Thread: Rovers vs Galway

I was impressed with Mauro when he came on. Last night was the first game I've seen. But the back 4 that finished looked our best. I was impressed with the effort of Daveron. Conor made a difference when he came in to midfield. I was dissapointed with Donninger, he had an oppertinity to shoot with the goal open infront of him but he looked for a lay off to Podge. He must be still finding his feet considering he was so highly rated at Newcastle.
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

new to the forum lads. was at game last nite. if we continue wit ventre at right back, we are going to start concedin lots of goals when we come up against better sides. start the next game wit the defence that finished that one hopefully. also disapointin to seein us resorting to long high balls up so often.blinkhorn done well, but its asking a lot of him to do this week in week out

I don't know whether to be worried about the performance or happy we picked up 3 points when laying so poorly. It amused me to hear a few in the crowd saying we have no midfield.......of course we don't the fecking ball by passed them on most occassions. What is it with this lumping balls up to the front two all the time. Thomas Heary (probably one of the worst centre halves in the league) had one of his easiest games and was made look half decent.

On the positive, the back five were solid, and when Keane went right-back we at least had some threat going forward. we never really looked like conceding. I too was surprised by the subsitution of Ryan instead of Donninger, who certainly looks a little unfit.

Cook should not react to the crowd, despite what may or may not have been said........he should leave that sort of behaviour to Mr Connor (who probably had a few giggles to himself when he saw it happening).

One more positive......the Match Programme......I think the programme really looks the part now and must be one of the best in the league. Well done to all involved especially to those who made a contribution to it !!!
    "Overwhelmed"

We didn't play that great, but we won. I think thats what we were lacking last season. Thought Pele played poor again. Donniger looked lost in the middle. Apart from that everyone else played ok. I honestly taught McCabe played well, he wasn't afraid to take on players and yes, he lost the ball a few times, but people gave out about Cash last season for not taking on players so I dont see why people are complaining.

Next week will be a big test and confidence should be high after winning last night. If we can get some sort of a result, it'll have been a very good start to the season IMO.

105 Posts
    FR08 vs Galway

http://www.forzarovers.net/apps/phot...otoid=74747709

Sligo city skyline and a play on the words of the county motto

Forgot to say this earlier, I thought it was a very nice touch to play the speech of Johnny Chadda. Don't know if it was played at the Shams game or not, but I think its a very fitting tribute.

Was there a big crowd?

just over 2000

Perfect result to day at Tallagh as I said earlier Shams will be there at the end of season but Dundalk will probably have lost all their team between red and yellow cards, just like last season, five more yellow today for them and in fairness some terrible referring decisions in favour of the Hoops today but whats new. Cant wait for the Bohs match, they are not unbeatable and we have had a great run against them last season. Sorry this post has got away from the original thread but wins for Sligo have that effect and the mind starts to ramble.

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    FR08 vs Galway

http://www.forzarovers.net/apps/phot...otoid=74747709

Sligo city skyline and a play on the words of the county motto
    Very impressive banner, the Land of Hearts desire is taken from the title of a Yeats Play, and it surely beats the new tourism slogan "So Sligo" or the last one "sligo is suprising. I mean who comes up with this Sh1te and why use it when you have a Yeats one.

I was happy with that performance last night. We were solid at the back, I didn't think we were over run in midfield and we are creating chances. The first half was poor but I felt we grew in confidence as the second half progressed.
    I thought both Ryan and Donninger played well, at least Donninger isn't afraid to get into the box and looks forward to pass the ball instead of turning back. Amond and Blinkhorn, who was immense, both look sharp and will develop a decent partnership I am sure.
    McCabe looks very light and Doyle was poor enough but in fairness to him, he takes his chances.
    Dillon looks like a potential star and I would like to see him get more game time.
    We are hard to beat, we are creating chances, we have our first win of the season, happy days.

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redarmyfaction View Post
    Very impressive banner, the Land of Hearts desire is taken from the title of a Yeats Play, and it surely beats the new tourism slogan "So Sligo" or the last one "sligo is suprising. I mean who comes up with this Sh1te and why use it when you have a Yeats one.
    The land of hearts desire has been used in a previous campaign

A bit contradictory to say get off players backs and gove them a chance to settle in and then give McCabe and Donninger 4 out of 10.

http://www.thebitored.com/?p=1201

Surely if 'Sligo is surprising' the tourist board isn't doing their job right!

Couldn't make it to the game but have heard some worrying things about the performance. Three points is all that matters in the end though and hopefully some lessons have been learned from it. Theres a lot of new faces this season but this team will click at some stage, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Slightly off topic but can anyone explain to me why we still see so little of Marshall? He looks like creating something every time hes on the ball and can take his chances as well. I'd love to see him given a chance to prove himself, think he'll be a great player for us.

Só Sligo is the title of the food festival that was taking place in town over the weekend, very succesfull by all accounts. There's more to Sligo than Yeats who never once attended the Showgrounds!!!!!!!

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Good start to the season so far, roll on Bohs away next. Should be interesting, maybe Raf will put away an OG for us!!
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

Cook wasn't happy with the crowd reaction during the game.... It was only one person as far as I could see.....

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/loi/news.asp?n=38289

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Only1Rovers View Post
    Só Sligo is the title of the food festival that was taking place in town over the weekend, very succesfull by all accounts. There's more to Sligo than Yeats who never once attended the Showgrounds!!!!!!!
    Not so sure about that - surely the lines 'and I shall have some peace there' was penned after another night of watching Shams grab the points with an iffy penalty and an offside goal in the Showgies.

Was Saturday night the first time we lined out without a Sligo native in the team?

Quote Originally Posted by Only1Rovers View Post
    Cook wasn't happy with the crowd reaction during the game.... It was only one person as far as I could see.....

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/loi/news.asp?n=38289
    Cook needs to get over it always going to get a few moaners , we have a lot of new players so will take a while for things to settle down , 3rd in league isn't a bad start although its beginning to look like points dropped against shams now as they don't seem to be any good again this year, we badly need a fast striker/midfielder to get into the box quicky aka what Raf was doing last season.