did many travel
i agree we need to up it for next week, but that draw knowing how fickle the limerick fans are has dropped our gate by 500 for next week. Sponsors which are being courted at this time are not gonna be impressed when we have spoken up for the club and the league only to be dealt an abortion of officials such as we had tonight.
sad thinig is we'll have them again in Longford, monaghan, galway, harps and athlone later in the season. chances of seeing those guys in limerick? 0%
my man of the match would have to be jeff judge i thought for a young lad in midfield his passing and tackling was outstanding.
the linesman decsion was unreal the ball was at least two foot from the goal line there players were in knots laughing and barely even celebrate they were shocked. i was at the chipper van on the far side for the pen decsion a complete disgrace he was hacked down you could hear the contact from were i was the ref was never going to give limerick nothing.
iv never seen pat scully so mad at a ref and the fourth offical mervue players were going through the back of limerick players at least 6 or 7 times 1 yellow card was shown.
on another thing that was a disgrace on sportsmanship mervue not giving the ball back to limerick instead playing into the corner for a throw in. limerick 3 times gave the ball back to there keeper.
Good teams don't allow Referee decisions to effect results 90% of the time, if your hoping to win matches based on referee decisions being spot on 100% of the time you will always be frustrated..... Take the chances when they come and these things will not affect result as often
Limerick were the better side, but couldn't find a winner. Mervue set out to defend and play long balls down the lines for their front men to chase. They created very little, but on our side, Limerick didn't have the guile to break them down.
Can't comment on their goal as I was down the other end. We were denied a definite penalty in the first half - you could clearly see the defender's leg catch him.
Most disappointing was that in the last 20 mins, we were unable to fashion any real chances for ourselves.
Lims should have been 3 up at halftime, Goalie for Mervue saved their bacon. Ball didnt look over the line to me but the linesman was 100% adamant. The officials were really bad for both sides, Denied lims a stonewall peno. Over 60 lims fans there very encouraging about 220 others
Disappointing result. Despite Mervue having the better of the opening 10-15 minutes, we came out and put some authority on the match. Clarke was excellent up front holding his man off, just a shame the ref didn't see it that way. There was so much confusion about their goal, nobody could believe it stood. Linesmen were a joke, I recall one offside decision in particular in the second half, where one of our lads was miles onside - a Mervue defender sticks up his arm, and about 10 seconds later the lino decides to flag.
To make matters worse, I nearly lost one of my boys when I was taking down my flag. Bad times
Good turnout. Fair play one and all.
Castletroy_Blue's infamous 2011 season predictions: Europe!
Time to stop blaming refs and linesmen too . Ya they were shocking but we had half an hour after they scored to get another. Bringing yellow on left wing was stupid Kelly clearly should have been taken off.
roll on next friday and the boys from the bogside
did not enjoy this visit to galway,their ...goal...was a joke no doubt about that however our overall performance was not good enough ,mervue will finish in the bottom two so early and all as it is this is two points dropped,all the moaning about refs and bad sportmanship wont make up for our inadequacies.thought clarke did well and delighted tierney scored cause we need him to have a big season,still need another front man to compete with the two who started.this particular eleven will compete but top 4?dont think so.great away turnout ,btw the burgers were shte.
hot dogs wernt too great either, but wait for the clullinary delights we have at jackman next week![]()
if you look at the 1st division now its almost like the premier division abnout 6 years ago we've got shels,cork,derry,waterford,harps all we're missing is sligo bohs and st.pats
Officials were awful and made some shocking calls but we should still be good enough to be beating Mervue either way, cant see anyone blaming Ryan for the ''goal'' defence had 3 chances to clear beforehand.
Still a bit rusty it seems to wont hit the panic button yet however why Jason and Yellow were on the bench made no sence to anyone. In fairness to Mervue they tried to play a bit and the game was ok to watch (which is a big complement in this Div) I reckon myself there was only about 150 at the game, majority were Limerick fans. Just my opinion mind.
Mervues balding number 2 should recieve a nice welcome when he's down in Jackman in a few months, such a funny guy.![]()
Thought we just about shaded it the other nite. We played well in patchs. The standard of referees in this country seems to be getting worse.
Was impressed with Judge,centre back partnership looked solid.
Surprised Lyons or Hughes didnt come on in the centre and move Kelly to right full.
Early doors and a decent draw.
Looking forward to Friday.....
Just to Clarify are we saying the referee had a poor game in this match......
Just a little bit.
I thought Tracey did well for ye, however you had enough chances to win the game. There is no point complaining about Mervue, what did you expect, that they would lie down. Good start for the new manager Tom French and Scully showed how big a jerk he is.