Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Bray v Fingal

Quote Originally Posted by BrayUnknowns View Post
    Quite harsh seeing as he is doing all of O'Neill's donkey work. 3 games he has played for us so far he has done pretty much all of O'Neills tracking back, closing down etc. Doyle can he a bit of a lose cannon at times and should score more goals but one thing he cannot be faulted for his the effort he puts in on the pitch, always gives 100%.

O'Neill to me reminds me of a mix of 2 players - young Zayed without the strength or positional sense and Franco - when things don't go his way he mopes around the pitch and lets it get to him. He just does not like the working hard side of the game what so ever and he has benn bullied pretty much off the park in each game so far. He needs to toughen himself up a bit and starting working for the team more.
    Shane O'Neill doesnt track back that much because he's at his best when he is on the shoulder of the last defender where he can use his pace to get into goalscoring positions??? What would be the point in Robbie Doyle playing further up the pitch than Shane when he couldnt even win a race against Pat Dolan never mind the likes of Liam Burns!! You have to look at the bigger picture Bray's squad are in no position to control games at this stage so they need to keep young Shane as far up as they can so when they do eventually get the ball in midfield there able to play it through to him. IMO he has been Brays best player this year and i dont agree with ye that he does not like the working hard side of the game?? all the opponents go out to break him up because they know he's the danger man and he's been on the other end of bad tackles, dangerous tackles nearly twice every match. you can be the hardest footballer but of course ur going to feel the effects of that every game!
    roddy collins should be a comedian!!

Quote Originally Posted by Weatherman View Post
    Shane O'Neill doesnt track back that much because he's at his best when he is on the shoulder of the last defender where he can use his pace to get into goalscoring positions??? What would be the point in Robbie Doyle playing further up the pitch than Shane when he couldnt even win a race against Pat Dolan never mind the likes of Liam Burns!! You have to look at the bigger picture Bray's squad are in no position to control games at this stage so they need to keep young Shane as far up as they can so when they do eventually get the ball in midfield there able to play it through to him. IMO he has been Brays best player this year and i dont agree with ye that he does not like the working hard side of the game?? all the opponents go out to break him up because they know he's the danger man and he's been on the other end of bad tackles, dangerous tackles nearly twice every match. you can be the hardest footballer but of course ur going to feel the effects of that every game!
    I'd have to totally disagee with you there on several points. Yes O'Neill has serious pace but we have not utilised it what so ever in the 3 league games so far, maybe once or twice but nothing like we should be using it. When he is up front on his own he is completely isolated and looses pretty much ever ball in the air and is not strong enough to hold it up, when he loses the ball he then fails to track back. It is a team game and he needs to learn that side of the game, he needs to listen to the more experienced lads in the team instead of letting his head drop.

O'Neill has taken one bad tackle so far, last Friday against Sporting, but it was not malicious, just mis-timed. What i am talking about is his inability to be able to stand up to players physically. He gets shouldered and pushed al over the place, he needs to be smarter when in situations like that.

There is no doubting he is a real star but he needs to work on a lot of different aspects of his game, especially working more for the team.

would it be worth considering even though we have only seen twenty minutes of him, to play pablo rodriguez and shane up front with robbie just behind them? play 3 midfielders in behind them. this way we get the pace of shane, pablo is a big lad (dont know how good he is in the air but looked to be a handful against fingal) and robbie can pick out the passes behind them and have a bit of a free role which may suit him?

Quote Originally Posted by melvin View Post
    would it be worth considering even though we have only seen twenty minutes of him, to play pablo rodriguez and shane up front with robbie just behind them? play 3 midfielders in behind them. this way we get the pace of shane, pablo is a big lad (dont know how good he is in the air but looked to be a handful against fingal) and robbie can pick out the passes behind them and have a bit of a free role which may suit him?

sounds logical but eddie does'nt work or think that way..pablo looks like he would fit this perfectly.. or else put robbie on the wings..

Lads we all need to calm down a litte bit FFS ! We had a week to get a team ready for the Premier, a WEEK ! other teams had been preparing since January.

The lads that have played in the 3 games so far have given 100%, we can't ask for more than that what so ever.

We have a big game on Friday, lets just get behind the team instead of yet again having ago at indivudial players.

Quote Originally Posted by naoise kennedy View Post
    sounds logical but eddie does'nt work or think that way..pablo looks like he would fit this perfectly.. or else put robbie on the wings..
    Lets be honest Naoise, we do not have the quality to play or experience to play 3 midfielders, its tough enough as it is for the young lads, a man light in there would be suicide - Eddie's not a complete idiot !

Quote Originally Posted by melvin View Post
    Like the way you think Melvin, i think we will score goals with the lads up front, the real problem is the defense and keeper, any ideas on them.

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69 View Post
    Lets be honest Naoise, we do not have the quality to play or experience to play 3 midfielders, its tough enough as it is for the young lads, a man light in there would be suicide - Eddie's not a complete idiot !
    i agree with you on getting behind the lads im completely on board with that, but about the midfielders if we played massey(he played in the midfield last year) shields and baker behind them thats plenty of experience the only problem being that we also need massey in the back four! i think this could make us very strong going forward. at the back we could play the same back four as last week with webster slotting in when fit . as for the keeper i think he will grow in confidence as he plays more matches but Roo69 is right lets get behind the lads on friday, cant wait.
    Last edited by melvin; 23/03/2010 at 7:54 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69 View Post

I did not suggest putting 3 midfield,, that was ''melvin'',, pablo and shane up front, robbie on the right, massey/tyrell on left,, 2 centre mids, and the defense, not a man light, yes that would be suicidal..

Quote Originally Posted by BrayUnknowns View Post
    I'd have to totally disagee with you there on several points. Yes O'Neill has serious pace but we have not utilised it what so ever in the 3 league games so far, maybe once or twice but nothing like we should be using it. When he is up front on his own he is completely isolated and looses pretty much ever ball in the air and is not strong enough to hold it up, when he loses the ball he then fails to track back. It is a team game and he needs to learn that side of the game, he needs to listen to the more experienced lads in the team instead of letting his head drop.

O'Neill has taken one bad tackle so far, last Friday against Sporting, but it was not malicious, just mis-timed. What i am talking about is his inability to be able to stand up to players physically. He gets shouldered and pushed al over the place, he needs to be smarter when in situations like that.

There is no doubting he is a real star but he needs to work on a lot of different aspects of his game, especially working more for the team.
    What about the elbow he got against dundalk i think it was?? He's going to get most of the chances for bray. There's no point in just singling him out tho because he's isolated on Gormleys tactics and its not his fault the back line and midfield are hoofing the ball up to him in the air when clearly he'd prefare the ball on the ground. im not comparing them now but even Wayne Rooney gets fustrated up top on his own!!
    roddy collins should be a comedian!!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123