I was at the game and apart from 10 mins each side of half time Cross were well on top and deserved the win.
Well done Cross. Great reversal from the league defeat. I did not know the game was on otherwise I would have been there.
I was at the game and apart from 10 mins each side of half time Cross were well on top and deserved the win.
Ya wasn't at the game myself, but heard Cross fully deserved the win, apparently very different team to that which started the league game. Thought it was going to be difficult tho after Cross V Claremorris B result. Well done Cross and good luck from here.
Had 9 of the team that started against ye in the league. We lost our 2 centre-backs early in that game
and the management team have had to reshuffle the pack since. A couple of players have moved
further forward and the team now has a good balanced look about it. Last year the management team
were only able to field the same team in 2/3 games all season, so hopefully with a bit of luck, and a
few players to come back from injury(and maybe 1 or 2 more can be coaxed out or retirement!!) we
can compete this year and maybe even hang onto the coat tails of tthe top 3/4 teams. The league
looks really tough to call this year.
any predictions for this weekend ?
Wins for westport c,charlestown,glenhest and s and f...
i dont know what is going on out there but there doesnt seem to be any passion on the green grass this season , this thread is also lacking any passion aswell compared to last year what is the problem? find your voices and get this thread back to its former glory
any predictions for this sunday?
glenhest rovers v claremorris b away
swinford b v cross celtic away
s & f b v ballyheane b home
westport c v charlestown home
Must agree... its gone quiet.. Who are the contenders are a few rounds in.???. Charelstown westport and claremorris started well.
Have to agree there, everything seems to be at a lull. Great banter and posts last year. Maybe its due to the loss of Yellowmonkey, Purplemonkey, Joe_Denilson, Couchpotato, Eto, Boro'86, Gunner1 from the division and pasionate arguments from Murphsjewels, swinford FC, Bandit, Walshek and pixiehead last year. But this is across the board in on all threads this year. Dont think the passion is gone from the pitch tho.
i hear a lot of whingeing on the pitch this year more than other years!! if the whingeing was replaced by passion we would have a gooddivision!! also too many refs on the pitch with every one calling for every ball too be theirs even when the ball comes of them they still call for the throw ,is that not cheating!!!! going on an awful lot becoming a bad habit,lets get back to playing good football after all isnt that what we pay a lot of money for??
Sounds like u could be a bit of a ref yourself..... not happy that the lads keep calling for everything are we?? after all thats exactly what they are told and taught to do at every level.. Call for everything and play the whistle. A good ref would be strong enough to make his own mind up and call the right decision no matter who is calling for what and no its not cheating in my mind.
Passion on the other hand, comes from within and its the reason we sign the form every year. Not everyone has passion and they are easily noticed and found out...pride in your jearsey and your club is not something that can be taught or drilled in at a training session. So you need to seperate what you consider whinging and passion as a true clubman/footballer will always express his/her passion (even as a supporter) and yes that means calling for balls that come off either yourself or a fellow player no matter how obvious it may be.
Murphs Jewels never said Charlestown were the best team in the league.. He gave his match report each week and wheather he be right or wrong he's entitled to his oponion, although towards the end I think he was doin it to rise a few people on this, <not mentioning any names r anything> but it certainly worked!!
PinkieMonkey, Charlestown Athletic won Division 2 last year, You can say what ya like but thats a fact... And if wanna stand any chance in the league you are in at the moment i suggest you go looking over every regestration paper and every bit of paper to do with the opposing clubs in yere Division this year cause thats the only way you will avoid Relegation! You are are a good side, but not that good.. You done ALOT of your talkin last year OFF the pitch <UNLIKE BARCELONA i mite add>!!
On another note I want to say best of luck to the rest of the teams in Division 2 for the remainder season... Standard of football seems to be very good this year an no easy games for anyone which is a credit to every club in the Division...
no i think you will find they finished joint second and lost the playoff, they were deducted points which was very fair. And with regards to our survival in division 1 I think you will find us to be aiming a lot higher than that
Charlestown to my knowlege were deducted 6 points last season an they still managed to finish on the same amount of points as Conn Whingers and lost out on penalties in the playoff. In my opinion they were extreamly hard done by, but thats only my opinion..
Listen this subject has been argued again and again an as far as im concerned its old news, im sure everyone else reading this thread is sick of hearing about it also..
Any predictions for the weekend games??
you could not pay me enough to be a ref ,just listening to some players whinging is enough without being in the fireing line all the time , as for cheating was henrys midas touch cheating in your oppinion or was it just part of the game??
henrys touch was cheating but thats part of the game, why is murphys jewels suspended
It had already been brought up in a previous statement from Purplemonkey which strangely enough seems to have disappeared now?? i gave my reply to it so no, i did not bring it up again! Trust me, im as sick of hearing and reading about it as anyone!
An im not singin anyones tune but my own, ul have to ask Murph himself as to why he is suspended im afraid..
You goin watchin any Division 2 games this weekend Gaffer?? Ya should jump in a TAXI an go over to Charlestowns game with Westport, should be a good one! Hard to call id imagine...