Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: Location and date for summer training camp?

3,491 Posts
    Teams from the FAI website -

Republic of Ireland Seniors: Westwood (Coventry City); McShane (Hull City), Duffy (Everton), O'Dea (Celtic), Cunningham (Manchester City); Stokes (Hibernian), Fahey (Birmingham City), Green (Derby County), Long (Reading); Sheridan (Celtic), Best (Newcastle United) . Subs: J. Murphy (Scunthorpe United) for Westwood (h/t), Lawrence (Stoke City) for Sheridan (58 mins.), Foley (Wolverhampton Wanderers) for Fahey (66 mins.).

Republic of Ireland Under-23s: Quigley (Sporting Fingal); Kelly (Dundalk), Browne (Sporting Fingal), Mulcahy (Cork City), Powell (Bohemians); Sheppard (Galway United), O'Donnell (Galway United), Finn (Sporting Fingal), Williams (Sporting Fingal), Dennehy (Shamrock Rovers); Faherty (St. Patrick's Athletic). Subs: Duggan (Shamrock Rovers) for Quigley, Bermingham (Shamrock Rovers) for Powell, Bolger (UCD) for Williams, Chambers (Shamrock Rovers) for Finn, Gaynor (Dundalk) for Sheppard, McCabe (Sligo Rovers) for Dennehy (all at half-time), Amond (Sligo Rovers) for Kelly and Madden (Bohemians) for Faherty (both 60 mins.).

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    see that dunne and kilbane are out of next weeks friendlys.
    and james mccarthy it appears

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    and james mccarthy it appears
    ya feck it wanted to see him play.
    more than likely fahey will get good game time now though which is a good thing.

3,501 Posts
    Report on the game from RTE News: http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1073105
    Skip forward to 38 minutes. Few words with Paul McShane, Greg Cunningham, Stephen O'Donnell and Paul Doolin also included in the report
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 19/05/2010 at 11:29 PM.

2,771 Posts
    From rte.ie

Kevin Fahey...

Fresh faces in Republic squad

Republic of Ireland boss Giovanni Trapattoni has included six uncapped players in his squad for next week's friendly internationals against Paraguay and Algeria.

Keeper Brian Murphy, defender Greg Cunningham, midfielders Keith Treacy, Kevin Fahey and Paul Green and striker Cillian Sheridan, who have been taking part in this week's training camp at Malahide, are among those to have been retained by the Italian.

Senior men Stephen Kelly, Sean St Ledger, Damien Duff, Glenn Whelan, Keith Andrews, Kevin Doyle and Robbie Keane will join up with the squad on Sunday ahead of the two games in Dublin.

Everton's Shane Duffy will also remain with the squad for training only.

The Republic face Paraguay on Tuesday evening and Algeria on Friday.

Both those sides have qualified for the World Cup finals.

The starting line-up for Friday evening's training game against the Republic of Ireland Amateurs at Gannon Park has also been revealed.

Hull's Paul McShane captains the side in a match which will be played behind closed doors.

Republic of Ireland team to play Republic of Ireland Amateur team on Friday at Gannon Park:

Joe Murphy (Scunthorpe); Paul McShane (Hull) (capt), Shane Duffy (Everton), Darren O'Dea (Celtic); Greg Cunningham (Manchester City), Liam Lawrence (Stoke), Kevin Foley (Wolves), Paul Green (Derby); Shane Long (Reading), Leon Best (Newcastle), Cillian Sheridan (St Johnstone).

Substitutes: Brian Murphy (Ipswich), Eddie Nolan (Sheffield Wednesday), Keith Fahey (Birmingham City), Anthony Stokes (Hibernian).

Republic of Ireland squad:

Keiren Westwood (Coventry), Joe Murphy (Scunthorpe), Brian Murphy (Ipswich); Eddie Nolan (Sheffield Wednesday), Stephen Kelly (Fulham), Paul McShane (Hull), John O'Shea (Manchester United), Greg Cunningham (Manchester City), Sean St Ledger (Preston), Kevin Foley (Wolves), Darren O'Dea (Celtic); Damien Duff (Fulham), Keith Treacy (Preston), Glenn Whelan (Stoke), Keith Andrews (Blackburn), Liam Lawrence (Stoke), Keith Fahey (Birmingham), Paul Green (Derby); Robbie Keane (Tottenham), Kevin Doyle (Wolves), Leon Best (Newcastle), Shane Long (Reading), Anthony Stokes (Hibernian), Cillian Sheridan (St Johnstone).
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

I wonder why Nolan isn't getting a start as Cunningham played the last match. Maybe he's carrying a knock.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    From rte.ie

Kevin Fahey...
    i wonder if that was actually an error in the press release as sky sports had him listed as kevin also. unforgiveable though anyway

definitely an error in the press release. radio was the same

One would think that the media outlets would have the cop on to read these statements before publishing

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    One would think that the media outlets would have the cop on to read these statements before publishing
    i honestly believe most sports media in this country think that getting things correct is optional. i really do

Lads thats not the reason, obviouslly they are fighting to get the stuff out first.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Lads thats not the reason, obviouslly they are fighting to get the stuff out first.
    A bit like Drug Dealers.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

1,928 Posts
    I like Kevin as a name. It's a good name.
    Anyway, if you want to play for Ireland, you have a much better chance if you're called Kevin.

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I like Kevin as a name. It's a good name.
    Anyway, if you want to play for Ireland, you have a much better chance if you're called Kevin.
    Ok, I'm bored and had a spreadsheet in front of me. While we have had a few Kevins recently the following is a list of the most common names amongst Irish Internationals (not verifying the numbers though)

Michael / Mick / Mickey / Mike 18
    John / Johnny 16
    Paddy / Pat 13
    Thomas / Tommy / Tom 13
    Alan 12
    Stephen / Steven / Steve 12
    Joe / Joey / Joseph 10
    Jim / Jimmy 9
    Kevin 9
    Liam 8
    Tony / Anthony 8

I admit I am a sad individual when it comes to this stuff......
    Last edited by EastTerracer; 21/05/2010 at 6:01 PM.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

646 Posts
    7th!

I think what geysir is trying to say, is, if you are called kevin you have more of a chance than if you are called keith

1,928 Posts
    Thank you Paul, it's nice to be understood.

It's a while since we had a Tom.
    I'd say the Kevins have a very good cap to name ratio.

192 Posts
    Ireland beat the Irish Juniors 2-0 this evening with goals from Cillian Sheridan and captain Paul McShane. Full report from the Irish Times below:

Unfortunately it sounds like Shane Duffy took a bad knock in the first half.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soc...270883015.html
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

3,501 Posts
    Good article - where are they now of the previous two training squads, Trapattoni's first squad in Portugal, and the squad Stan took to the States: http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...p-2191897.html

214 Posts
    what kind of team do you think he'll field tomorrow? Do you think Fahey will get a start?

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast