Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 LastLast

Thread: Weekend Latest - Series 2

You must of watched on telly or was in some kind of corporate box if not frozen on the day , I thought the wind made zayeds dive look better after it held up keanes stupid back header :-)

Gutted to concede two goals in a minute to blow the win. Bohs were probably the better side but their finishing wasn't good enough. Red card was bull****, a case of making up for the penalty I suspect. Bohs looked very ordinary up until the sending off, they shouldn't win the league playing like that but, apart from Pats, no one else is picking up the wins.

61 Posts
    Nope, had a clear view of it and it was defo a peno but this isnt the thread to start all that up again.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    Gutted to concede two goals in a minute to blow the win. Bohs were probably the better side but their finishing wasn't good enough. Red card was bull****, a case of making up for the penalty I suspect. Bohs looked very ordinary up until the sending off, they shouldn't win the league playing like that but, apart from Pats, no one else is picking up the wins.
    They were 2 cracking goals though. Its always a sickner to concede 2 goals that quickly.

http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/5496369

You can see the whole Rovers/Pats game here. Fair play to them for tagging the main incidents too. Great view of the guy coming onto the pitch

Pats took their chances. The wind was very strong, even for Tallaght. Both keepers at the car-park end were not needed in either half. Rovers had a couple of chances through Sives and Chambers in the first half, but 0-2 the game was over. Doesn't matter how many strikers are out if you don't defend set-pieces. Rovers really shouldn't be as ineffective at Tallaght if it's windy, they should be most used to it..it's not a shock.

The incident..the guy ran on right beside me slowing up to look for stewards or the nine Gardaí who were at the floodlight pylon minutes before. He then pushes Rogers and loses his bravado..still no Gardaí or stewards..brought off the pitch by Rovers fans..finally meets a Garda who escorts him out to abuse. The book should be thrown at Rovers for no stewards or not protecting the field of play etc etc.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

238 Posts
    Quick question, are Rovers fans as madly obsessed with Sligo as is the case visa verse.
    Every post on here about Rovers results in some sort of dig from Sligo fans.

Fair played to Pats last night, excellent result for them, Pete Mahon is a fine manager and will have Pats top 4 this season imo.
    As for those saying Bohs won't win the title playing like that, they won 2-1 even though (going by all accounts) they played poorly, they also beat Fingal playing poorly, winning a league title is all about grinding our results. I thought Sligo played some great football over the past 2 seasons yet won f**k all, same for Rovers.
    Last edited by Sam_Heggy; 17/03/2010 at 7:49 AM. Reason: typo

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post

Fair played to Pats last night, excellent result for them, Pete Mahon is a fine manager
    No contest between the managers last night tactically. Pete Mahon knew how to use the breeze so won the game. As for that thick who ran on the pitch, as much of a moron as he was, sad indictment when one of our own fans has to cart him off with both stewards and cops looking on. I'm sure they went home last night feeling well pleased with themselves on another great night's work.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

UCD player was on a yellow card & he kicked the ball away after a free kick was awarded to bohs right in front of the referee. Idiotic thing to do & he can have no complaints. He cost you the game last night. Would imagine the manager gave him a right bollocking for his stupidity.

Bohs were poor last night, but scored two cracking goals. Raf with his second in two games. Should he and/or Bohs expect a phone call from Graham Barrett in the next few weeks to help solve Rovers goal scoring problems.

I was also disgusted to here about the behaviour of the pats players in Tallaght last night. Rogers & Lynch squaring up to an innocent Rovers fan like that is disgraceful. I assume the FAI will take action against pats as there is never any trouble at Rovers home games.

89 Posts
    Quick question, are Rovers fans as madly obsessed with Sligo as is the case visa verse.
    Every post on here about Rovers results in some sort of dig from Sligo fans.
    To get to the point, no. If anything I'd say our fans look on Sligo in a decent enough light, Amond and Doyle are still well liked amongst our fans. Some of our fans used to have a lot of time for Cook too. The Sligo thing on here is just rather bizarre, I'd imagine it comes from not having any natural big rival out there. The Michael O'Neill hatred thing is even stranger, seeming to all come from him saying we should have had a penalty there last season when Sligo fans disagreed, that aside O'Neill's hardly made it look like he comes from the Mourinho school of wind up artists.

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Huge wind ruined any chance of a football game, but we never even looked like adapting our approach due to the conditions. In the second half Pats had the cop on to whip their two attacking frees in at pace and both ended in goals, their only shots on goal in the game. We didn't even create a chance after that. Awful stuff.
    The match in a nutshell.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/5496369

You can see the whole Rovers/Pats game here. Fair play to them for tagging the main incidents too. Great view of the guy coming onto the pitch
    Cheers Dodge. The bit where the commentator notices the "fan" on the pitch is priceless!

Quote Originally Posted by wexfordned View Post
    UCD player was on a yellow card & he kicked the ball away after a free kick was awarded to bohs right in front of the referee. Idiotic thing to do & he can have no complaints. He cost you the game last night.
    Didn't realise it was for kicking the ball away until I saw the match reports this morning, stupid from Bolger alright although it's odd that kicking the ball away stopped being a yellow card offence when Bohs did it near the end.

Your original statement was very definitive for somebody who hadn't seen the incident properly!

Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    Your original statement was very definitive for somebody who hadn't seen the incident properly!
    I assumed it was for the foul (like normally happens!) which was pretty innocuous. I still think a second yellow for kicking the ball away is harsh and when no one else got booked for the same thing later, there's something wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    To get to the point, no. If anything I'd say our fans look on Sligo in a decent enough light, Amond and Doyle are still well liked amongst our fans. Some of our fans used to have a lot of time for Cook too. The Sligo thing on here is just rather bizarre, I'd imagine it comes from not having any natural big rival out there. The Michael O'Neill hatred thing is even stranger, seeming to all come from him saying we should have had a penalty there last season when Sligo fans disagreed, that aside O'Neill's hardly made it look like he comes from the Mourinho school of wind up artists.

Cant speak for all Rovers fans just myself..im not that old but am perhaps older than a lot of Rovers fan that post here and i always remember a good rivalry between our clubs..maybe more so at our end as ye have Bohs and thats your main one...again for me most of is just normal banter between rival supporters..maybe some annoyance(jealously!!)..at how shamrock getting a stadium handed to them..thus increasing revenue,getting glamour friendlies thus increasing revenue which enables them to form a good squad while us "smaller" clubs have to deal with the reality of the grind that is running a club in the league of Ireland...then ye are held up as "model" club for us all to follow!!..(what about your previous 20 odd homeless years and low attendances??)...and some of your fans seem to have taken to the role like ducks to water forgetting about he pre Tallaght years!!...again from a personal point of view i was never a fan of your manager before our meetings last season..his comments/accusations after the match in Sligo made me dislike him more as did sitting behind the away dugout at the game 2 weeks ago..he could do with a personality transplant..he makes Eddie Gormley look like a comedian in comparison.

Also a note to your fans who stop in Carrick on the way to Sligo...garage forcourts ARE NOT toilets

Ref was very card happy for both teams, I think the ref may have forgotten he was on a yellow.

386 Posts
    Nice little ground you have out there. Good pitch and better atmosphere than the old Belfield PK. Any plans for further developement on the other sides of the ground?

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    You clearly haven't watched the replays so
    I have but as i said earlier, this isnt the thread to be bringing that up again. Its over and done with it so get over it.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    Nice little ground you have out there. Good pitch and better atmosphere than the old Belfield PK. Any plans for further developement on the other sides of the ground?
    Ger, we've applied for planning permission to add a full cantilever roof to cover all seats in the current stand (it's possibly even been granted at this stage) but I don't know if we'll ever secure the funding to carry out the work. There's vague plans to add stands to the other sides but as you could see last night, it's not needed. Bohs at home is one of our bigger, if not sometimes the biggest, gates of the season.

Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 LastLast