Page 62 of 76 FirstFirst ... 1252606162636472 ... LastLast
Results 1,221 to 1,240 of 1506

Thread: Sporting Fingal Gone Belly Up

Quote Originally Posted by Dan6189 View Post
    What puzzles me is who did fingal supporters follow 3 year ago, where did they come from ?
    Fingal

Quote Originally Posted by Strawberry View Post
    I imagine they were football fans who suddenly had a local side. I didn't like Fingal but all clubs have to start somewhere
    I for one was new to the loi and started supporting the club because they where my local club. Others where the same. Im going to find it very difficult if I have no more live football on fridays. I know people are saying head to this or that club and support them but it wont be the same. I guess ill still try to get to some games as a neutral because the league deserves more irish support regardless.
    Last edited by Lamper.sffc; 09/02/2011 at 6:32 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Hairy Bowsie View Post
    Fair play lads, you still have your pride
    Iv nothing to feel humble about.

62 Posts
    Has the FAI advanced money to Fingal after last week or was that planned? If so then I take it the FAI are at a loss there now.

156 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dillonman View Post
    Its always bad to see a club go and I hope ye can keep a club going, be it in the a championship for a year or two and buidl slowly this time.
    They have defaulted on contracts, unless they come to an agreement on compensation with the players the club won't get a licence for any division

What could be explosive is if Fingal Co. Co. still have a shareholding in the club, the players could go after the council/the taxpayer for compo.

Many questions have to be answered in this fine mess
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

I imagine they were football fans who suddenly had a local side. I didn't like Fingal but all clubs have to start somewhere
    Fair enough answer but it can't be as bad as say pats bohs or rovers goin bang for good with the history they have, but I hear where your coming from as Id be lost without a game on Fridays

398 Posts
    Money paid to players last week was from UEFA and prizemoney, which makes the FAI quits. Fingal Co Co have lots to answer for and there is a fair deal of political backside covering going on. Unfortunately local councils barely have enough money to fill the potholes in preferred areas roads let alone for sports facilities or clubs. It just goes back to show that the LOI in it's current form is completely unsuitable for professional clubs, or football in general. We're all only one bounced cheque away from trouble.

Quote Originally Posted by Dan6189 View Post
    Fair enough answer but it can't be as bad as say pats bohs or rovers goin bang for good with the history they have, but I hear where your coming from as Id be lost without a game on Fridays
    Im not sorry to see the back of them either, they were the Irish version of all thats wrong with the sport, but I'd feel sorry for the supporters.

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika View Post
    Money paid to players last week was from UEFA and prizemoney,
    What Uefa money was due to SP?

Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Parker View Post
    What Uefa money was due to SP?
    Inter Toto Cup money and possibly prize money for finishing in their respective league position.
    Shed End Invisibles. Where are we??

Im not sorry to see the back of them either, they were the Irish version of all thats wrong with the sport, but I'd feel sorry for the supporters.
    Ah come on, I only feel sorry for half of them; he's a decent guy and good for a drink

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika View Post
    It just goes back to show that the LOI in it's current form is completely unsuitable for professional clubs, or football in general. We're all only one bounced cheque away from trouble.
    There's a fair few clubs running themselves in a proper manner nowadays. Every business is "one bounced cheque away from trouble". Bouncing cheques is trouble by definition almost.

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shedendinvisibl View Post
    Inter Toto Cup money and possibly prize money for finishing in their respective league position.
    I presume you meant Europa League, but surely that money would have been paid to clubs some months back?

Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Parker View Post
    I presume you meant Europa League, but surely that money would have been paid to clubs some months back?
    AFAIK It isn't paid until well after the end of the season it was earned in and even then, it's paid to the federation first off.

1,104 Posts
    The FAI have been advancing European money to clubs for years. I know they did it for us in the past and we certainly were never a club they'd go out of their way to favour.

398 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    There's a fair few clubs running themselves in a proper manner nowadays. Every business is "one bounced cheque away from trouble". Bouncing cheques is trouble by definition almost.
    Longfordian, I like how you've inserted "nowadays", until the next rush of blood and testosterone comes and suddenly the buckets are out being rattled again. No club is immune. No club is unique. We can all see it happen to our club and for the life of me I just can't see there ever being an end to it. I'd love to point the finger, however like the reasons for the French loss at Waterloo, there isn't a single point that can solely be blamed.

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dillonman View Post
    It does and if Bohs dont get the go ahead for Europe, Dundalka re back in by default yet again!
    Have Bohs not already pulled out of the Setanta ? I cant see how they are even expecting to be nominated to play in Europe.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

The remaining players were asked today to all take a 33% pay cut ...
    Which was rejected as the players reckoned that this would only postpone the inevitable and wasnt going to be the solution to the money problems ...
    Looks now as if the club willl fold!

1,104 Posts
    Spudulika, I take your point in that it's generally been a cyclical affair with as you say most clubs guilty at some point. But the future actions of clubs is not something that can be definitively controlled now. If the vast majority of clubs are running their affairs the right way now then that's as much as can be hoped for at present. Along with proper monitoring to attempt to ensure they can't go the same way again, which brings us to the FAI..

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    LTFC ,Nope. Maybe we should have followed Longford and save a few quid by selling the same match programme for every game of the season with just some post it stickers covering the team lists.
    Ohh you got me...*ouch* right where it hurts... *oooh aaahh* stopping ourselves from going under... *owie* and being able to pay our players every week...
    Last edited by L.T.F.C.; 09/02/2011 at 7:56 PM.
    Sporting F*ck All!

21. Thanks From:

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lamper.sffc View Post
    Not really mate.
    Just like your one colleague on here, you better put your bib on cos I hear humble pie is very messy!
    Sporting F*ck All!

Page 62 of 76 FirstFirst ... 1252606162636472 ... LastLast