Thread: Nice areas around Dublin for photography

38 Posts

Nice areas around Dublin for photography

Thinking about taking my camera out this weekend, I live in Dublin 18 but have no car (only a bicycle). Usually photograph scenery etc, does anyone have any recommendations for anywhere to go in this area that I could cycle to?

Ta!

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Well I dont know about cycling, but Howth is always a great spot for photos on a fine day - hop on the dart

60 Posts
    Get the bus over the the Botanic Gardens, can't go wrong for scenery and plant life.
    Always look on the bright side of life

3,197 Posts
    You're pretty much in the foothills of the Wicklow mountains where you are. Depending on how you are for time (and what you want to photograph), cycle down the Glenamuck Road, over the M50, into Kilternan and head up the Ballybetagh Road, which brings you right up into the mountains. If the weather's good, you'll get views across Dublin Bay out to Howth. Get you fit too!

79 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by awec View Post
    Thinking about taking my camera out this weekend, I live in Dublin 18 but have no car (only a bicycle). Usually photograph scenery etc, does anyone have any recommendations for anywhere to go in this area that I could cycle to?

Ta!
    What you wanna do is go into the city centre go to busaras and get on a random bus, and get off anywhere outside dublin city(preferably in a north western direction). Then take photos galore
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

38 Posts
    Cheers lads!

38 Posts
    You're pretty much in the foothills of the Wicklow mountains where you are. Depending on how you are for time (and what you want to photograph), cycle down the Glenamuck Road, over the M50, into Kilternan and head up the Ballybetagh Road, which brings you right up into the mountains. If the weather's good, you'll get views across Dublin Bay out to Howth. Get you fit too!
    Jaysus that's some cycle!

I'm beside Leopardstown racecourse, so I can head up Torquay road into Carrickmines and up the Glenamuck road that way. Unfortunately google doesn't give an idea of the incline so I don't know if it'll destroy me or not!!

398 Posts
    You probably wouldn't ever think of it, but if you head out towards Blanchardstown and on out to Mulhuddart, go up to the graveyard, to the old church that Cromwell routed, and you have great views over Dublin's sprawl - one of the few from the Northside. At night it's simply amazing as a blanket of twinkling lies roll out in front of you.

Of course the Phoenix Park is an obvious call, while down along Ringsend is quite stunning when the tide is right - and the nature reserve is a lovely walk and has great views of Dublin Bay.

your not to far from dundrum
    head to shopping center , house of fraiser , ladys changing rooms
    bobs your uncle !!!

3,197 Posts
    Jaysus that's some cycle!

I'm beside Leopardstown racecourse, so I can head up Torquay road into Carrickmines and up the Glenamuck road that way. Unfortunately google doesn't give an idea of the incline so I don't know if it'll destroy me or not!!
    It's grand until you get towards the army proving ground; it does get a bit steep for a mile or so there, but use the pauses to look out at Dubiln Bay showing itself over the hills. There's a nice sign you can photograph* warning you of the dangers of live ammo or something like that. Rather out of place in the midst of all the nice trees and hedges.

I've walked and cycled up around there starting in Dean's Grange; nothing too lung destroying (if you want your lungs destroyed, head for Enniskerry), but do allow yourself a couple of hours.

You could also try heading up to the abandoned mine in Kilternan - same directions as above but then down Ballycorus Road, and right onto Mine Hill Road after about a mile. You can see it from the DART, so I assume you get good views all around from up there. Much less strenuous. Again though, depends on whether wide country-and-sea shots are what you want.

* - unless you're not allowed photograph it, which is possible.

38 Posts
    Sounds great pineapple stu. Do you cycle much?

3,197 Posts
    Bike got punctured last August. Haven't gotten around to fixing it yet.

I go through phases. Also, if I'm driving somewhere along the N11, I'll often go up the mountains for the craic.

Also, the army proving ground isn't along the Ballybetagh Road, it's in north Wicklow. The Ballybetagh Road will eventually lead you to Johnny Fox's.

38 Posts
    Bike got punctured last August. Haven't gotten around to fixing it yet.

I go through phases. Also, if I'm driving somewhere along the N11, I'll often go up the mountains for the craic.

Also, the army proving ground isn't along the Ballybetagh Road, it's in north Wicklow. The Ballybetagh Road will eventually lead you to Johnny Fox's.
    Ah. North Wicklow?! How fit do you think I am!

3,197 Posts
    I cycled from Bray to Dean's Grange via Powerscourt and Enniskerry one time - it's grand!

Don't expect you to do that in fairness; just correcting my earlier mistake so you don't spend ages looking for army warnings.

38 Posts
    I cycled from Bray to Dean's Grange via Powerscourt and Enniskerry one time - it's grand!

Don't expect you to do that in fairness; just correcting my earlier mistake so you don't spend ages looking for army warnings.
    How long do you think the cycle from Leopardstown Race course to Bray would be?

38 Posts
    Well there goes that idea. 2 flat tyres and the pump won't attach to the wee nozzle, so I have no pump.

there would be good views from killiney hill and bray head. try the top of the royal college of surgeons carpark-good views over the rooftops around town.
    Saint Patricks Athletic Fans Team. Eircom League Supporters Cup Champions 2006. P3 W2 D1 L0 F3 A0. Thats why we're champions, Thats why we're champions, Thats why.............

3,197 Posts
    How long do you think the cycle from Leopardstown Race course to Bray would be?
    Two flat tyres would probably slow you down a bit, but it shouldn't take you much more than half an hour. Remember, traffic lights mean nothing to you, and you should be able to average 15mph or so.

Went up the top of Mine Hill myself on Saturday seeing as I was talking about it; view wasn't as good as I'd expected, but still worth the ten minute trek from the end of the lane.

38 Posts
    Two flat tyres would probably slow you down a bit, but it shouldn't take you much more than half an hour. Remember, traffic lights mean nothing to you, and you should be able to average 15mph or so.

Went up the top of Mine Hill myself on Saturday seeing as I was talking about it; view wasn't as good as I'd expected, but still worth the ten minute trek from the end of the lane.
    Traffic lights mean nothing? Do cyclists not have to abide by them down here, or is there a cycle path the whole way along the N11?

3,197 Posts
    Do cyclists not have to abide by them down here
    Ah yeah, whatever.

There actually is a cycle lane most of the way anyway, but if it's safe, shoot the light. You're on a bike; can't get penalty points or what have you.