Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Thread: This Weekend's Games

85 Posts
    At least if the match on Monday is called off we can go to the pub in Sligo for a bit of craic. It was a long trip home from Galway last night but the results in the other games made the trip home slightly better. Three points on Monday and it'll all be forgotten.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Doesnt seem the wisest move to have the Bohs Linfield game clashing with the Man United Chelsea game
    Security reasons take precedent over man u and chelsea i think
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

Just looking at Soccer Saturday, according to their infobar, Longford, Derry, Mervue and Waterford are all playing in the Premier division today, has the league re=structured without telling anyone??

Have to say, I didn't think we were that great, though maybe I'm just spoilt. I thought Rovers created more decent chances (certainly, I found more when doing the highlights below) and the general consensus in the stands, I think, was that Bolger gave the ball away too often. Corry and Shorty stood out for me; Killer did well, Pete's really improving and Billy made one world class save. But if we keep on improving the way we have been since Rusty took over - and it looks like we're keeping that up into this season - we'll have a good year. Certainly augurs well to hear us spoken about that way! Just need to start creating more and be a bit more clinical about it.

(This is what happens when I can't go for pints after a match...)
    There were periods of play when Rovers couldnt get the ball ,Bolger was instrumental in this always available for the short pass ,he makes you tick you wont be half as good when hes not there,he reminds me of how your manager used to make PATS tick.I see yous having a good season and a good shout for a cup .Unfair of me to go on about Bolger to much tho the unit as a whole look well drilled and yes you are spoiled.

445 Posts
    I went out to the Bohs game today, Arrived at Dalymount 8 minutes after kick off, the Gaurds told me that the turnstyles were clossed and they were letting no one else in, I decided to walk around to the Connaght Street stand to see if i could get into with the Linfield fans, Some guy in a FAI tracksuit told me to go back around to the Jodi and he will sort me out, When i got around there there was a bit of a crowd and the gaurds were still not letting anyone in, We were left standing for 15 minutes until a steward came out( the steward standing with the guards didnt even no who was playing, ridiculous), we all eventually got in but missed over half of the first half and the linfield goal, The Gaurds were blaming the club and the club were blaming the Gaurds, any Bohs fan no what the story with it all was??
    Here on a technicality.

2,634 Posts
    sounds to me like more Garda incompetence than the clubs fault. The Gardai were too busy with important things like checking flags and such...

64 Posts
    Even for a Rovers fan some of UCD's football last night was very enjoyable to watch. We don't get much of that in Tallaght these days and won't next friday either.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    sounds to me like more Garda incompetence than the clubs fault. The Gardai were too busy with important things like checking flags and such...

This is absolutely disgusting behaviour by the police. Several Irish Tri-colours (defaced with Bohs slogans etc.) was on display, why the selective confiscating of the Union Flag? Also, why was there no Union Flag flying next to the tri-colour a the flag masts, during Euro games the opposing teams flag is flow why not here? Double standards by all accounts.

Shows an abhorrent amount of disrespect by police putting a visiting fans national flag in a BIN before their eyes. Shameful stuff. How are we supposed to think Unionists would be safe in an United Ireland if this sort of stuff goes on. These sort of methods would induce trouble at matches.
    "No one could make a greater mistake than he who did nothing because he could do only a little." - Edmund Burke

2,634 Posts
    exactly - its antagonistic beyond belief. Not to mention the double standards you refer to. Bunch of incompetent buffoons.

70 Posts
    Thats an absolute disgrace placing the union flag in the bin like that. Out of all the grounds we visit the Gardai at Dalymount are the most provocative and aggressive.
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

The flag was not put in a bin according to a Linfield fan on another forum. Linfield FC said no flags with out clubs name or badge were allowed, they had a club official there checking to make sure it was enforced.

70 Posts
    Well whats happening in the picture then. Some sort of magic trick or did the the Gardai just find a big bin of Union Jacks and hand them out to Linfield fans on the way in?
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rebelarmyexile View Post
    Also, why was there no Union Flag flying next to the tri-colour a the flag masts, during Euro games the opposing teams flag is flow why not here? Double standards by all accounts.
    Why would you expect the Union flag to be flying as the flag of Linfield?

...if it stops you talking through your hoop, a Linfield fan off another forum...
    Don't know what he was doing with the flag when pictured but it evidently did not end up in the bin because it was draped over the back window of a supporters bus that I was behind on the way out of Dublin....phew, eh? The flag lives on.....

70 Posts
    Because Sherlock somebody obviously went and took it out.
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

Why ask questions if you "obviously" know what happened Sherlock sounds about right.
    Last edited by Quadruple1928; 04/04/2010 at 5:17 PM.

Stewards should know what teams are playing FFS.

290 Posts
    City match on Drive105:

www.drivefm.com

290 Posts
    Longford 0-1 Derry

103 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rebelarmyexile View Post
    This is absolutely disgusting behaviour by the police. Several Irish Tri-colours (defaced with Bohs slogans etc.) was on display, why the selective confiscating of the Union Flag? Also, why was there no Union Flag flying next to the tri-colour a the flag masts, during Euro games the opposing teams flag is flow why not here? Double standards by all accounts.

Shows an abhorrent amount of disrespect by police putting a visiting fans national flag in a BIN before their eyes. Shameful stuff. How are we supposed to think Unionists would be safe in an United Ireland if this sort of stuff goes on. These sort of methods would induce trouble at matches.
    Linfield fans were warned in advance including a statement on their website. This is not something unusual in IL terms. Flags displaying alegience to the club eg the suporters club name across a national flag is permitted. Blank National flags brought obviously to make some political point are not and are often removed. Given the flag incident when Glentoran were in Dublin recently it was obvious that the clubs and Guards made it clear how flags would be dealt with.

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast