Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: Chris Turner - Which Rovers?

Quote Originally Posted by blackholesun View Post
    A good addition to any teams squad.
    Except Finglas, who released him. (and BTW he'd absolutely improve our current squad. He was training with Pats all last pre-season (2009) but went to Fingal as we couldn't offer him the right deal)

Bayly training with Rovers weeks and weeks ago before going to Blackpool on trial. He played very well against us in the two cup games last season. A good addition to any teams squad.

bhs
    MON in today's sun saying that he still wants turner to sign. So that deal is not dead to rovers obviously. That is some midfield you lads will have. Rovers also linked with stewart former linfield striker?

138 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    The deal's been polluted by Sligo's carry on anyway.
    Ohh indeed, how dare we question "the model club".
    Would you rather we bow or grovel when we hand Turner over?
    For once im glad that the board have finally got the spine to stand up to the FAI.

3,243 Posts
    Yeah, cos it could never be the case that Sligo fecked up here, could it?

Occam's razor - the simplesy solution is often the correct one. Either - the FAI, in liege with the reverse vampires who don't want to set out to away games before sunset, and also with the aim of creating a Leinster league to cut down on travel costs to aid Bohs, aided another Dublin side in order to further damage the good and virtuous Sligwegians by making up trumped charges against a player, or - Sligo fecked up and are getting what they deserve.

Why is that no-one here will ever, ever, countenance the possibility that their own club is anything less than perfect?

138 Posts
    All we can do is judge a club by its past activity as it is generally a fair indication of what the present situation and the future may hold.
    The past financial dealings of Sligo Rovers has been straight and consistent.
    We meet our players wages every week, we pay our Taxes and we even made a 6 figure profit last season.
    All this creates a trust in our board and the way it is run.
    Now shall we have a run down of Shams financial activity over the past decade?

Occam's razor - the simplesy solution is often the correct one. Either - the FAI, in liege with the reverse vampires who don't want to set out to away games before sunset, and also with the aim of creating a Leinster league to cut down on travel costs to aid Bohs, aided another Dublin side in order to further damage the good and virtuous Sligwegians by making up trumped charges against a player, or - Sligo fecked up and are getting what they deserve.

Why is that no-one here will ever, ever, countenance the possibility that their own club is anything less than perfect?

very fair point while the whole affair has increased my dislike of Shamrock,their manager and the player involved it also appears to me Rovers may not be beyond reproach and there is no point being blind to that..

3,243 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    The past financial dealings of Sligo Rovers has been straight and consistent.
    You don't remember two years ago - "We need E100k in two weeks to survive", followed two weeks later by "Thanks for the E100k - now we need E100k by the end of the season to survive"?

Aside from that, your post is nonsense. You judge a case by the facts, and the fact is that Sligo are the ones under investigation here, not Rovers. What Rovers' previous owners did is of no relevance to the facts here.

Can any of the Sligo fans delighted with the appeal tell me what they expect from it?what do you think your club has to gain from it?Is it worth the risk?do you even see a risk?In my opinion your club has just scored a big og and will get hammerd over the slightest thing now such as ticketing.
    Last edited by RoversHead; 16/03/2010 at 10:54 AM.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RoversHead View Post
    Can any of the Sligo fans delighted with the appeal tell me what they expect from it?what do you think your club has to gain from it?Is it worth the risk?do you even see a risk?
    Perhaps they heard as I did (from a source close to the Shams board) that MON told the porn star "I want to sign you but get out of that Sligo contract". Admittedly now the sh1t has hit the fan I suspect some amnesia among shams but while Sligo did appear to be at best naive in their dealings with Turner there is no way shams are whiter than white in this case and no amount of preaching about the errors of others (if only they gave a throphy for that ) will change that.

Marino im not interested,any Sligo fans on who are not just into a slagging match?

427 Posts
    Marino im not interested,any Sligo fans on who are not just into a slagging match?
    whoops, worried that someone might know something that went on at shams ? perhaps you were all too busy watching affairs at Dalymount to notice it I know it happens but my point is that shams are hardly whiter than white when the manager encouraged a player to get out of a previous contract - no rules broken (I think) but morally not great.

Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Perhaps they heard as I did (from a source close to the Shams board) that MON told the porn star "I want to sign you but get out of that Sligo contract". Admittedly now the sh1t has hit the fan I suspect some amnesia among shams but while Sligo did appear to be at best naive in their dealings with Turner there is no way shams are whiter than white in this case and no amount of preaching about the errors of others (if only they gave a throphy for that ) will change that.
    Oh Dear, more of the guessing game rather than hard fact.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superjohnny View Post
    Oh Dear, more of the guessing game rather than hard fact.
    I fully acknowledged that i did not hear it directly but it was from a Shams fans that has links with the board. As i said it was mentioned to me before the whole shams/sligo debacle blew up and was not seen as that important .
    feel free to believe/ disbelieve as you see fit but it has more substance that a lot of stuff in this thread.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Shamrock rovers fans when he signed for us: He's crap, deserves to be at a crap club like sligo
    Shamrock rovers fans when he left and signed for them: Great news, best midfielder in the league, great signing.
    Shamrock rovers fans when they realise he might not sign: Ah he's not worth it, Bayly's better anyway.
    Shamrock rovers fans if he Turner does sign for them in the end: Great news, best midfielder in the league, great signing.
    To be fair you could change the player & the clubs & the sentiment would be the same the world over, football supporters are fickle at the best of times & we've all been guilty of allowing changing situations to cloud our judgements & opinions.

Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Sligo announced before the Cup Final they had signed Turner, obviously using some of the ticket sale money to fund his signing on fee.

They signed him on an form that the FAI later refused to accept.

They then lost the Cup Final.

They then supposedly offered Turner a lower deal.

Cant really blame him for having second thoughts, can you?

bhs

Sligo announced before the Cup Final they had signed Turner, obviously using some of the ticket sale money to fund his signing on fee.
    Obviously, ya?

The finalist don't receive any of the proceeds from ticket sales. Surely the "cup specialists" know this? I don't know where ye are pulling this lower contract offer out. Ye supposedly then offered him a monkey dipped in curry sauce. Can't really blame him for having second thoughts, can you?
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

Can any of the Sligo fans delighted with the appeal tell me what they expect from it?what do you think your club has to gain from it?Is it worth the risk?do you even see a risk?In my opinion your club has just scored a big og and will get hammerd over the slightest thing now such as ticketing.Cloakroom ticketing that is.
    still no takers,the silence is deafening.

I can see no point in appealing the original decision. There is no benefit from it from what I can see. Only creating trouble for ourselves.

19. Thanks From:

Thanks Dong ,just curious as to why its being celebrated by some.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    I can see no point in appealing the original decision. There is no benefit from it from what I can see. Only creating trouble for ourselves.
    Anyone know the basis for the appeal ?

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast