Thread: "Ireland's Greatest"

3,491 Posts
    He was born in Scotland of Irish parents (mad wikipedia fact - his father shovelled **** for a living). I wouldn't have a problem with people like him (or Phil Lynott or Paul McGrath) being included.

I'll row in behind other criticisms, particularly Gately. No offence to the lad, but anyone who was responsible for him getting onto the final ten should be harmed physically.

1,104 Posts
    I'm surprised Dustin the Turkey didn't make it.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    I'm surprised Dustin the Turkey didn't make it.
    and no terry wogan ??

" football is a simple game "

1,551 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    and no terry wogan ??
    He failed the drugs test, out of it on goof balls.

60 Posts
    Good to see 60-70% of the list, particularly Browne and Connolly in 2 and 3.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    Good to see 60-70% of the list, particularly Browne and Connolly in 2 and 3.
    Agree

It shows the problems with internet voting when you see Bono, Stephen Gately, Joe Dolan etc even to be spoken of in the same breath as some of the Patriots in that list.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    So how did Geldof and Bono make it?

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Yeah - same for yer man, Michelle Smith.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Went for Geldof myself. The man has really dedicated his life to making the world a better place and has made a difference, though not yet near as much a difference he would like to.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevo Da Gull View Post
    Went for Geldof myself. The man has really dedicated his life to making the world a better place and has made a difference, though not yet near as much a difference he would like to.
    I'd rephrase it as "he has made a difference, though not yet near as much a difference as he'd like people to believe he has."

291 Posts
    Public polls like this are largely useless but I might as well row in and say that anyone who thinks Stephen Gately should be in that list rather than James Joyce, Samuel Beckett, Oscar Wilde, Jonathan Swift or Edmund Burke are absolute mentalists. It's a travesty none of the above made the cut by the way. Hell, Graham Linehan is far worthier than any of Ireland's pop exports of the last decade.

Interesting the number of people who put Emmett in- brave and idealistic sure, but also a rather misguided, ill-prepared, over-hasty revolutionary, no?

Not the biggest fan of Geldof, for what it's worth he's getting a bit of a kicking in the UK press at the moment . I'd accept his inclusion on the basis of Live Aid though.

John Hume, Ronnie Drew and Rory Gallagher I have no problems with either, although I see only Hume made the top 10. I'd also happily argue Gay Byrne's case and if (in the interests of TV) we're making the list as inclusive of as many disciplines as possible, George Best and Roy Keane would have to be there. Neither would be near my first choice though. There's a case for Eddie Irvine too, but again, nowhere near the top 10 Irish people of all time.
    Last edited by thischarmingman; 09/04/2010 at 2:40 PM.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Fly View Post
    Bono
    Dr. Noel Browne
    Michael Collins
    James Connolly
    Éamon De Valera
    Joe Dolan (sweet Jesus!)
    Ronnie Drew
    Colin Farrell (head in hands)
    Garret Fitzgerald
    Stephen Gately (This is getting embarrasing!)
    Bob Geldof
    Padraig Harrington
    Charles Haughey
    Séamus Heaney
    John Hume
    James Joyce
    John B Keane
    Roy Keane
    Ronan Keating (Fcuk me!)
    Séan Lemass
    Jack Lynch
    Phil Lynott
    Paul McGrath
    Christy Moore
    Liam Neeson (nahh!)
    Daniel O'Connell
    Daniel O'Donnell
    Brian O'Driscoll
    Michael O'Leary (he'll probably get passengers to vote for him at the check-in desk!)
    John O'Shea
    Sonia O'Sullivan
    Charles Stewart Parnell
    Pádraig Pearse
    Christy Ring
    Mary Robinson
    Adi Roche (head in feet)
    Wolfe Tone
    Louis Walsh
    Oscar Wilde
    WB Yeats
    I'll go with John O'Shea for making it out of Waterford.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    I'd rephrase it as "he has made a difference, though not yet near as much a difference as he'd like people to believe he has."
    I think he himself referred to his efforts to in Africa as a failure. I'm not in love with his personality, but the good far outweighs the bad. Some of the others mentioned in that list have contributed quite little in comparison.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Hell, Graham Linehan is far worthier than any of Ireland's pop exports of the last decade.
    Which made me remember Dermot Morgan, who's also nowhere near as good as Stephen Gately.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Ah Osasuran you can do better than that. I don't always agree with his perspective and the Big Breakfast is unforgivable but the guy basically gave up his career to do that which was in his power to do to help. If only half a dozen genuinely powerful political leaders did similar you'd solve a lot of the worlds problems I daresay.

Met him once actually - great guy to chat to. He asks a question and he's genuinely interested in your answer -It's a quality I find rare enough.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    He asks a question and he's genuinely interested in your answer -It's a quality I find rare enough.
    Maybe you're really boring?

There's no maybe about it TCM. I'm a whingey fecker with it. More credit to him.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CF1989 View Post
    in fairness to the boyzone ones just because you dont like their music dosnt mean they've done nothing for ireland. them and especialy westlife have done alot musically for the country for the last 12 years now

Please tell me you are joking.......................

108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CF1989 View Post
    in fairness to the boyzone ones just because you dont like their music dosnt mean they've done nothing for ireland. them and especialy westlife have done alot musically for the country for the last 12 years now
    Made people realise how underappreciated Foster and Allen were?

...or at least expand on that statement a bit. I don't see how either "band" have "done a lot for Ireland" in any sense -least of all musically. Nothing to do with my personal taste either. I gravely doubt many who've been to see Westlife, watched their vids or listened to the recordings they were partially involved in came away from the experience and said "Y'know what ...I must visit Ireland".

As for musically - I can't imagine Boyzone or Westlife would sound much different if they were from Argentina, Indonesia or Indo-China. There's little inherently Irish about them that way either -so no kudos on that front.

I can't even see a minor trickle down in terms of their effect on other Irish-origin purveyors of bland lifeless homogenised pop music to be straight about it.