Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Thread: Chris Turner - Which Rovers?

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rory H View Post
    Russell is not a Rovers player.
    I am totally confused but I would hate to think what John Russell thinks.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

89 Posts
    Looks like the Turner to Shamrock Rovers deal may be dead in the water after we today signed Robert Bayly.
    http://gdtww.wordpress.com/2010/03/1...-out/#more-143

1,081 Posts
    That'd be ironic. I wonder is he in danger of a signficant ban or something?. He could end up back at Sligo yet!.

We've appealed the decision on Turner being a free agent.

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Looks like the Turner to Shamrock Rovers deal may be dead in the water after we today signed Robert Bayly.
    You guys dont need turner now, that bayly lad is top quality player, was wondering where he ended up. He is a top signing.

We've appealed the decision on Turner being a free agent.
    Thats great news good to see we have the balls to stand up to the FAI after being threatened with an audit.

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Bayly's an emergency signing. ROvers were looking at any attacking players for cover, and he was about as good as it got (and considering he couldn't find a deal elsewhere, thats not saying much)

173 Posts

Talking

Your talking outta your hoop dodge
    MON had bayley as back up for the turner deal. he is imo the better player anyway so thats good
    the turner shenanigans has got too messy now so let him go back to sligo and earn his under/over the table payment.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Bayly's an emergency signing. ROvers were looking at any attacking players for cover, and he was about as good as it got (and considering he couldn't find a deal elsewhere, thats not saying much)
    like placid says this is a replacement for Turner, not attacking cover for Twigg/Baker. Turner deal became too messy, and it's no surprise that we sign Bayly the day Sligo decide to appeal the Turner arb. That's another few weeks before we could sign Turner, it's just not getting worth it. Could be a very bad mistake by Sligo if they lose the appeal

89 Posts
    Yeah, good one. Why is it Sligo fans on here seem to do nothing but come out with rubbish 'digs' like that, and then quickly "thank" each other for them as quick as they can?

The deal's been polluted by Sligo's carry on anyway, and I really can't see why they're going to appeal the decision. Unless they were doing so to frustrate him signing for Shamrock Rovers out of spite? I mean, best case scenario is whatever point of law they're (attempting) the challenge on is somehow ruled in their favour. What then? The initial arb already left them with getting their €5k. They're not going to get damages out of Turner, they could never possibly have gotten damages from Shamrock Rovers. There's 0% chance of a valid contract being upheld with Sligo and forcing Turner to play for them. No court or quasi-judicial body in the land would agree to that, so they won't be putting him in their team, or getting a transfer fee from another club for him. So what are they appealing for? If they feared the disciplinary action from the FAI mentioned in the original arb verdict, surely their books are clean and they've nothing to worry about?

Expect to see Turner sign for Galway in the summer when Connors has managed to get a few bob from somewhere to afford him.

Why is it Shamrock fans come on here with the moral high gound when they would still be homeless pi*sing around in the 1st Division if they hadnt got a Stadium and fanbase handed to them.

89 Posts
    Hey hey, there's another one boys, crack out the oul thanks button!

You're right though, thank god we got Tallaght 'handed' to us in 2009 (I await your next post where we're "rentboys" with much anticipation) otherwise we'd never have got out of the First Division in 2006. Top bit of deduction that, and it really has been illuminating to the topic at hand. I'm ever so sorry for claiming the moral high ground by suggesting Turner might sign for Galway and wondering why Sligo were going to appeal. That moral high horse takes some beating eh.

*goes off to find the ignore button*

No..no retort..not going to get into a tit for tat slagging match with ya...i dont know you im sure your a decent guy and your sticking up for your club as any of us would..its just i loathe your club and manager...Just to clarify my point..had ye not got Tallaght and the huge increase in attendances and the obvious financial implications that brought ye would not be in the position ye are in now to challenge for honours..i dont remember seeing crowds that big in Tolka and the various other places ive had to go to see your "home" matches.

as for Turner ye can have him.

Lads trust me, the Bayly deal is defo an emergency. He was only contacted after several others wanted more money. He only had his medical today. Rovers needed to sign a free agent, and Bayly fitted the bill. Ask the lad himself

89 Posts
    Oh I'm not saying it isn't a deal rushed through, but he's been rushed through to replace Turner, not to replace our lack of attacking options (even though he is an attacking midfielder). I can't see who the several others we contacted would have been though, there aint a lot left on the free transfer market that Rovers would have gone to before Bayly.

Fair enough, several others might be overstating it but at least two were approached (One I know pretty well)

89 Posts
    Out of contract League of Ireland midfielders I presume?

Ons striker, one attacking midfielder.

To be fair from what i've seen of Bayly he's a talented player & on the face of it Rovers appear to have done a nice bit of business there, whether or not he's there to replace Turner is another thing altogether though i'd imagine had the Turner deal gone through trouble free its a signing they'd have unlikely bothered with. Given the lack of striking options i'm suprised they havent gone for a striker, though i did see Thomas Stewart formerly of Derry City being mentioned in one of the papers this morning so perhaps Dodge is right and a few last minute deals are being rushed through, wouldnt suprise me at all as theres alot of pressure on Rovers this year IMO to deliver silverware & starting with one recognised striker isnt the smartest way to go about it.

Bayly training with Rovers weeks and weeks ago before going to Blackpool on trial. He played very well against us in the two cup games last season. A good addition to any teams squad.

bhs

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast