Page 13 of 13 FirstFirst ... 3111213

Thread: Mayo League Division 1 2010

Team of the year

Who picks these teams,fair enough some of them deserve it but eamon knox played bout 6 games for the season got sent off twice they certainly don't care about discipline,they must pick the names out of a hat!

Quote Originally Posted by poker View Post
    Who picks these teams,fair enough some of them deserve it but eamon knox played bout 6 games for the season got sent off twice they certainly don't care about discipline,they must pick the names out of a hat!
    I think u should get the facts right Eamon was sent off once and that was once against Knock/Kilt in the cup for which he served a ban for the cup final and 3 league games that leaves him playing 15 games for the season.the next player close to Eamon would have been our own Ollie Clark.
    Last edited by Round Tower; 17/11/2010 at 7:03 PM.

Get ur facts right first we were not beat off the pitch in the final we were beat on penalties which could have went either way and Moy Villa has 2 players on the team. As for your claim that there is no football between us and Conn facts speak for itself Giggs is among the top scorers this season in the whole country wiyh 23 goals and 2 of the best defence records in the Mayo league. As for the asertion that Charlestown would beat any of us off the pich is waffle. Fair play they had a great season only dropping 2 points for the whole season but most of the teams were B teams.

Quote Originally Posted by Round Tower View Post
    Get ur facts right first we were not beat off the pitch in the final we were beat on penalties which could have went either way and Moy Villa has 2 players on the team. As for your claim that there is no football between us and Conn facts speak for itself Giggs is among the top scorers this season in the whole country wiyh 23 goals and 2 of the best defence records in the Mayo league. As for the asertion that Charlestown would beat any of us off the pich is waffle. Fair play they had a great season only dropping 2 points for the whole season but most of the teams were B teams.
    Totally agree RT, thought ye were rugged and unplayable at times this year, espically with McNulty and Gallagher hitting the onion bag so frequently and that is essential to progress. The table doesn't lie. Conn Rangers had an excellent run in which they collected a massive amount of points. Although I would have expected the league winners to have at least 1 player nominated in midfield?? This Charlestown thing keeps rumbling on and the quality of opposition they play/beat or come up against, you can only beat the opposition in front of you is what i say, and they definatly did that this year. I have always said that there is little or no difference in the premier, 1st and part of the 2nd division. Charlestown have some excellent players and are after proving their defo much better than division 2. My opinion is that they are equal to any of the sides in division 1 but they have to prove their worth and suceed in that division before they can be rated on merrit. As for Pokers suggestion that they would beat any of ye off the pitch, well if both of ye are sucessfull in the next round of the connaught cup we will see how both sides fair out. Dont know why Poker is upset as Moy Villa have 2 players on the team of the year and they finished 4th?? Still think that Moy Villa left at least 2 results on the pitch and practically threw the game against Urlar the week before the cup final..

frankly i thought stephen cafferkey would get the nod in nets. top shot stopper, conceded least amount of goals of all teams all season (tied with conn) and on the mayo u18 team
    prob couldnt have too many complaints about any other positions. Well done too Stephen "Cleansheets" McNulty. The only other real candidate we could have had decided to feck off too Holland midseason- James Kilbane- who was a goal of the Season candidate too for his strike against Castlebar Celtic (SL team) in the cup.

who got player of the division by the way? im going to assume giggsy?
    www.achillrovers.com
    Achill Rovers Official Facebook Page....

Disclaimer:Facebook Page may not actually be official

Quote Originally Posted by achillrover View Post
    frankly i thought stephen cafferkey would get the nod in nets. top shot stopper, conceded least amount of goals of all teams all season (tied with conn) and on the mayo u18 team
    prob couldnt have too many complaints about any other positions. Well done too Stephen "Cleansheets" McNulty. The only other real candidate we could have had decided to feck off too Holland midseason- James Kilbane- who was a goal of the Season candidate too for his strike against Castlebar Celtic (SL team) in the cup.

who got player of the division by the way? im going to assume giggsy?
    There was only 1 goal difference in goals conceded between Achill-18, Conn Rangers-18 and Killala-19. As i earlier Sean has had a great season some of the saves he made, his agility for a man of his age i knoe he wont mind me saying that he is the wrong side of 40 and was un-lucky not to save a penalty or 2 in the cup-final.
    Player of the division- a no contest Giggsy top scorer in all divisions in Mayo 23-25 goals.

Team

I couldn't care less if moy villa had 11 players in it,I was giving my opinion,conn rangers wouldn't be where they are only that they got points when they shouldn't have and let me tell u something round tower they tried it this year aswell to try and win the league and rob ye of something ye deserve,but hey it's not their first time,no shame!

haha your some man poker, some interesting theories. you missed out on one crucial fact as always. we beat ye in milebush and now were a whole division ahead of ye. it must be hard crying for a full year

purplemonketdis, i think its two divisions ye are ahead of them as ye are in Premier A and they will be playing in League 1 next season

i didnt say we wer two ahead did i? i said were a whole division ahead of them so they will have to look up at us for the whole year

Lads pay no heed at all to 'POKER'.. He does not know what he is talking about and is living in the past... I play for Charlestown an on behalf of all of us well done to Kilalla and Conn on the seasons they have had.. No sour grapes anymore!

Poker... its about time u Folded...

Quote Originally Posted by Gavs Up View Post

poor shout!
    www.achillrovers.com
    Achill Rovers Official Facebook Page....

Disclaimer:Facebook Page may not actually be official

Lads pay no heed at all to 'POKER'.. He does not know what he is talking about and is living in the past... I play for Charlestown an on behalf of all of us well done to Kilalla and Conn on the seasons they have had.. No sour grapes anymore!

Thanks as i said earlier congrats to Charlestown on the wonderful season dropping 2 points all season is some achievement. If both of us win in the 3rd round in the Connaught cup,Charlestown V Dunmore and Killala V Ballyhaunis we wil meet in the 4th round in Charlestown in January which should be a good game.

Why is Poker defending Charlestown and digging up ancient history?? He must be affiliated to some club in Division 1 giving the information he has and looking over previous posts it appears to be Moy Villa. I dont think the Charlestown Club have done anything but get on with their football this season so insulting or slagging them off as a result of Poker having his oppinion and greviences with the clubs in Division 1 seems a little unfair and unwarrented in my opinion. Well done Gav in offering you congratulations but I dont appreciate purple rubbing Charlestown's noses in it when everyone knows they were hard done by this season with the whole re-shuffle, at least be gracious in your promotion no one likes a poor winner any more than they like a poor looser.

rubbing your noses in it was the intention, just annoying poker was. nobody at conn rangers has anything against charlestown and we would all look forward to a game against them anytime. theres no denying they were the best diviosn 2 team but his comments that they would easily beat us and killala is laughable

Quote Originally Posted by purplemonkeydis View Post
    rubbing your noses in it was the intention, just annoying poker was. nobody at conn rangers has anything against charlestown and we would all look forward to a game against them anytime. theres no denying they were the best diviosn 2 team but his comments that they would easily beat us and killala is laughable

I can see how you would think he is from Charlestown but I honestly dont think he is. If he is I certainly dont have a clue who he is! I notice he has a post that was deleted earlier by 'The 12th man' ... Someone being a bold boy!!

Quote Originally Posted by achillrover View Post
    poor shout!

Dont Lie Achill, I could hear you laughin all the way here in Charlestown!

Quote Originally Posted by Round Tower View Post
    Thanks as i said earlier congrats to Charlestown on the wonderful season dropping 2 points all season is some achievement. If both of us win in the 3rd round in the Connaught cup,Charlestown V Dunmore and Killala V Ballyhaunis we wil meet in the 4th round in Charlestown in January which should be a good game.
    Ya I heard that alright, I would fancy ye to come through that tie against Ballyhanuis but I dont know much about Dunmore. It would be great to advance to the next round though. If it comes to pass leave that Johnny McNulty at home in Killala, Its been a long season and I dont fancy chasing that fella round the place

We know it will be though Ballyhaunis has good resuls in the cup this year, ye should know johny well but ye have not much hance kepping Giggs quiet we would be away to ye.
    Last edited by Round Tower; 20/11/2010 at 9:15 AM.

well its not impossible to keep giggsy quiet in killala, just give him no space and he will struggle, we did that very well and won 3 0

Page 13 of 13 FirstFirst ... 3111213