Page 9 of 16 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Weekend Latest - Series 2

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MeathDrog View Post
    Would you ever stop **** stirring, it was a definate peno.
    It wasn't a peno. Neither of them were

38 Posts

Who was brought on for Drogheda at around 80 minutes? Was ist Ryan Brennan or Damien Brennan?

RTI.ie states Ryan, extratime.ie says Damien. What's correct?

47 Posts
    Would you ever stop **** stirring, it was a definate peno.
    What's your problem? Far from a definite penalty though I understand why you might think it was (i.e. you support Drogheda). Learn the rules.
    "If you don't work harder I'll pull you off at halftime,"
    “Crikey, at Manchester City all we get is an orange and a cup of tea,"

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fionnsci View Post
    What's your problem? Far from a definite penalty though I understand why you might think it was (i.e. you support Drogheda). Learn the rules.
    Learn the rules? I'm a referee myself.

Both were clear penalties to be honest. In both occasions, the arm clearly blocked the ball going into the danger area and therefore prevented a goalscoring chance. Accidental doesn't come into it.
    You've got no fans.

47 Posts
    Learn the rules? I'm a referee myself.
    That makes two of us, I'll direct you to Law 12.
    "If you don't work harder I'll pull you off at halftime,"
    “Crikey, at Manchester City all we get is an orange and a cup of tea,"

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fionnsci View Post
    That makes two of us, I'll direct you to Law 12.
    And how do you prove they weren't deliberate? How do you prove Henry wasn't cheating? Of course you know it wasn't deliberate, but if a hand blocks a goalscoring chance then you are hard pushed not to give it. What made the linesman give them both then?
    You've got no fans.

38 Posts
    And how do you prove they weren't deliberate? How do you prove Henry wasn't cheating? Of course you know it wasn't deliberate, but if a hand blocks a goalscoring chance then you are hard pushed not to give it. What made the linesman give them both then?
    Yeah, but it's not like their arms were stretched out and the ball hit it. It was ball to hand!

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monkey9 View Post
    Yeah, but it's not like their arms were stretched out and the ball hit it. It was ball to hand!
    The first instance the arm was stretched as far as I saw it anyway. Haven't seen a replay since though.
    You've got no fans.

Quote Originally Posted by monkey9 View Post
    Whats going on there lads?

397 Posts
    We were shocking ist half, bordering on the disgraceful actuallly, glad of the point, drogs prob deserved more.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

288 Posts
    Highlights of Galway United v Bray Wanderers

High Definition - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xhVNx3dOvYE&fmt=22

Normal Quality - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xhVNx3dOvYE

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    We were shocking ist half, bordering on the disgraceful actuallly, glad of the point, drogs prob deserved more.
    Well said, yous were absolute sh*te first half, but came good in the last fifteen or so. Drogs deserved the points in fairness.

For me they were both penalities but the ref was a disaster (for both sides) , I said within 5 mins of the game that someone was going to be sent off (be it Duns or Drogs), this clown clearly thought before we went out, "I'll show them who is boss" .... unfortunately for us it was one of our players but it could easily have been Duns (he ws equally brutal towards both teams).

Given the course of the game I thought a draw was a fair result , clearly I would have loved the win but going down to 10 with the guts of 30mins left we were always going to be under pressure. Great to see our side bounce back from the UCD game.

Watching the game last night, and a few points about commentators

1. It was stated that Drogs havent won in oriel since 1997 (well yeah , we were in different divsions for most of that period - d'uh)
    2. They kept questioning the pitch - to me it looked fine and no funny bounces etc but they still questioned it non stop.
    3. Richardson was not as annoying as usual, beginning to mature as a commentator perhaps !
    Drogheda United in this together

Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog View Post
    3. Richardson was not as annoying as usual, beginning to mature as a commentator perhaps !
    Doubt it. Maybe his annoyingness (yes I know it's not a word but you get the picture.) Was drowned out by the brain warping noise of the Dundalk fans banging them metal ad boards!

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog View Post
    Watching the game last night, and a few points about commentators

1. It was stated that Drogs havent won in oriel since 1997 (well yeah , we were in different divsions for most of that period - d'uh)
    2. They kept questioning the pitch - to me it looked fine and no funny bounces etc but they still questioned it non stop.
    The commentators were annoying. Several times they referred to Dundalk when they meant Drogheda, and vice versa.

The comments about the pitch were lazy reporting. Any ball that ran away from a player was due to the "plastic pitch". Apparently, the wind had no effect.

I thought Drogheda deserved the three points. Dundalk were awful.

By the way, who are the "Duns"?

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Parker View Post
    From what Glenmen have said elsewhere, the issue was it being put up over an advertising hording, not the flag itself.
    Most definitely was no issue with Ulster/ glentoran/ union flags at Dalymount on saturday as anyone who saw the game will know there was an abundance of same on display.
    my own view is that the gardai should not have gone into the des Kelly stand at all as (rightly or wrongly) it was potentially provocative. think it would have been better to herd them into the DK stand and leave them to it (as the PSNI did when we were at Glentoran).

Gardai havnt a clue how to deal with football fans end of story,batton happy at Dalymount as usual escalating minor incidents,does anybody seriosly think they could deal with a european final ?could you imagine an English club v an Italian club in Dublin?carnage!

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RoversHead View Post
    Gardai havnt a clue how to deal with football fans end of story,batton happy at Dalymount as usual escalating minor incidents,does anybody seriosly think they could deal with a european final ?could you imagine an English club v an Italian club in Dublin?carnage!
    Unfortunately very true and they will have to pick thier game up for the semi final V Linfield (who will bring a bigger crowd) ! Always seem to think having a group of robocops in riot gear is the answer to everything. In the Oval the Glens V Bohs game was policed by about 10/15 PSNI with no trouble.
    God help us if the wrong teams end up in next years Europa League final !

397 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    The commentators were annoying. Several times they referred to Dundalk when they meant Drogheda, and vice versa.

The comments about the pitch were lazy reporting. Any ball that ran away from a player was due to the "plastic pitch". Apparently, the wind had no effect.

I thought Drogheda deserved the three points. Dundalk were awful.

By the way, who are the "Duns"?
    The worst mis-quote was when he announced both players were on their way to 'the lourdes hospital which is just across from drogheda`s ground which was previously called oriel park'

priceless
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

Page 9 of 16 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast