Thread: Bring Back Post of the Month

521 Posts
    That's a good idea stu. I'm wondering now if there's some kind of plugin to handle this type of thing automatically. I'll look into it, thanks.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    That's a good idea stu. I'm wondering now if there's some kind of plugin to handle this type of thing automatically. I'll look into it, thanks.
    The Irish League Supporters forums has them, and it's also powered by vBulletin so a plugin must exist out there somewhere.

622 Posts
    You'd have a lot of in-jokes and whines being nominated. Iorfa's questions often get lots of thanks and people whining at mods often get lots of thanks from others who've gotten infractions before. I don't think anyone uses rep any more? Probably not worth it really.

Tis curious that PotM will soon be run by people not even on the same continent as the rest of us. Should ensure some neutrality at least!
    i do use it on yapster occasionally when hes being particularly disagreeable

521 Posts
    I use it all the time, when I think a Thanks is a bit too much, or I'd prefer to keep the cred private.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Anyway, back on topic: what suggestions do we have to improve POTM? I'd like to create a subforum for it anyway, if only so the lads can be made moderators of it. How about simple prizes, like badges with "POTM Winner" on 'em or summat?
    My tuppence worth would be that it'd be nice to see this back, it was a good laugh, and a good way to make sure you didn't miss any of the better efforts that might have been posted in unvisited forums.
    I think prizes for post of the month is a bit much though, rep points might be the way to go instead.
    Something for post of the year alright, as before, would be the thing. Plus bragging rights of course.
    And as regards running it, just once the mods would be on hand to jump on any vote rigging would be great, as that's what kind of fecked it up in the end the last time.
    Last edited by stann; 20/04/2010 at 7:12 AM.
    more bass

811 Posts
    What do you mean by vote rigging stann? It's hard to stop people voting for their mates or fellow fans of whatever club. Beyond that, dupe accounts are fairly sat on here, and the POTM polls were public, so any mod editing would have been obvious.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    I assume he's referring to the Sligo fans ruining a couple of polls. Most of them are gone now anyway, but as you pointed out there's not much that can be done about it.

Will there be a post of the year for last year to get it back up and running? I think I had one or two post of the months, so back dating any rep points or prizes might be a good idea
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

521 Posts
    Set up. Who should I be adding as mods again?

3,488 Posts
    John83 and thischarmingman.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    What do you mean by vote rigging stann? It's hard to stop people voting for their mates or fellow fans of whatever club. Beyond that, dupe accounts are fairly sat on here, and the POTM polls were public, so any mod editing would have been obvious.
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    I assume he's referring to the Sligo fans ruining a couple of polls. Most of them are gone now anyway, but as you pointed out there's not much that can be done about it.
    Exactly that, some retarded Jim post or other was voted for en masse. It is hard to stop people voting for mates alright, but in this case it was obviously a campaign, and it cost a couple of very good posts (Bluebeard and Mr A IIRC, safe bet anyway ) a chance of winning, and I wouldn't agree that nothing could have been done about it, it could simply have been taken out of the running.
    But look, it wasn't a big deal in the grand scheme of things, nor will it be if it happens again.
    more bass

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Exactly that, some retarded Jim post or other was voted for en masse. It is hard to stop people voting for mates alright, but in this case it was obviously a campaign, and it cost a couple of very good posts (Bluebeard and Mr A IIRC, safe bet anyway ) a chance of winning, and I wouldn't agree that nothing could have been done about it, it could simply have been taken out of the running.
    But look, it wasn't a big deal in the grand scheme of things, nor will it be if it happens again.
    Nothing on here is a big deal in the grand scheme of things. "Saturn 5 rockets and Sputnik and DNA and literature and science. ... things hydrogen atoms do when given 13.7 billion years." -- Brian Cox

The Jim thing was painfully unfunny, but in jokes will win these things from time to time. I guess we can discuss it if it comes up again.

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    My tuppence worth would be that it'd be nice to see this back, it was a good laugh, and a good way to make sure you didn't miss any of the better efforts that might have been posted in unvisited forums.
    I think prizes for post of the month is a bit much though, rep points might be the way to go instead.
    Something for post of the year alright, as before, would be the thing. Plus bragging rights of course.
    I agree with this.
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Will there be a post of the year for last year to get it back up and running? I think I had one or two post of the months, so back dating any rep points or prizes might be a good idea
    I just had a quick look for the last couple of months where there were nomınatıons but no poll. The Sligo in-joke crap was irritating but I think if I remember correctly it was the incorrect links that came about as a result of the upgrade that really stalled the whole thing? I wasn't able to follow the links to the relevant posts anyway but I think there is a way of manually rewriting the link to be able to get to it? I'll check through the forum update thread for it.

291 Posts
    Right, did a bit of looking of searching and found the thread in question. John83's method of locating the posts outlined seems to only be taking me to the actual thread page but I managed to find the posts in question (bar one, sorry SkStu...).

December was the last poll run.
    January nominations are in this thread.

January's nominations for POTM are:

Hairy Bowsie
    hoops1
    Hairy Bowsie
    soccerc
    bluemovie

January discussion is here (note the debate re: Bluebeard's second effort )

The only one I couldn't find was SkStu's second nomination so if anyone manages to locate it or set him up for it again that would be great.

I don't seem to be able to add polls in the POTM forum if you want to start the polling thread Adam or let me know if I can.
    Last edited by thischarmingman; 20/04/2010 at 7:27 PM.

521 Posts
    Right, I've added John83 and thischarmingman as moderators, thanks again for volunteering lads. TCM, the one you couldn't find is here.

There doesn't seem to be a nominations system, but that might not be such a bad thing as otherwise ye'd be inundated. There is an awards system, which is probably what stu and awec have seen, should I install that?

I still have no problem with posting POTM badges out to people for the laugh, I'd just buy a dozen of them a year, it'd only cost me 20 or 30 quid. If it's just plain silly I won't bother though.

Thanks,

3,488 Posts
    I'd go ahead and install the awards anyway; put in the predictions league forums as well if that's how it works.

I'll leave it to someone who's actually won PotM to comment on the badges.

811 Posts
    Virtual badges are the way to go, I think.

1,550 Posts
    If I knew what Bluebeard looked like, I'd imagine him turning up at the Christmas get together in a jacket festooned in foot.ie POTM badges.

And a hatchet for some reason.

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    If I knew what Bluebeard looked like, I'd imagine him turning up at the Christmas get together in a jacket festooned in foot.ie POTM badges.

And a hatchet for some reason.
    While wearing underpants on his head.

521 Posts
    The Awards system is installed now, I just need to figure out the settings. What awards are needed? POTM, POTY, Predictions League Winner...?

1,550 Posts
    Maybe a Predictions Cup as well?

I guess it'd be cool to have an ad hoc award for unintendedly hilarious posts