Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast

Thread: Weekend Latest - Series 2

61 Posts
    So was it just the one rovers fan then ? or was there more than one as suggested on here ?

89 Posts
    Jaysus that was some night in Tallaght. Just about as bad as things could possibly have been. We were beyond awful, haven't played that badly since the relegation season. Pats are a very negative team but managed to stifle the miniscule threat we offered in the first half pretty well. Huge wind ruined any chance of a football game, but we never even looked like adapting our approach due to the conditions. In the second half Pats had the cop on to whip their two attacking frees in at pace and both ended in goals, their only shots on goal in the game. We didn't even create a chance after that. Awful stuff.

As for the mentaller who ran on the pitch and started pushing Gary Rogers, he was rightly arrested and booed by those around me. He wont be back in a while. For those Bohs/Sligo fans with a lob on, I didn't see any Shamrock Rovers fan on here being arsed bringing up what's been posted on bohs forum about their fans attacking Glens pre-game last week. I am though looking forward to reading about this for the next 18 months along with the time an linesman had a coke bottle hit off his leg.

Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    So was it just the one rovers fan then ? or was there more than one as suggested on here ?
    It was just the one. Seemed a pretty poor reaction from the Guards / stewards. Lynch and a few other Pats players dragged him off the pitch

89 Posts
    One bloke ran on and started pushing Gary Rogers, Pats players and a Rovers player ran up after him and pushed him off the pitch where he was arrested. He had obviously taken something as he did it completely unprovoked. There was an offside decision or something just beforehand but nothing of any major note or ill feeling towards the ref/Rogers. It was rather bizarre.

As a neutral at Belfield I thought that UCD were very unlucky.
    The ref was very poor - not even a yellow card for O'Connor for taking the striker down for a penalty - was he not the last man? Then a couple of minutes later the UCD got a second yellow quite innocuously. Games turn very quickly. Cretaro should have been booked aswell - 3 fouls, in 5 minutes.
    The league looks very open this year - Bohs were far from impressive - only made 3 good chances all match.

61 Posts
    Thanks, i was just wandering why some was saying it was Rovers FANS as if there was a few that was involved

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Saint_Charlie View Post
    It was just the one. Pretty poor reaction from the Guards / stewards. Lynch and a few other Pats players dragged him off the pitch
    The reaction was bizarre, the same fella had threatened the Pat's subs as they were warming up right in front of me about 5 minutes earlier, and both a Garda a steward spotted him and he wandered off with his girlfriend, how nobody reacted when he was on the pitch I don't know.

I only got the second half of the match and it was brutal stuff, wind was extreme and it really did make playing any kind of football near impossible, great delivery from two free kicks the difference between the teams. Pat's are not going to concede many goals this year and should be top four. Rovers desperately need a striker or their title hopes will be over before Twigg is fit again.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

89 Posts
    Thanks, i was just wandering why some was saying it was Rovers FANS as if there was a few that was involved
    It definitely wasn't, though I'm sure the Bohs/Sligo crew would have loved to spin it that way. It was really weird, as him aside it was the tamest Pats/Rovers game I can remember, a very quiet atmosphere with no bite in it at all. Like I said, the whole night was a disaster.

How DARE South Dublin Co Co..not build a windproof stadium.

38 Posts
    It was only one fan, an absolute scumbag. No more than that. But the Shams security was a farce. He attacked Rodgers who fended him off, then our lads ran up. Lynchy confronted him, a few more of our players before finally, officials came onto the scene.

Now i'm no fan of Shams and their fanbase, i actually expect this kind of ****e from them. But it was only one fan, that's all. I reckon every other Shams fan watching it was embarrassed to be fair.

But they need to sort out their security cos it was too long before anyone got to the scene.

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Jaysus that was some night in Tallaght. Just about as bad as things could possibly have been. We were beyond awful, haven't played that badly since the relegation season. Pats are a very negative team but managed to stifle the miniscule threat we offered in the first half pretty well. Huge wind ruined any chance of a football game, but we never even looked like adapting our approach due to the conditions. In the second half Pats had the cop on to whip their two attacking frees in at pace and both ended in goals, their only shots on goal in the game. We didn't even create a chance after that. Awful stuff.

As for the mentaller who ran on the pitch and started pushing Gary Rogers, he was rightly arrested and booed by those around me. He wont be back in a while. For those Bohs/Sligo fans with a lob on, I didn't see any Shamrock Rovers fan on here being arsed bringing up what's been posted on bohs forum about their fans attacking Glens pre-game last week. I am though looking forward to reading about this for the next 18 months along with the time an linesman had a coke bottle hit off his leg.
    Fair play to you lad coming on and given a fair assesment. Im sure a lot on here thought you wouldnt +1

70 Posts
    Pats defended very well in the first half and made the most of their chances. Well worth the win in the end. Guthrie was excellent and Williams worked his socks off
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

38 Posts
    I thought the breeze had a big imapct tonight. We didn't provide anything at all attacking wise in the first half. We were playing against the breeze and i was hoping we could hang on til half time at nil all hoping the breeze would make a difference in the second half.

We were much the better team in the second half, took our chances when they came. To be honest, Shams didn't do much. I really thought we deserved our win

Absolute genius quote from RTE

Apart from a pitch incursion by an irate Hoops fan, who confronted Rogers before being ushered away, Rovers struggled to seriously threaten the visitors goal in the whole of the second half

2,770 Posts
    i think one Sligo poster may have said "fans". It was quite clear from the extratime update that it was just one lunatic. I was more pleased with the bad result and performance than one of Rovers fans attacking Rogers.

Fair play Jicked.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Doomofman View Post
    Absolute genius quote from RTE
    Before being ushered away, i love that. I hope Shams pay some wages to Damien Lynch!! Great multi tasking from him!!

Quote Originally Posted by monkey9 View Post
    I thought the breeze had a big imapct tonight. We didn't provide anything at all attacking wise in the first half. We were playing against the breeze and i was hoping we could hang on til half time at nil all hoping the breeze would make a difference in the second half.

We were much the better team in the second half, took our chances when they came. To be honest, Shams didn't do much. I really thought we deserved our win
    spot on. Wind was very strong but once we went in front we dominated, and but for poor final balls could've had more. Rovers were abysmal. They hoofed in the first half even though most balls went out for our goal kicks

As for the Rogers incident. Completely bizarre. Ran to shape up to Roges and not a steward in sight. The Pats back 4 looked like they were about to start throwing digs themselves and still not one steward moved

One of the better nights I've had in the last 18 months or so

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    spot on. Wind was very strong but once we went in front we dominated, and but for poor final balls could've had more. Rovers were abysmal. They hoofed in the first half even though most balls went out for our goal kicks

As for the Rogers incident. Completely bizarre. Ran to shape up to Roges and not a steward in sight. The Pats back 4 looked like they were about to start throwing digs themselves and still not one steward moved

One of the better nights I've had in the last 18 months or so
    Great result for Pats , if i was a shams fan I would be on to the council to sort out the problems with the wind in tallaght , was very bad at times for cup final , in fairness you are paying big bucks in rent so should get them to sort it out as its not helping you on the pitch.

61 Posts
    I thought the cup final went well and the wind didnt affect the result. Nice stadium though.

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    One bloke ran on and started pushing Gary Rogers, Pats players and a Rovers player ran up after him and pushed him off the pitch where he was arrested
    He wasn't arrested and he left the ground himself

Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast