Page 6 of 16 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Weekend Latest - Series 2

Quote Originally Posted by juan View Post
    Waterford to be fair were well worth their win. Played some nice football. We need time to gel. Our passing was sloppy and we were not up to it physically. But not that I'm complaining, I still have a team to support and it really is early days yet. Still confused to their game over banner. 8 days old and still bigger than you
    Yup! definately deserved the win tonight. Knocked the ball around pretty easily. Cork had a lot of the ball first half but didnt do much. Wasnt near the penalty so dont know if it was harsh but gladly take it. Vinny's goal was a peach though, super ball from john kearney into him.

O'Halloran deserved his red too, nice to see he's setting a good example for the younger players!

Great to see a crowd like that too. Also glad to see cummins and o'neill doing f-all tonight
    Bad form from the city player (number 2 i think) kicking the ball at our supporters for no reason though, no need for it.
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

41 Posts
    Fair play to Sean Connor for managing a side that kept all eleven players on the pitch... doesn't happen often.
    Good evening!

238 Posts
    Harps started the game very cautious tonight and for a good 70 minutes were extremely poor and playing dull football.
    For the final 20 minutes we were superb and could have had 5, McHugh took his header brilliantly and looked a different player after scoring, if he plays like that from now on we will be a very grateful set of fans.
    Our second was sublime individual play from Wizzy who beat 4 men before passing it past the keeper into the bottom corner.
    overall happy with 3 points and a clean sheet, also 4 goals in 2 games is a pretty decent return too.

Absolutely buzzing after tonight.

Waterford are very strong and well organised. The penalty, not a chance it was a penalty, knocked the wind out of our younger lads a bit. Plenty of positives though. A few weeks to gel and we could do well.

Waterford had a great pacman banner as well as an ironic one about buying history.

Great to see the crowd. If half of that comes back for the Mervue game Il be delighted.

Also a huge crowd at our table quiz afterwards including Hendo and Cambridge as well as some other Waterford fans. Nice one lads!

41 Posts
    The best thing about tonight was being finally able to walk through the turnstile smiling and walking out smiling (despite the result).
    Good evening!

Quote Originally Posted by Dillonman View Post
    1267 at Morton, thats a decent crowd, wonder how much are actual Fingal and away fans!
    150 to 200 for Sligo and thats being generous. Honest. Seriously we had one of our best crowds at morton.

62 Posts
    Fair play Lamper!

62 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    As far as I know, United announce an attendance of paid-at-gate and doesn't include season tickets. That is how is was last season anyway, though wasn't much more than 1,000 there tonight (if 902 is pay-at-gate only).
    As for Foster, the only United player from last season to join him in Dundalk is Garry breen, despite his best efforts to sign a number of other players. He may or may not havelost the dressing room, but the players were not exactly killing themselves to join him now, were they? Anyway, nice to see United play some decent attacking football on the ground after the defensive muck of last year
    John Russell was all set to join but then broke a bone and Foster, on his tight budget couldn't take him on as we only have a senior squad of 15 players coupled with 4 youths. Faherty choose Pats over us as they offered that extra bit of dosh at the end of the day and it was more handier to get to coming from Galway.

147 Posts
    But the thing is, they didn't join, nor did Seamus Conneely, Derek O'Brien or Shane Guthrie. Anyway, not going to get into a slanging match with you or any LOI fan because of that %&*%. Good,luck tomorrow in the derby, we won;t finish above ye but have to top Drogheda, so c'mon the flowers
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

The best thing about tonight was being finally able to walk through the turnstile smiling and walking out smiling (despite the result).
    Way different atmosphere alright. Interesting to see how the crowds will be this season especially as we are likely to struggle this season.

They is a great thing to be able to say! Great to read it. Delighted the supporters turned up too. Well done all
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

22 Posts
    http://setanta-video.eircom.net/eirc...ive.aspx?rd2=1

bohs game live if your on eircom.
    5-0

Is there any stream of the Bohs game apart from through eircom?

Bohs fans chanting "You dirty Northern b@st@rds". Lovely.

2,770 Posts
    no. ive tried everything - if i find ill share.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eL Bettor View Post
    Bohs fans chanting "You dirty Northern b@st@rds". Lovely.
    in response to Glens fans causing trouble with the Gardai.

sure, they shouldnt chant it but a bit of perspective doesnt hurt.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post

sure, they shouldnt chant it but a bit of perspective doesnt hurt.
    Why shouldn't they?They'res being PC and then there's just being ridiculous.

There's worse than 'dirty northern *******s' at every football game the world over. Jeez, if thats inappropriate Id hate to think what that makes the 'jackeen' songs we have, or the culchie ones others have.

21. Thanks From:

2,770 Posts
    thanks micls - i tend to get caught up in the foot.ie defensive mindset too often on here...

Cretaro was a big fish in a small pond while with Rovers according to the guy in the studio.

Big ego in a small dressing room more like.

Bohs 0 v 0 Glentoran HT
    Linfield 0 v 0 Saints HT
    Last edited by Fester; 13/03/2010 at 5:29 PM.

Page 6 of 16 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast