57 Posts
    Might start calling it the "Atrocious League"
    Kom Igen, FCK...

56 Posts
    Unfortunate that it's the Airtricity League and not League of Ireland but if there's any money in it for the League, who's really complaining? The fact that the site hasn't been uploaded in months bothers me though. No club site still has last years tables, why should the official league site?

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Might start calling it the "Atrocious League"
    Beat me to it (sort of) I was hoping to be the first to brand it the "Atrocity League".
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    If you listen to some here, the league should be done away with, so for an upwardly mobile company to agree to attach their name to it, then its fairly big

Perception sometimse means more than reality
    Agree. On the flipside, if I was a marketing executive with a service I wanted to portray as dynamic, progressive and efficient, the last thing I'd sponsor is a league where nobody knew who'd be in what division til 10 days before the season started.

500 Posts
    Sure it'd be no fun if there was any sort of organisation or competence involved!

164 Posts
    True. Wait til you see the First Division!

238 Posts
    picture of the launch on sportsfile.com

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/405451/

So has everyone done the Atricity League fan survey?

2,626 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    picture of the launch on sportsfile.com

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/405451/
    *thanks* for Georgia Salpa.

57 Posts

Sives: "What the hell is this?"
    Salpa: "It's called the Premier Division Trophy Craig - don't get too used to holding it - you won't be seeing it for a good few seasons"
    Kom Igen, FCK...

The prize money isn't even decided yet

.............. Certainly, this year's launch was markedly different to the more salubrious affairs of recent times. Managers weren't invited, while there were no press releases about prize money because the powers that be haven't decided whether they will reduce it or not.

FAI CEO Delaney defended the delay in an announcement until next week, in addition to arguing that the Abbotstown authorities were blameless in the Cork affair and an emerging controversy with respect to the transfer of Limerick FC's licence from one company to another, with Jack McCarthy, the original holder, claiming to be left in the dark.
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...-2082480.html?
    A transient, horrible, fantastic dream,
    Wherein is nothing yet all things do seem:
    From which we're wakened by a friendly nudge
    Of our bedfellow Death, and cry: "O fudge!"

Ambrose Bierce

personally am glad it was a "less salubrious affair" this season. Like all companies, the FAI are gotta be feeling the pinch a little and its better that the spend what money they have on things that will help the league than wasting it feeding dignatries, chairman and managers at a big lauch event. All the really needed was the press attention and they got that by announcing the Airtricity deal and drafting in some beautiful young ladies to poss with the trophy and players. Well done FAI for not wasting money and for getting such a visible sponsor on board.

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post

Sives: "What the hell is this?"
    Salpa: "It's called the Premier Division Trophy Craig - don't get too used to holding it - you won't be seeing it for a good few seasons"
    Haha! Uncalled for...

Airtricty League of Ireland would have been far better but what can ye do.... Did they have to completely change the logo too? I quite liked the one we had. Suffice to say, I'll be still calling it LoI anyway.

Call me an old cynic but:

The last League launch I was at was 4 or 5 years ago in the Law Library in Blackhall Place.There was no food or drink provided and I'd imagine the hall hire was cheap enough.

The norm at league launches is to provide lots of photo ops and interviews with managers mainly and players also, to provide plenty of copy and publicise the upcoming league.

No managers were invited this year for fear they might speak out of turn.

The D4 Berkley Court Hotel doesn't come cheap - but the rooftop where all the photos were set up provided an opportunistic backdrop of the Aviva Stadium
    A transient, horrible, fantastic dream,
    Wherein is nothing yet all things do seem:
    From which we're wakened by a friendly nudge
    Of our bedfellow Death, and cry: "O fudge!"

Ambrose Bierce

238 Posts
    Im just concerned about whether we have to get new jerseys, we already have the LOI logo sublimated into the jersey.

Quote Originally Posted by Buile Shuibhne View Post
    Call me an old cynic but:

The last League launch I was at was 4 or 5 years ago in the Law Library in Blackhall Place.There was no food or drink provided and I'd imagine the hall hire was cheap enough.

The norm at league launches is to provide lots of photo ops and interviews with managers mainly and players also, to provide plenty of copy and publicise the upcoming league.

No managers were invited this year for fear they might speak out of turn.

The D4 Berkley Court Hotel doesn't come cheap - but the rooftop where all the photos were set up provided an opportunistic backdrop of the Aviva Stadium
    Cynic!

The rumour that the managers werent invited due to them speaking out was just that, a rumour. Originally all they wanted was a player from each squad for the photos and the press. The chairmen were then invited out of courtesy. People will always look for something to throw at the FAI even when there is no substance to the claims.

The Berkley probably have a deal with the FAI as the new Aviva stadium will bring them lots of business so they are eager to work with them so I doubt it cost much. And I think the roof with the Aviva stadium in the background was the perfect place to take the pics as the new stadium is something football (and Rugby of course) can be really really proud of.

Quote Originally Posted by mr.untitled View Post
    christ lads, almost 3 pages of mostly moaning, dont like the name, why is it not .ie, amount must be embarrassingly small, Its a veiled threat from the FAI.... jaysus. Fact is, a league that is in awful shape has managed to get sponsorship in an economy that is in awful shape. that is a monumental achievement. A 'glass half full' approach is badly needed.
    I'll save the back slapping when we see the actual benefits to the league, thanks. At the moment, all we know is they've sold the name down the swanny for some undisclosed sum, of which the league might get zero net benefit.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    423 Posts
    Disappointed to see Airtricity have a massive front and back page spread on the Metro this morning that makes no mention of the league whatsoever. Not the best of starts, maybe they'll do something later in the week.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Disappointed to see Airtricity have a massive front and back page spread on the Metro this morning that makes no mention of the league whatsoever. Not the best of starts, maybe they'll do something later in the week.
    Would not hold my breath, but here's hoping.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Buller View Post
    Haha! Uncalled for...

Airtricty League of Ireland would have been far better but what can ye do.... Did they have to completely change the logo too? I quite liked the one we had. Suffice to say, I'll be still calling it LoI anyway.
    funnily enough everyone I spoke to about it over the weekend called it the "Airtricty league of Ireland" as well, hopefully people power will make that name stick !

PS maybe Sives did not recognise the trophy without the red and black ribbons on it

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast