Thread: Chris Moyles on the Irish obcession with foreign football clubs.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    That you are the same as them
    As someone who was born and spent her first few years in England and hoping they go on to win the WC this year, I don't think so.
    I spent 8 years playing Gaelic football but gave that up to play football but have taken up camógie since...

...and when I go to the pub to watch a match, I sit on a couch, not a stool.

Jeez...
    L U H G

200 Posts
    Leeds United - Heroes and Giants

138 Posts
    National Embarresment.

2,771 Posts
    Glaziers OUT!!

I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

398 Posts
    If anyone has access to itunes (has an ipod or such) you can download the Chris Moyles show as a podcast, just so that there is no mistake - you can also download selections from Morning Ireland, Tubridy, Off the Ball, George Hook etc. It is curious that so many Irish people travel over to Britain each weekend for games, whether up north to Glasgow or Manchester, Liverpool, Leeds and so on. I wonder how much money leaves the country each year because of this - regardless of spending it in the LOI?

Lets be honest lads, the majority of people who travel to the UK for a match are just heading away for a **** up. I went to Man City v Fulham in Manchester a couple of years ago with a few friends (I don't support either but love football) and the main reason I travelled was for the craic.

The point I'm making is that if I went to a LOI game (which I have done many times in Jackman Park) you'd usually come home that night and wouldn't have an excuse for a lads weekend.

Anytime i've gone to an EPL it has been either cause of a stag or an organised **** up. There are lots of family's that do go & also loads who shell out for a season ticket & go to all the home games - basically the top 7 or so EPL teams at the moment. Has always amazed me as to why they go to such cost when they have perfectly good although admitidly not top footy on their own doorstep & they can watch the "moneymen" on the telly in the comfort of their own home. More money than sense if you ask me cause it costs me a small fortune each year to go on Eire trips then there's the EPL teams biggest rip off - merchandise - i "follow" sheff utd(rarely if ever go to games now used to go regularly about 10 years ago when lived there for a while) & would buy their top once maybe every 3-4 years - only footy tops i tend to buy are Eire gear or the odd top euro team & a few GAA tops as well

Oh yeah LUHG - why are you all in love with Sheff Utd as they are the oldest united in existence & therefore should surely be the only club who could lay claim to the name UNITED not the thiefs of manchester who just "borrow" other clubs stuff anyway like songs etcc lol
    Last edited by philliyk; 24/03/2010 at 7:35 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by philliyk View Post
    Anytime i've gone to an EPL it has been either cause of a stag or an organised **** up. There are lots of family's that do go & also loads who shell out for a season ticket & go to all the home games - basically the top 7 or so EPL teams at the moment. Has always amazed me as to why they go to such cost when they have perfectly good although admitidly not top footy on their own doorstep & they can watch the "moneymen" on the telly in the comfort of their own home. More money than sense if you ask me cause it costs me a small fortune each year to go on Eire trips then there's the EPL teams biggest rip off - merchandise - i "follow" sheff utd(rarely if ever go to games now used to go regularly about 10 years ago when lived there for a while) & would buy their top once maybe every 3-4 years - only footy tops i tend to buy are Eire gear or the odd top euro team & a few GAA tops as well

Oh yeah LUHG - why are you all in love with Sheff Utd as they are the oldest united in existence & therefore should surely be the only club who could lay claim to the name UNITED not the thiefs of manchester who just "borrow" other clubs stuff anyway like songs etcc lol
    I presume you're referring to me when you say LUHG, maybe because the atmosphere and experience is ten folds better than what we get here?! I know I enjoyed the Manchester United match much more than any Galway United match I have ever been to. I spent a grand total of €220 on my trip to Manchester. For the quality of football and enjoyment, it was well worth it.

I couldn't care less if Sheffield United are oldest United out there, my united is Manchester United. Get used to it...
    L U H G

Quote Originally Posted by MaryDrummer View Post
    I couldn't care less if Sheffield United are oldest United out there, my united is Manchester United. Get used to it...
    Theres also one in Ireland , quite near you if I'm not mistaken

Ya there is. Your point?
    L U H G

Just think its sad that United to someone from Galway means Manchester not Galway

2,081 Posts
    I suppose there's a difference between actually supporting a team and just wanting them to win. I think in the case of most Irish "supporters" of an EPL club it's more that they have a favourite team over there and that's about it. My favourite EPL team is Man Utd but could I really consider myself a proper supporter, no chance. I watch all their games on TV, haven't yet been to OT (for a match anyway) and don't buy any of their merchandise. I find some of the slagging amongst Irish Man Utd/Liverpool supporters very cringing to be honest. I would consider myself a Cork GAA supporter, going to matches regularly as well as buying the odd top and generally feeling a part of their successes or failures. As much as I like to see Man Utd winning or whatever I find it a bit embarrassing people over here celebrating their achievements in a big way.
    Last edited by DeLorean; 30/03/2010 at 11:07 AM. Reason: left out a word!

Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    Lets be honest lads, the majority of people who travel to the UK for a match are just heading away for a **** up. I went to Man City v Fulham in Manchester a couple of years ago with a few friends (I don't support either but love football) and the main reason I travelled was for the craic
    WHile thats true for a fair amount, there's also plane loads who fly over and back ona Saturday/Sunday. Check out Dublin airport betwenn 9-11pm on a saturday. pathetic stuff

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Just think its sad that United to someone from Galway means Manchester not Galway
    Well I knew of Manchester United before Galway United, didn't always live here.

If we went be yer rules, I'd be a Watford supporter!

Come down off yer moral high ground...
    Last edited by MaryDrummer; 29/03/2010 at 9:49 PM.
    L U H G

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MaryDrummer View Post

Come down off yer moral high ground...
    But we like it up here.