Thread: Brazil in London

Brazil in London

any accomadation/pub/transport help from london lads?

fly in early tuesday to stanstead. Any alternative to stanstead express? any B&Bs etc near finsbury pk or anywhere near ground? dont fancy payin loads for a hotel im hardly gonna see. any tips, post here..

no alternative by train, only buses and they go to bethnal green and golders green, finchley road and a few other places like that. not too close to the emirates. But transport in london is pretty good in fairness. If you get the stansted express you can get off at totenham hale, and then get the victoria to finsbury park, and walk to the emirates. so if you were on an afternoon flight or mid afternnon flight you could still make the game in plenty of time. there are loads of "hotels" down around seven sisters road, basic accomodation but cheap.

Paul

Any Premier Inn / Holiday Inn near the ground?

Any pubs open late enough to get the early morning edition of the papers?

GF
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

going over monday Belfast/Stansted would anybody know any Hotels where i could
    get a late drink

Quote Originally Posted by been there View Post
    going over monday Belfast/Stansted would anybody know any Hotels where i could
    get a late drink
    Taught you were off the beer

Is Seamus going over with you?

Heading over Tues early with the usual gang,

Sure we'll meet up somewhere.

GF

Ya Seamus going he not sure of airports either Belfast or Derry.We are spoilt for choice
    down here.

Quote Originally Posted by been there View Post
    Ya Seamus going he not sure of airports either Belfast or Derry.We are spoilt for choice
    down here.

Since when is Donegal down

Staying in Jurys Islington

Flying out Luton tuesday morning, back Gatwick wednesday, €26 return.

As of yet no accomodation booked.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Paul

Any Premier Inn / Holiday Inn near the ground?
    snap..somewhere cheap and cheerful.. anyone know of any?

there is one and that travelodge crowd in kings cross which isn't far at all from holloway road/or finsbury park i.e. the emirates stadium. 10 mins on tube or so.

Do people want me to put up places? ive never obviouslly stayed in any of these but they are handy places to get home to ireland the morning after and also to teh game.

Islington/kings cross/finsbury park all handy areas, though none of them great areas ,especially for going out!!! Oneills leicester square afterwards would probably be the best spot....

I think I'll hold out on booking accomodation for another while.

I would like a place that will be convenient to where fans will be having a few pints post-match but obviously like the rest of yous I'm not sure of where that will be yet.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

446 Posts
    Noticed a few clues to meet-ups on the, er, YBIG forum. Nothing great accomodation-wise, other than what O'S has suggested.
    Google or similar, is yer friend here.

Heya lads, as Paul says, check out the hotels around Finsbury Park, Holloway, Green Lanes. Plenty there in a good location to the ground and finsbury Park tube.

229 Posts
    The Quays, Holloway Road

Whats the craic lads - handy enough for the Emirates?
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    The Quays, Holloway Road

Whats the craic lads - handy enough for the Emirates?
    10 minutes walk at most.

Out of the pub turn right. At Holloway Road Station, cross the road and you're there.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    10 minutes walk at most.

Out of the pub turn right. At Holloway Road Station, cross the road and you're there.
    Cheers.

The BibleCode Sundays are playing there after the game I believe.

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Although not really my patch anymore starting at the Archway Tavern (about 45 minutes walk from the ground there is one big long selection of pubs on the Holloway Road.)

Working down from there The Mother Redcap is in Archway and is a good old style London Irish pub & used to do one of the finest pints of stout in the city. The Quays is also a decent spot (although I think that Superhoops maybe drinking with Usain Bolt if he's making it to the gound in ten minutes!) it also charges Dublin prices. For the Goths amoungst us the Big Red is okay. If your skinto the Coronet is a big souless Wetherspoons effort that serves cheap beer and normally has at least a decent selection of ale. Tommy Flynns is one of the nearest spots to the ground and isn't to bad & despite being packed when you walk in if you perservere to the back of the pub you will find a spot to stand.
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat O' Banton View Post
    Although not really my patch anymore starting at the Archway Tavern (about 45 minutes walk from the ground there is one big long selection of pubs on the Holloway Road.)

Working down from there The Mother Redcap is in Archway and is a good old style London Irish pub & used to do one of the finest pints of stout in the city. The Quays is also a decent spot (although I think that Superhoops maybe drinking with Usain Bolt if he's making it to the gound in ten minutes!) it also charges Dublin prices. For the Goths amoungst us the Big Red is okay. If your skinto the Coronet is a big souless Wetherspoons effort that serves cheap beer and normally has at least a decent selection of ale. Tommy Flynns is one of the nearest spots to the ground and isn't to bad & despite being packed when you walk in if you perservere to the back of the pub you will find a spot to stand.
    Are you down for the match Mr Banton?? If you are I shall be in the 12 pins pre match.

The Quays is a great spot, but as far as I know they were closing at 11pm whereas the 12 Pins at Finsbury Park station is open till midnight.

Yep, going with the brat (cue diplomatic incident between Ireland & Brazil!) 12 Pins it is kidder.
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Babysis View Post
    The Quays is a great spot, but as far as I know they were closing at 11pm whereas the 12 Pins at Finsbury Park station is open till midnight.
    I havent checked but one of the lads from the band said they were on after the match, so cant be starting earlier than say 10pm? Id imagine it will be open later than 11pm somehow..