Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast

Thread: Limerick V Cork

420 Posts
    Not as if we played so well that people cant be dropped people should be dropped.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Not as if we played so well that people cant be dropped people should be dropped.
    If we got Paddy Purcell back, along with the signing of Willie John Boland and then gave Robbie Kelleher a few starts up front, then that would give us a lot more experience right through the spine of the team.

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    If we got Paddy Purcell back, along with the signing of Willie John Boland and then gave Robbie Kelleher a few starts up front, then that would give us a lot more experience right through the spine of the team.
    I hate to say it but one of the main problems we've had the last couple of years is that we can't depend on Purcell anymore because of injuries. I wish he could get back to full fitness and get a good run in the team but sadly every time he comes back from injury he seems to be out again soon after. Robbie deserves a run in the team but he wouldn't last 90minutes doing the work he did when he came on today. I think Tierney needs to be commended on his performance. He was one of the only Limerick players that looked of any quality through out the game and he worked his socks off. White also did well despite Limerick conceding 3 goals. Judge was ok in parts of the game. Outside of that i thought everyone else was poor. Clarke let the Cork defence boss him around way too much. He's better than what he showed today and is a big strong lad that should have caused Rogers loads of problems. Great cross by Stanley? and good finish by Kelleher.

We need another experienced centre half and midfielder end of story.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 03/04/2010 at 12:27 AM.

56 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    We need another experienced centre half and midfielder end of story.
    This. Very irritating game to watch today, especially in front of such a large crowd.

Quote Originally Posted by redcardrory View Post
    lets hope scully can go around and watch players in local leagues haven't seen him at any matchs to look at local talent that would give him the players he needs
    He needs players that have played League of Ireland before not more local junior lads that are going to have to be tried to see how they get on. Plenty of local players already in the team.

Gutless, absolutley gutless today, im disgusted with most of the players today and serious questions are being asked of them by fans.
    Same old story in front of a big crowd, Cork were ok but we made them look good. fair play to Robbie and Kav when they came on. Also fair play to the Cork fans who came in big numbers and who conducted themselves in a decent manner.

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Gutless, absolutley gutless today, im disgusted with most of the players today and serious questions are being asked of them by fans.
    Same old story in front of a big crowd, Cork were ok but we made them look good. fair play to Robbie and Kav when they came on. Also fair play to the Cork fans who came in big numbers and who conducted themselves in a decent manner.
    big time agreement here, as i keep my a r s e to the wall in case i get rode by redcardrory... how the hell could i come on here and defend the performance of the team today?certain players have opened to door rather early for an immidiate release.

who are these 35 members who get in for free rory?

46 Posts
    a couple of points

1) why are limerick not allowed look or sign any good pike players they have some players that would get in that limerick team do pike and limerick have some sort of agreement i think they do think back did limerick ever get any players off pike??

2) will JT be with the club much longer he can clearly play at a higher level big club will be knocking at he door soon and who would blame him for moving on

3) clarke is an excellant junior player but not LOI IMO thoughts?

4) john boyle is not a left full and is getting roasted week in week out not blaming john i blame scully.

5) lyons is wreckless and is very very lucky not to of seen red AGAIN yesterday a trwo footed tackle lucky to only get yellow. his nickname should be red

Quote Originally Posted by redcardrory View Post
    and by the way seniorblue scully is only hanging around untill his dream job comes up in dublin and even limerick fc members will tell you that we should hire a local boy who knows the players and can get the best out of those players too many yes men in limerick,and all those members of limerick who get in for nothing should start paying to get in for matchs i counted at least thirty five who got in for free that 350 euros lost
    Just thought I'd point out - Scully is possibly one of the best managers in Ireland, so no point in getting someone local who wouldn't have as much experience then him.

Also I'd like to point out to everyone, unlike most people - Scully didn't spend all of his budget during the Pre-Season, he still has enough to sign more good players, when he finds them.
    Last edited by Xile; 03/04/2010 at 12:25 PM.
    "Ask not what your club can do for you, but what you can do for your club"

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    a couple of points

1) why are limerick not allowed look or sign any good pike players they have some players that would get in that limerick team do pike and limerick have some sort of agreement i think they do think back did limerick ever get any players off pike??

2) will JT be with the club much longer he can clearly play at a higher level big club will be knocking at he door soon and who would blame him for moving on

3) clarke is an excellant junior player but not LOI IMO thoughts?

4) john boyle is not a left full and is getting roasted week in week out not blaming john i blame scully.

5) lyons is wreckless and is very very lucky not to of seen red AGAIN yesterday a trwo footed tackle lucky to only get yellow. his nickname should be red
    boyle went to limerick shur what players you on about this just another carew dig at pike

420 Posts
    Pike players get more money then Limerick thats why they don't sign for us.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kev08 View Post
    boyle went to limerick shur what players you on about this just another carew dig at pike

john boyle was not with pike when limerick signed him he was signed with nobody as it was in the summer when he agreed to sign for limerick and was working in dublin still is.

IMO pat mcgarry, hartnett, pike left full cleary is an excellant player who would walk on the limerick team. pa moloney is prob the best finisher in the town and id put him ahead of shane clarke look at his goalscoring record over 30 league goals for the last 4yrs id say now very strong good in the air 10 times better than hickey but he is not even been looked at you must wonder why.

Was very disappointed with our performance yesterday. Lots of the lads did not play anywhere near their capabilities and were passed by. I didn't think it was lack of effort though so some of the criticism might be a bit harsh. I didn't think Cork were great either, I remember thinking just before their 1st goal that we looked better organised and had actually offered more, was pretty sure we would even take the 3 points! Think the shed thought likewise with that worse than the Ramblers chant. Next thing it was 3-0 and I'm wondering how are we losing 3-0, didn't seam Cork were 3-0 better than us. I could only remember them having 3 crosses and they burried each one perfectly....that and the Peter White block. We looked very vulnerable under the cross against Longford and I thought at the time that our back 4 will be killed by anyone with a decent frontline. We met a Cork team this week that will put those away.

Its not the end of our season, Scully needs to pick the heads up and press on. Yesterday showed us perhaps we are not as good as we hoped but we still have players capable of chasing that 3rd spot provided we sort out the back 4. Don't think we can run out the two boys in full-back positions in a 4-4-2 like this for the season. Some sort of re-alignment is needed if we are forced to play midfielders at full-back.

Lots of Clarke's first time layoffs and flicks didn't find JT yesterday, thought he might have taken it on a bit more himself maybe.

All in all, we didn't perform and got caught on the hop by a team we should have been putting away.....and Cork will only get better I think.

Fair play to Cork for bringing the great crowd.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Both should go back to where they came from.
    Bit harsh on john boyle hes not a fullback.

[QUOTE=bluewhitearmy;1342355]Pike players get more money then Limerick thats why they don't sign for us.

Could well be....and I have no idea what the Limerick players or the better Junior players get. The common number you hear for Limerick is 50-100, now this might be completely false so fair enough. But the best junior players are hardly making millions more and I cannot understand why a good footballer if they have any motivation would choose to play at a lower level for a few extra quid if that is the case. Maybe some guys choose for other reasons and thats fair enough. I suspect that our best Junior guys in the LDL and DL are not as good as we think they are or unfortunately money is far too big a motivator.....which is a whole other message board. Either way, I'm happy to have players that want to play for the shirt. Isn't the morale high ground great

Someone mentioned Wayne Colbert in this thread already, gutted he's not in the squad this year. Always gave 110% and we could have used him yesterday.

Lets get some reality here. We're back to square one in relation to defence.Same as last season - no one playing in their proper positions,relying on PP to come back and save us is fanciful and as been said elsewhere he's not fit and wont play a full season.We need a full back 4 with LOI experience.There's enough local lads in the team and there's not enough quality defenders in local soccer anyway. Our midfield and attack have enough quality to cause most teams problems and dont need to be addressed straight away,if defence is sorted we can push on from there. Look at Rogers yeaterday,despite his age his experience was there for all to see and he cleaned up at the back,i'm afraid we slippped up there,he's the kind of player we should be lookin for if we're serious about pushing up the table and makin a challenge.
    If Scully has the money its defenders we need. As for questioning Scully's managment ,while he's got to answer for recent problems he's the best thats available, NOC ? yeah Wexford are really setting the league alight!
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

Quote Originally Posted by SeniorBlue View Post
    Typical crap out of you redcardrory, you look at Cork tonight and a very proud club who have bounced back from a very traumatic pre season and you look at their support tonight who applauded their players throughout the game. You as a Limerickman and the others that have now decided on the basis on two performances that Limerick are crap should not bother going anymore and definately don't comment on something you know nothing about.

Now i have no agenda here and i would bet i'm going to Limerick games alot longer than you but what i will say is that Limerick deserve support regardless of whether they are doing well or not, they are your local team, your city and you should support them. The club have made massive strides and i have criticised them in the past but for people to come on sayin they will never go again after tonight then fine don't but don't what they are trying to do, either support them or just stay off the site.

Tonight was bad and Derry was poor but its not always about winning and i believe for one that as long as the club is stable then we have a chance. Scully has done what he can wheeling and dealing but obviously does not have the budget of Derry Waterford Shels and Cork and for the time being we have to live with that and just get behind the lads. Its a pity Limerick people just turn out in numbers when results are going well and then decide they are not supporters when results go bad

I for one will be there for the next home game and any true supporter will be too, i support Limerick in whatever code, successful or not and the club deserves support if they are making the effort off the pitch.
    I agree with your post bar the part its not all about winning because it is all about winning, well done to robbie kel made a big differance when he came on.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    john boyle was not with pike when limerick signed him he was signed with nobody as it was in the summer when he agreed to sign for limerick and was working in dublin still is.

IMO pat mcgarry, hartnett, pike left full cleary is an excellant player who would walk on the limerick team. pa moloney is prob the best finisher in the town and id put him ahead of shane clarke look at his goalscoring record over 30 league goals for the last 4yrs id say now very strong good in the air 10 times better than hickey but he is not even been looked at you must wonder why.
    Hartnett isn't even the best midfielder Pike have and Cleary was with Limerick before and wasn't overly good. I would love to try out McGarry Moloney and Mullins.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by connie View Post
    Bit harsh on john boyle hes not a fullback.
    Ya good point apologies to John on that one.

420 Posts
    Also what shocks me is its clear to see Boyler isn't good enough at left back because its not his position would it really be hard to give Ian Storan a game?

Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast