Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: tonights latest

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seand View Post
    Apologies ifthis has been covered before but I'm not trawling through 9 pages of replies to check! It took all of 3 minutes for the first horrendous refereeing decision of the season. Bray's Shane O'Neill got in behind Dundalk's defence and was clipped by Liam Burns. O'Neill stayed on his feet and squred the ball for a team mate to score.... only for it to be pulled back cos the ref had already blown for the pen... which inevitably was saved! And Burns stayed on the pitch.
    The first part is a bit harsh on the ref. He had whistled for the penalty long before the shot to the net. He can't allow advantage AND also award the penalty. That he did'n't show the red card on the last man rule was a mystery though - I doubt that MNS footage will clear him on that one.

Quote Originally Posted by cestlavie View Post
    Harps conceded 3 in 14 mins, a shock to system for any team. What kind of game was it, what were goals like, mistakes crackers etc? Anybody at the game on here?
    Yep I was at it. I have a bit of a summery in the Town forum. Harps were the better team by far in the first have and deservedly lead. Their goal was a shot from 25 yards that took a huge deflection and looped our keeper. We were much better in the 2nd half, and our equaliser came from a good run down the right from Cathal Brady I think, who swung a ball into the back post and McDonagh scuffed a shot in. Our 2nd came from a ball from the left wing that Hynes bundled in at the back post. Our 3rd was from a corner swung in from Lester that Deans met with a bullet header. In fairness, Harps defending for all 3 goals was shocking. Harps' 2nd goal came from 2 of our defenders, the Cronin brothers, crashing into each other and Walsh went through and slotted it in the corner. Harps piled on the pressure then but couldn't get an equaliser, hit the post along the way! Was a very entertaining game overall, much better to watch than the TV game last night. Harps were highly impressive in the 1st half but we brought on Ryan McEvoy at half time and he made a huge difference. The defeat was probably a bit harsh on Harps tbh, but I'm not worried!

Quote Originally Posted by De Town View Post
    Yep I was at it. I have a bit of a summery in the Town forum. Harps were the better team by far in the first have and deservedly lead. Their goal was a shot from 25 yards that took a huge deflection and looped our keeper. We were much better in the 2nd half, and our equaliser came from a good run down the right from Cathal Brady I think, who swung a ball into the back post and McDonagh scuffed a shot in. Our 2nd came from a ball from the left wing that Hynes bundled in at the back post. Our 3rd was from a corner swung in from Lester that Deans met with a bullet header. In fairness, Harps defending for all 3 goals was shocking. Harps' 2nd goal came from 2 of our defenders, the Cronin brothers, crashing into each other and Walsh went through and slotted it in the corner. Harps piled on the pressure then but couldn't get an equaliser, hit the post along the way! Was a very entertaining game overall, much better to watch than the TV game last night. Harps were highly impressive in the 1st half but we brought on Ryan McEvoy at half time and he made a huge difference. The defeat was probably a bit harsh on Harps tbh, but I'm not worried!

Thanks for the report, good man, at least the Harps can take something away from the game, Its early days!

Yeah they looked decent tbh. McHugh missed 2 very good chances with headers in the 2nd half, one of which would have put them 2-0 up. If he starts scoring ye will be very good. Left back was a weak spot though.

Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Jock Williams?

Whats the Jock thing about?
    He's Scottish...

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    He's Scottish...
    The best Scottish striker in the league!!

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monkey9 View Post
    The best Scottish striker in the league!!
    We thought the same...
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    We thought the same...
    Me too - for his first 2 or 3 games - after that he was pure muck

Quote Originally Posted by CSFShels View Post
    No prizes for guessing which side's support is causing that.
    Pray do tell
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Harps conceded 3 in 14 mins, a shock to system for any team. What kind of game was it, what were goals like, mistakes crackers etc? Anybody at the game on here?
    Sounds familiar. Longford seem to be having an almost deja vú start to their season this year.

Quote Originally Posted by showgies View Post
    As far as I know there was no crowd trouble, the game was delayed to allow the Shams late-comers to arrive in safely. Aren't we nice and thoughtful up in Sligo. A good crowd from Shams, so fair play to them, just a pity we could hold on to our one nil lead.
    The trouble arose when your security had a load of fencing to keep Rovers fans in ready(ala longford a few years back) which actually impeded people gaining entry into that side of the ground, which then had to be taken down again causing a swell outside in which one girl got hurt and had to go to a+e, scrapes and bruises only thankfully. Basically shligo's matchday people can't deal with 1000/1200 or so visitors, they made a complete balls of it.
    Decent game could have gone either way plenty of chances for both sides, I missed the peno, heard it was 50/50. Hoops happy enough with a point from there I'd say.

238 Posts
    We really should have put the game out of sight in the first half, totally dominant but that's life.
    A crazy 20 minute spell cost us dearly but we'll learn and hopefully pick ourselves up again against Salthill next weekend.
    Decent atmosphere considering the poor crowd, Longford fans very quiet until they got the third though.

No supporters caused anything, shligo stewards can't bless themselves, so I'd hold back on accusations until you know the facts in future

I know enough to know a section of Rovers fans are pure dirt.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by showgies View Post
    As far as I know there was no crowd trouble, the game was delayed to allow the Shams late-comers to arrive in safely. Aren't we nice and thoughtful up in Sligo. A good crowd from Shams, so fair play to them, just a pity we could hold on to our one nil lead.
    To be honest it was a disaster from Sligo's organisational p.o.v. One bloke in a garden shed taking money for at least 800 hoops. We were in early and told them that they'd want to get a few extra lads in to help him out once the travelling fans finished drinking in the pub and came down, but that was just laughed off. Very shoddy. Buttimer who allowed both teams out on the pitch and to have a minute's silence before then deciding to delay the game 10 minutes or so with the players on the pitch, you'd think the cops could have let him know before hand, or he could have tried to suss it out a bit earlier. Good game of ball though, we missed our two best players (Sives and Twigg) a lot though.

89 Posts
    I know enough to know a section of Rovers fans are pure dirt.
    Good man yourself, and you obviously know that well enough to be sure of the fact that it was Rovers fans who caused this non-existent trouble at the game. Actually this could be quite fun if we're allowed do that..... I heard there might have been a fight in town earlier on tonight, I'm pretty sure it was Shels fans and Bohs hooligans engaged in a running battle. They were tooled up with knives too, yeah, sure why not.

Bohs got a dodgy penalty last night and shams tonight, great to see the word "new" worn out already for the season.

good crowd from shams, but a crowd ranging from 800 up to 1200 are well wide of the mark.
    500 tops

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CSFShels
    You're right. There were no prizes. Or anything else.

It's amazing how accurate some people's guesses are.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    To be honest it was a disaster from Sligo's organisational p.o.v. One bloke in a garden shed taking money for at least 800 hoops. We were in early and told them that they'd want to get a few extra lads in to help him out once the travelling fans finished drinking in the pub and came down, but that was just laughed off. Very shoddy.
    We do seem to have a problem accomodating a large away support. The issue with the Waterford fans in the Cup semi last year was (I think) the fact that there were so many more than expected, but surely it was known that there'd be a large travelling contingent last night and extra bodies would be needed to get them inside in a timely fashion? It's something our board should be aware of, tbh.

Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast