Could it not be Fingal and Dundalk are offering similar wages but Bolger didn't want to leave Dublin?
Does Foster ever shut up whinging about his budget? I mean seriously?!
I think I read somewhere that Dundalks playing budget is €7000 a week. FFS!!! that is probably triple what our/UCD/Bray' budget will be. I never heard the managers of those clubs complaining. They just get on with it and dont constantly have to make references to other clubs dealings.
The way Foster goes on you would swear he could only offer players expenses.
Last edited by Olander; 13/01/2011 at 12:48 AM. Reason: spelling
roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!
Could it not be Fingal and Dundalk are offering similar wages but Bolger didn't want to leave Dublin?
[QUOTE=redobit;1440069]Are Fingal in the Red or Black at the moment?
Its white with a bit of green with the away strip being black.
The Democrat, much as I used to like it, is famous for a paper of no record (I'd a nasty experience in this respect back in 2000). This is very disingenuous by Ian Foster, and lies as well. First he had his facts wrong, it was only 8 or 9 players from last season left on contract. Everything is just whinge to get sacked and a big pay off.
cant stand the man he must be the biggest whinger to be ever called a football manager.Does Foster ever shut up whinging about his budget? I mean seriously?!
Not really, the implication is that if Fingal were offering a 'huge wage' and Dundalk were his second choice, then they were offering what he thought was a decent wage.
Ergo, STFU Foster. A manager who has signe d Jason byrne and Mark Quigley this season hasn't a leg to stand on when moaning about wages
If Fingal, have money to spend, good luck to them. If Foster is moaning about their finances based on press reports, then more fool him
But when did they now have money to spend? They always said they were OK, and even saying they ave a reduced budget wouldn't preclude them from having enough to pay for Bolger
It seems Foster was believing all reports, and he should know better than that
In fairness, I tend to take clubs with a ton of salt when they're talking about themselves and how secure they are. This is at least independent confirmation.
Foster spoke specifically about targeting Greg Bolger to local media before Christmas and therefore created an expectation among Dundalk supporters that this signing would happen. It now looks like he may sign for Sporting Fingal, and naturally the same local journalist asks him why. Foster says it as he sees it.
A few observations:
1) He would have been better off saying nowt in the first place
2) For such an articulate man he says too many things that he should not say.
3) His remarks on the reported "demise" of Sporting Fingal are fair comment
The most annoying thing for me is that he complains about Bolger prefering Fingal to Dundalk based on money, while at the same time trying to lure him to oriel on a better deal than he had at UCD
I didn't see any criticism of Bolger for getting the best deal for himself. Indeed, there is no criticism of Fingal in his statement. I don't see why you are trying to spin his comments in this direction.
The interesting aspect of his comments were that Fingal are offering more expensive contracts than a club that is being run on a sustainable basis.
Where is Fingal getting the cash to pay these contracts?
Fair enough, I think he's moaning, and I think his backhanded chatter about Fingla is misplaced.
Where they get the cash is completely immaterial to me. As long as they pay their way, then good luck to them
I think Foster is referring to the compensation that UCD are entitled to, he said in the Democrat before xmas that the only reason that we didn't go for Kilduff was that UCD are entitled to compensation for him, its the same now with Bolger and Fingal apparently can afford to pay this compensation, something which we definitely cannot afford. So I'd imagine thats what he is "whinging" about.
The quote only mentions wages though.
That seems to make it clear it's about the wage, not the fee. If ye couldn't afford the fee at all, ye'd have known that from the start and surely not shown an interest in him? Also, the fee is irrelevant to Bolger, but Foster indicates that the choice is Bolger's, which would mean that Foster's giving out about Fingal offering a higher wage.Originally Posted by Foster
Well then perhaps its the lure of Europe that is persuading Bolger to sign with Fingal. It was a player that will remain un-named that actually let the word slip after the DFC awards night, that we where after Bolger, with word out, Foster said a few weeks later in the local paper that he was persuing Bolger's signature and now its come down to this. I duno but I'd imagine the compensation payment due to UCD is one reason why we havn't signed Bolger and this has frustrated Foster to come out and say that in the paper.