Thanks for that
Here is our two displays
http://www.forzarovers.net/apps/phot...otoid=72823172
http://www.forzarovers.net/apps/phot...otoid=72823175
Perhaps my expectations were too high but I was actually disappointed in our performance, particularily after we scored. Yes, the Shams keeper pulled off as much saves as Brush did, put I thought our ball retention, passing and overall play was disjointed. For most of the match Blinkhorn and Amond were isolated with very little support from the midfield. Our passing was very sloppy and I was disappointed our full backs didn't attack as much as I would have liked.
On the plus side, our defence kept Shams at bay and they never really looked like troubling us until the penalty. Ryan's shot deserved a goal, why doesn't he try this more regularily when he is in that position? Blinkhorn gave everything he had, it would have been great if he had got the winner at the end.
Nevertheless, we have got 1 point more of Shams than we did last season, roll on Fingal and a slice of revenge.
"Overwhelmed"
Thanks for that
Here is our two displays
http://www.forzarovers.net/apps/phot...otoid=72823172
http://www.forzarovers.net/apps/phot...otoid=72823175
Whatever about anything else Buttimer gave Shams a huge dig out lastnite, he was atrocious, it was like watching a game of bogball the amount of times he let them away with handballs aswell!![]()
The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
Muhammad Ali
Roy Keane is still a pri*k!
I thought we sat too deep after going infront and showed shams far too much respect. They were given far too much time to play the ball out of defence and we were over run in midfield until Donninger and O' Grady came on. Defensively, we were solid, especially Peers and Keane, and we definitely should have had a free out just before the free that led to their penalty kick!
Plenty of positives to take from the game but if Cook insists on playing Ventre in midfield, he will have to drop one of the strikers because at times it looked as if shams had an extra man in the middle, not including the referee of course. When we did turn their defense we looked threatening.
We have a decent squad and as the team starts to gel, I think we will pose problems for most sides in the league.
Also the FAI need to get their act together regarding their officials, the first weekend of a new season and the major talking point is the standard of the refereeing at games. Surprise surprise, the contraversial decisions went in favour the "big sides".
Any word on why Dillon didn't start last night?
Last edited by bingoballs; 07/03/2010 at 6:55 PM.
Why do the FAI consider it imperative that one of the big sides win the league, I mean that has been happening for decades and look at the state of the LOI.
I think a draw was a decent result. A solid start for us. We had the better chances no doubt, even if thay had a lot of the ball.
Thought Brushie was excellent all night, looked much better on the crosses than usual. He must have been working on them for pre season. Pity he wouldn't practice the kick outs!
Many's the time we ended up losing games like this last year so happy days.
we need more confidence badly. we went one nil up and closed up like a turtle. if its between us and fingal for 3rd spot my money is on fingal. it should not have been so hard sat nite considering we were the home team. we spent 80 mins on the back foot against a team some say we are better than. when we got the ball and used it sensibly and got at shams we were causing them real trouble but instead we took the option to hoof the ball as far away as possible as no one wanted the responsibility of trying to play it out of the back.
there was indeed positives as the back four looked very sturdy when shams came at us but we continually just hoofed it out allowing shams to come straight back attacking us. i still feel we need a leader in the centre of the park to take control of the game and slow things down and be a calming influence. we looked like headless chickens at times sat nite.
as for the ref im sick giving out about them clowns and every year it just goes from bad to worse. we can be a top 3 team if the team believes in itself more and realises the gulf between the top 2 and ourselves is not that big. we showed shams far too much respect considering we were at home and shams are not all that superior. the team as a whole were extremely commited and most played very well but we need to use our heads when have a lead and believe we can beat anyone. especially at home !!! looking forward to a good season all the same
I was right behind the free kick.
McCabe raised his arm above his head and stopped a goal bound shot from giving Brushie something to worry about - peno simple as lads.
As others have said though we should have had a free out in the build up to the free being given to Shams.
TBH of all the guys on Saturday night, I was not that convinced about McCabe. I suppose to be fair I dont want to knock the lad on his first game for us. He had a couple of moments alright, but then it seemed he found it hard to keep the ball - he seemed to be muscelled off it or gave it away almost every time. Saying that we gave the ball away too cheaply on ALOT of occassions on the night. Not sure who is likely first choice down the right. Dillon was there against Cliftonville and seemed to do a good job - admittedly against a weaker side.
Absolutely brilliant to see such a good crowd at the game. I hope we try and keep it up as there is a good buzz around and this has the makings of a reasonably good season.
mccabe looked very good when close to the defenders and cutting inside but over a distance he was getting caught for speed and strength every time.hard to judge him as he was a doubt for the game so maybe he was carrying a slight knock. i thought doyle apart from his goal was very poor. he gave away the ball every time and looked lacking in commitment especially in the dirtier work. he does have a great knack for popping up in the box at the right time though !!!
Sadly I couldnt make the game but reading the times it says we were lucky to get a point (no bias there then) and also had the line;
"The start of the game was delayed for almost 10 minutes as fans queued outside the gates in the Showgrounds’ biggest crowd for years of 2,800."
These dub journalists must not go to semi finals or euro games....we will need to be very good this season to beat the opposition, the refs and the facking media!!!!!!!!!!!!
Did anyone else notice, that Michael O'Neill stood and shook hands with all players at the end of the game (including our boys), all except Padraig Amond........or maybe I was mistaken.....
"Overwhelmed"
Good fan display Saturday fair play.
Champions 2010
Champions 2011
Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
Bohs are going bust.
He was on the bench by the end of the game did he venture back out on the pitch at the end to have a chat with the Shams players or just walk straight down the tunnel from the bench and hence no ignoring or running past O'Neill ?
Post match Interview with Cookie from about 13 minutes in here
http://www.rte.ie/podcasts/2010/pc/p...show080310.mp3