Thread: Dáil votes itself another two weeks off

500 Posts

Dáil votes itself another two weeks off

I swear to god, every day I think they couldn't possibly make themselves look worse, and every day they do.

BreakingNews.ie: The Dáil has voted itself another two-week holiday today - just a fortnight after returning from their St Patrick's Day time off.

TDs will leave Leinster House this evening and not be back until Tuesday, April 20.

The Labour leader insisted they should be back after a week off and be discussing rising dole queues and the other challenges facing the country.
    I love the quote from Gilmore. Would the party ever cop on and dump that muppet. He made a complete langer of himself, again, in the Dáil yesterday, when he essentially accused The Pigf*cker of treason -- of course his actions are treasonous, but you don't say that in the Dáil, dummy! At least Kenny had the brains to frame it in a more... political way.

You could see Kenny weeing himself a little with joy when The Pigf*cker responded with: “I do not accept the contentions made by Deputy Kenny and I treat them with contempt". It was all he could do not to giggle before replying: "That is precisely the Taoiseach’s problem. He also treats the citizens of this country with contempt."

Of course that's Kenny's problem right there, he can talk the talk, but you always wonder can he walk the walk. Personally I don't think he can in the long term, but in the short term Bosco could do a better job of running the country, and I can't see Kenny/Gilmore lasting a full term anyway. There's far better qualified people waiting in the wings in both parties.

999 Posts
    I saw that this morning, and just couldn't f**king believe it.

They're fed up getting raped across the floor of the dail, so decide to pack it in for two weeks.

It's mind-boggling really.

Who are we kidding, They make eff all difference when they are up there anyway. It's just a ppoular argument though I agree embaressing from a "PR" perspective. I'm actaully pleadsed they're on hols cos they can't claim subsistance when the dail isn't sitting as far as I know so the more holiday's the better and we might save some money!

72 Posts
    April fool's?

500 Posts
    Dammit, it could be an' all.

999 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Fair play to them it it was an april fool's joke, it got me. The thing is, I didn't see it on breakingnews.ie (not sure where I did see it) so it would have to be a collaborative effort. (maybe the source I saw it on just took it from breakingnews)

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Haha, someone who doesn't even understand what yer on about on here most of the time, but loves a gawk, is after getting one over on dahamsta! Sorta

1,523 Posts
    I don't think it's an April Fools, they really are out for two weeks.

Which is handy when you're being asked a lot of questions you don't want to answer.

222 Posts
    Do this not happen every year?
    Have you ever won the treble?

April Fools.

I think it was an April Fools joke.Anytime they do vote themselves extra holidays its all over the red top newspapers and on radio phone in's etc.There was nothing about it yesterday on anything.It sounds so plausible though that its easy to fall for it.
    Aertel had a story yesterday about Leprechauns going to bail out the government by donating one of their pots of gold.

1,523 Posts
    It's true, and they do do it every year. http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...267552713.html

500 Posts
    It's crazy. The amount of time away from the Dail is just ridiculous, and even when they're supposed to be there the Dail is effing empty.

175 Posts
    It isn't an April Fools joke. They are off on holiers for two weeks. The only time they took 2 weeks before, is if Paddy's Day and Easter come off the back of each other, as 2 years ago. The first morning back, Bertie quit.
    Last edited by mypost; 02/04/2010 at 4:43 PM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    It isn't an April Fools joke. They are off on holiers for two weeks. The only time they took 2 weeks before, is if Paddy's Day and Easter come off the back of each other, as 2 years ago. The first morning back, Bertie quit.
    They take 2 weeks every easter. Without fail.

2,626 Posts
    in fairness they will all work really hard over the easter break - a "what i did on my easter holidays" essay.

Actually, that comparison is unfair on schoolkids.

41 Posts
    No wonder the Govt. were forcing the passport office employees to work properly again... They all had holidays booked. On a serious note they shouldn't be allowed to jet off whenever the going gets tough. You can't do that in a normal job. Why should the people who are, and I use this term as loosely as possible, running the country allowed to. It baffles all logic and reasoning.
    "Taoiseach the dole queues are growing and the economy isn't recovering fast enough what will we do?"
    "Ah feck it we'll go on holiday"
    Good evening!

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    The first morning back, Bertie quit.
    Well that day is certainly worthy of a national holiday that should be commemorated every year.

A bit like the 11th November, we could all stop what we're doing at 11am and vow never to forget what that clown has done...

19. Thanks From:

2,626 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Well that day is certainly worthy of a national holiday that should be commemorated every year.

A bit like the 11th November, we could all stop what we're doing at 11am and vow never to forget what that clown has done...
    good idea though funnily enough i think the majority of FF'ers would still take that time to revere the man and his achievements...

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    good idea though funnily enough i think the majority of FF'ers would still take that time to revere the man and his achievements...
    Never mind the majority of FF'ers, if he actually did go for President you wouldn't believe how many morons would vote for him.

I'm actually not sure whether its worse for someone to have voted for FF in the last election and to have changed their opinion since then (approx. 20%-25% of voters) or the rump of 20-25% of voters who would STILL vote for FF if there was an election tomorrow. I actually think the morons who voted them in last time are most culpable, as the remaining FF supporters are clearly insane and require mental help and support.

Depressing.

60 Posts
    What is worse is that if Charlie Haughey - former taoiseach current corpse - ran for President, he would top the poll.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A