoofing it up the pitch isnt goin to win us the match.

Mccabe off? What is Cook at?

Quote Originally Posted by bingoballs View Post
    Mccabe off? What is Cook at?
    I don't have a clue.
    We've won 1-2 of the 10+ booted balls up the field by brush. But we continue to do it.

I'm sorry lads but i think Cook is a tool. Not tryin to pick on donninger but he hardly touched the ball in the second half and he stayed on but Mccabe, who i thought was immense was taken off! Doninger should have been taken off and Blinkhorn should have been brought on, assuming he was fit. He doesn't know how to use his bench, it was the same thing last season, and it is going to cost us this season!
    Having said that, i dont think we deserved to loose and we were very good in the second half. We were the better team but were beaten by a great goal. Close but no cigar.
    Last edited by bingoballs; 23/04/2010 at 8:45 PM.

Thought we played well enough just weren't able to create the clear cut chances ,Thought Richie Ryan done very well same with McCabe and Ndo was decent enough

I have to agree, taking McCabe off was bizarre, almost as strange as keeping Donniger on. Although, I was satisfied with the performance, I never really felt we would ever score an equalizer though. A draw would have been fair

It looks like Cook has got the players he desires with the talents and qualities that he hoped, but at the moment hasn't a clue on how to play them all.
    "Overwhelmed"

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Thought we played well enough just weren't able to create the clear cut chances ,Thought Richie Ryan done very well same with McCabe and Ndo was decent enough
    Spot on, Pats are solid at the back and Ammond was fighting a loosing battle up front on his own. There was more positives then negatives to take from the game but the decision to take off McCabe still has me scratching my head.
    I have been critical of Ryan in the past but he has really upped it this season aand as the game went on he became more and more dominant. Fair play to him.

Quote Originally Posted by bingoballs View Post
    Spot on, Pats are solid at the back and Ammond was fighting a loosing battle up front on his own. There was more positives then negatives to take from the game but the decision to take off McCabe still has me scratching my head.
    I have been critical of Ryan in the past but he has really upped it this season aand as the game went on he became more and more dominant. Fair play to him.
    Taking mccabe off baffling. Donninger did nothing. Ndo fair. Thought he overdid the fancy stuff. We deserved a draw but never looked like scoring.