Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo League Division 1 2010

Quote Originally Posted by Fish-Head View Post
    Care to elaborate on how exactly it was a dubious penalty?

IMO you guys are half decent th best - not saying we're the greatest team either- though maybe it was an off day for ye. Your first two goals came from silly mistakes by us, and it didn't really help our cause that our centre-forward was playing in goal.

On the subject of keepers, I think ye may need to replace yours if you've got aspirations of promotion.
    Ah it was a fair result! Killala should have increased the lead to make it four or five one with giggsy missing a sitter but fair play to Celtic, they kept plugging away and came out with a point. Sean Jack is a great keeper. Hes 42 and deservedly got player of the season last year. But he mad a woeful mistake to let ye back into it. The lads ripped the **** out of him after the match. His excuse was he lost his bearings!

Quote Originally Posted by Round Tower View Post
    Killala 3 3 Castlebar Celtic B

Real sickner conceding 2 late goals. First half played some wonderful football, first Malloco scored from close range from a Smurf cross, the secound came when the keeper failed to cut out a Smurf cross come shot to go 2 up at half time, secound half Gigsy put 3 up when scoring at the secoud atempt after the keeper saved his first atempt. Gigsy,Knoxy and Boiler all had good chances to increase the lead looked comfartible made a no of subsitutions to give the bench time. With about 5 minutes left a cross came in our keeper tried to palm the ball over the bar but ould only into the back of the net and then with practle the last kick they scored the equaliser after we failed to clear a free kick. Their first came from a dubious penalty award.
    To give the bench time?? Nigs tells me ye brought on a full back at half time and a lad who was playing Super League football last year... the penalty was for a shoulder in the back, ur keeper cost the second and third was poor defending much like the goals ye scored too!! dont make excuses ye are top of table and deserve to be up there played some good ball but got unlucky thats the nature off the game....

The penalty was given where their was little or no contact and if there was it was shoulder to shoulder. Our keeper has made some up for his mistakes by making some wonderfull saves this season including a penalty save against Urlaur and a man of his age of 42+ he has great agility. As for your own keeper or centre forward he was lucky he was not red carded for the tackle he made on our centre forward early in the game. The refree has given 2 dubious penalty decisions against us this season and admited giving a no of bad decisions last sunday, a no of offsides that was not and frees that was not.
    I don't that he has made good saves for ye but he didn't play that well against us and his kicking could no doubt cost ye at some stage this season.

I have to say our keeper's challenge warranted a yellow(he didn't get one) but certainly wasn't a sending off offence as there were defenders covering plus the fact your player wasn't exactly heading straight in on goal.

Yes the ref made mistakes, for both teams, as they always do. But that's football and it will always happen.

Ah it was a fair result! Killala should have increased the lead to make it four or five one with giggsy missing a sitter but fair play to Celtic, they kept plugging away and came out with a point. Sean Jack is a great keeper. Hes 42 and deservedly got player of the season last year. But he mad a woeful mistake to let ye back into it. The lads ripped the **** out of him after the match. His excuse was he lost his bearings!
    It probably was a fair result and I would agree that ye should've have been well out of sight by the time we got our second.

Yes I could see what he was trying to do but am glad he didn't manage execute it!!

what pitch r celtic b playing on

Quote Originally Posted by secerts View Post
    what pitch r celtic b playing on
    Celtic Park.

Predictions

Conn Rangers, Achill, Mullrany, Killala and the other game a draw

Inver 0 - 2 Killala

Tough game of few chances, first goal came from a Bán great cross for R. Lyn to head to the net. Secound half a great through pass by Gigsy for Malloco to score. They will take points off teams especialy at home.

Moy Villa 2 - 0 Conn Rangers
    Purple monkeydis- who was to blame this time
    Last edited by Round Tower; 30/05/2010 at 12:05 PM.

deserved to lose and could have been more,i take it ye didnt empty the bench this week?

our rearranged match v mulranny utd on tomorrow in currane at half 7. surely ye all could do with us taking 3 points here!
    www.achillrovers.com
    Achill Rovers Official Facebook Page....

Disclaimer:Facebook Page may not actually be official

our rearranged match v mulranny utd on tomorrow in currane at half 7. surely ye all could do with us taking 3 points here!

Good luck, everyone wants ye to win although a draw would probaly suits us better, keep ye at arms length, we play Mullrany away on Sunday week be confident we can get a result there we have played 3 away games and won the 3. I know we lost in the Cup last week but missing 60% of our defence (including keeper).

technically we could be top come sunday morning
    www.achillrovers.com

technically we could be top come sunday morning

Yes alphabeticaly, i see the tables on the league website all tables are done on goal difference although if teams are level on points there has been play offs to decide places but with Mayo league still have not decied on promotion and relegation that might change as well, so to go top it will take some results with Mullrany +15, Killala +13 and Achill +4.

Quote Originally Posted by achillrover View Post

Match report to follow this evening please Achill. Your always good for one :-)

Mulranny 1, Achill 0.

Tonra Cup:
    Kiltimagh/knock 2, Conn Rangers 0
    Last edited by Footy Mad; 10/06/2010 at 8:59 PM. Reason: spelling

Tonra Cup Semi Finals
    To be played on July 1st

Killala V Kiltimagh/Knock- Repeat of last years semi-final
    Mullrany V Moy Villa

Quote Originally Posted by Maximus View Post
    Match report to follow this evening please Achill. Your always good for one :-)
    Mulranny 1-0 Achill Rovers

HOW? How are they top of the league. 2shots, one goal, 3points. they were poor. much poorer than we thought. we had a mountain of chances - not least 2missed by myself. even a draw would have been harsh on us but a loss has gutted a lot of us on our display. good crowd despite the abuse thrown a few of our players directions and the ref did well. Good few stoppages and despite one injury early to mulranny they could bring charlie o donnell of the bench. their lad patten up front the only one to cause any problems but after ten minutes he was kept under wraps and hardly had a sniff. however the hell rizzo is top league scorer i dont kno.much like the cup game against celtic, we seemed to be superior, bossing the game and creating many chances. unlike last year were missin a bit of luck upfront and its costing us BIG time - its gona be sickenin lookin back at the table come the end and look at dropped points - no more than last year. to killala and mulranny - we were where ye are this time last year and had no joy , theres a LONG time to go but its in yere own hands

now if ye dont mind im off to bed sickened
    www.achillrovers.com

Predictions

Achill, Conn Rangers, Castlebar Celtic B, Killala, draw

manulla B 1-3 conn rangers

Killala 3 - 0 Knock/KIlt

2 late goals an og and Smurf put a gloss on the scoreline, another Gigsy special in the first half had us 1 up at H.T, its set up a top of the table clash with Mullrany next Sunday away, a game we can't afford to loose, unbeaten away in the league so far, 3 wins out of 3
    Last edited by Round Tower; 13/06/2010 at 9:31 AM.

Killala 3-0 Knock/Kilt
    A Gigsy special in the first half put us 1 up at H.T, 2 late goals a og and a close range from Smurf put a gloss on the scoreline, itsd set up a great top of the table clash with Mullrany away next Sunday, a game we can't afford to loose, we hve 100% record in the league so far 3 out 3.

Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast