Page 53 of 95 FirstFirst ... 343515253545563 ... LastLast
Results 1,041 to 1,060 of 1884

Thread: Player eligibility row

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by awec View Post
    The area was called that before the current Royal Family adopted the Windsor name.
    Yes and?

Quote Originally Posted by awec View Post
    Oh, we know you only too well Parker.
    Would that be the royal 'we'?

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    All NI-born (players) are Irish. I'm 100% Irish, just like you.
    Ha Ha, that's why all those 'Irish' unionists carry round Brit.passports and obsess about how British they are.....
    May a higher power help those on the mainland when they rock-up there.

There are plenty of dubious aspects about its application, and others worthy of debate, maybe elsewhere. Just to repeat a couple briefly- it looks odd that the Republic will happily offer citizenship to pretty much everyone in NI, but won't automatically do so for everyone born in the South.
    Every political institution in the South has reuniting Ireland as a major theoretical objective, even if we all know you won't see them for dust if it ever becomes even a remote posibility in practice.
    Where is this 'South' then??
    Perhaps the reluctance was due to a small country worrying about an influx of foreigners, which I wouldn't agree with personally, but perhaps there was reticence due to the issue of potentially accomodating a large no.of dysfunctional aliens with a fascination for bowler hats, red-white-and-blue flags and "walking the Queen's highway"....

Has FHTB banned you then? Just re-register. Ardee Bhoy will lend you one of his numerous aliases. Just remember to use the phrases 'paranoid planters' and 'medieval theme park' in every post and you'll be fine.
    Hmm, Hypocrisy & amnesia (again) Alert! Lol.
    Once again, the PI (Paranoia Index) needs tweaking. Not to mention that of accuracy!!!

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    I suspect the main reason most nationalists support the Republic is political.
    Not sure what my car has to do with it.
    The point I was trying to make was that most nationalists support the Republic because they identify with the Republic so our team as the team that is closest to their political beliefs of a United Ireland. It is not down to the fact that the NI side is not inclusive oir that Windsor Park is supposedly a no go area.

A team playing under the tricolour out of Dublin with A na b as our anthem is more in tune with nationalism even than one playing in green with a Celtic Cross on their shirts.
    To answer the above.
    Yes. You mentioned Irish plates.

The North's team is inclusive (What would be said if it was 11 Nats from W.Beal-feirste though?) if you believe the hype, but not sure the majority of fans are or ever will be....

And thus regardless of the shirt or badge GS, Nats.will tell you it's about the foreign anthem, flag(s), songs, ground location, name calling and a plethora of other reasons why they wouldn't want to be associated under the current arrangements.
    Last edited by ArdeeBhoy; 18/07/2010 at 10:16 AM.

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ardee Bhoy
    ]Ha Ha, that's why all those 'Irish' unionists carry round Brit.passports and obsess about how British they are...
    Surely even you can grasp that we're both Irish and British? It kind of follows from part of Ireland having been part of Britain for centuries.

Perhaps the reluctance was due to a small country worrying about an influx of foreigners, which I wouldn't agree with personally
    Perhaps it was a populist stunt by the then Government to create an impression of toughness on immigration, with the predictable effect of leaving many Irish born children potentially stateless? Still, glad you agree it wasn't exactly progressive.

but perhaps there was reticence due to the issue of potentially accomodating a large no.of dysfunctional aliens with a fascination for orange, red-white-and-blue flags and marching
    Er, perhaps not, given that the Republic is quite prepared to give any dysfunctional Orangeman (or me, or EG. or awec) a passport. One basically contradicts the other. The difference is really that offering notional benefits to millions of people in Northern Ireland doesn't actually cost anything, while providing equal citizenship for everyone born in Dublin does, or is perceived to.

The North's team is inclusive (What would be said if it was 11 Nats from W.Beal-feirste though?) if you believe the hype
    Eight or nine guys from Andytown would probably get the same reaction as eight or nine English in your side used to get, ie gentle ridicule. Ditto 11 Prods from Rathcoole, although I think most people would see this as a one-off without wider consequence if it happened in one game. I'm still fairly sure that more nationalists from NI will play internationally for us rather than you in the future, for reasons already discussed on these threads.

but not sure the majority of fans are or ever will be....

If you mean that most nationalists in NI will continue to support the South, I agree, that's fine.

And thus regardless of the shirt or badge GS, Nats.will tell you it's about the anthem, flag(s), songs, ground location and a plethora of other reasons why they wouldn't want to be associatedm under the current arrangements
    I think Mr Parker's and GSpain's rather simpler explanations are more likely. They support the Republic of Ireland because they always have, and probably their ancestors did. They don't need to justify not supporting anyone else. Equally, if some of them follow your lead and constantly stir about flags, anthems and the Boucher Road contraflow system, don't be surprised if your crude bias gets answered.

PS I think GS was wondering aloud about whether Dublin plates might increase the likelihood of his car being stolen or damanged if parked aroud the Holywood and Shore Roads near Glentoran and Crusaders. I'd like to hope not.

228 Posts
    Bit in The Independent today:

"[Kearns] will be represented by sports lawyer Gary Rice of Beauchamps Solicitors, and he has the backing of FIFA and the FAI, who will be represented by their legal director, Sarah O'Shea."

"The case will turn on CAS's interpretation of those FIFA regulations, 15, 16, 17 and 18, which relate to players' eligibility for representative teams," explained Rice.
    "And once CAS decides, it is final and binding. The only appeal after that is to the Swiss Supreme Court, and that is unlikely."

"
    Rice anticipates a one-day hearing tomorrow. "The submissions and documents have already been read and it will only be a case of the main protagonists speaking to clarify points," he said."I'm hopeful the verdict will be announced relatively soon, but that will be up to the three arbitrators, who are chosen from a panel of leading sports jurists worldwide.""
    Last edited by Predator; 18/07/2010 at 10:14 AM.

386 Posts
    Not sure what my car has to do with it.
    Exactly.

The point I was trying to make was that most nationalists support the Republic because they identify with the Republic so our team as the team that is
    closest to their political beliefs of a United Ireland. It is not down to the fact that the NI side is not inclusive oir that Windsor Park is supposedly a no go area.
    A team playing under the tricolour out of Dublin with A na b as our anthem is more in tune with nationalism even than one playing in green with a Celtic Cross on their shirts.
    They support the team for the same reasons as you. It's not a political statement, it's an expression of nationality.

I'm not trying to wind anybody up here btw, I fully support the right oif anybody from NI to consider themselves Irish and I'm delighted Shane Duffy, Darron Gibson et al
    have declared for us,
    It's obvious you are not trying to wind up anybody and I'm not trying to imply that you are. But you need to remember and understand that international football is not about politics or geographical borders or place of birth etc etc etc. It's about nationality and representing/supporting your nation.

446 Posts
    Surely even you can grasp that we're both Irish and British? It kind of follows from part of Ireland having been part of Britain for centuries.
    Except that even the biggest eejit in the North can grasp that the vast majority of the population belong to one nationality or the other. There's no mainstream aspiration to hold dual citizenship! Why not ask yer own family?? Lol.

As for the other statement, it exists now only in the Unionist Revisionist history handbook. It was hardly a willing arrangement or did you not notice the last 500 years or more of protest??

Perhaps it was a populist stunt by the then Government to create an impression of toughness on immigration, with the predictable effect of leaving many Irish born children potentially stateless? Still, glad you agree it wasn't exactly progressive.
    There's plenty of actions done by that government are now discredited but there's no major issue of 'statelessness' despite your 'concerns'.

Er, perhaps not, given that the Republic is quite prepared to give any dysfunctional Orangeman (or me, or EG. or awec) a passport. One basically contradicts the other. The difference is really that offering notional benefits to millions of people in Northern Ireland doesn't actually cost anything, while providing equal citizenship for everyone born in Dublin does, or is perceived to.
    Except there aren't "millions" in the North and the rest of that statement makes no sense!

Eight or nine guys from Andytown would probably get the same reaction as eight or nine English in your side used to get, ie gentle ridicule. I'm still fairly sure that more nationalists from NI will play internationally for us rather than you in the future, for reasons already discussed on these threads.
    Except the only people who could be remotely be described as such would be Paul Butler and perhaps Tony Cascarino. But they were both eligible for Irish passports and the former definitely has Irish heritage.
    Oh and you Brits are welcome to that eejit Lawrenson.

I think Mr Parker's and GSpain's rather simpler explanations are more likely. They support the Republic of Ireland because they always have, and probably their ancestors did. They don't need to justify not supporting anyone else. Equally, if some of them follow your lead and constantly stir about flags, anthems and the Boucher Road contraflow system, don't be surprised if your crude bias gets answered.
    Clearly you've not read the alternative 'reasoning' on OWB or even asked local nationalists why? And nothing to do with 'crude bias', just facts(eg. Have never mentioned local traffic arrangements!!) !
    Which would be confirmed If you ever got out and asked them?

170 Posts
    Except that even the biggest eejit in the North can grasp that the vast majority of the population belong to one nationality or the other. There's no mainstream aspiration to hold dual citizenship! Why not ask yer own family?? Lol
    You're (wilfully?) mising the point again. I didn't mention dual nationality. It's perfect possible for me, or anyone else from NI to have only British nationality, but clearly to be Irish. Part of Ireland is part of Britain, remember?

As for the other statement, it exists now only in the Unionist Revisionist history handbook. It was hardly a willing arrangement or did you not notice the last 500 years or more of protest??
    Actually, it exists in every Northern Ireland election result for the past 90 years. They supersede some protest in 1510, 1690 or 1169, you know.

There's plenty of actions done by that government are now discredited but there's no major issue of 'statelessness' despite your 'concerns'
    Are you sure? Many of the people affected (ie, those born to non-nationals in the Republic, and the parents) will likely be refugees, or unable to return to their own countries for economic or other reasons, and thus to qualify for passports there. Which must create the real risk that they'll be stateless. I'd be delighted should you offer some evidence that reassures my concerns.

Except there aren't "millions" in the North and the rest of that statement makes no sense!
    1.8 million people = millions, even to a pedant like you, surely?

It's quite straightforwardly explained. It doesn't really matter whether there are two million or 20 million in NI, if the Republic generally doesn't give them (including me, potentially) the vote, social services and the like, its costs are negligible. That's not to deny the importance of what it offers to people in NI or beyond, but that's more symbolic. Whereas the Southern electorate didn't seem to agree with you about the lack of a major issue locally - else they wouldn't have welcomed Ahern's populist stunt so enthusiastically.

Except the only people who could be remotely be described as such would be Paul Butler and perhaps Tony Cascarino. But they were both eligible for Irish passports and the former definitely has Irish heritage
    So what? I assumed they all had Irish lineage, but they're all English in the widely-recognised sense of having grown up and spent all/ most of their lives there, and probably in having British parents and British pasports to travel on before getting called up by the FAI. This isn't intended as a stir, just equating what happened in the recent past with your hypothetical future example. If a future NI side had eight or nine nationalists in it, or all 11 were unionists or from Stoke or Birmingham, no doubt the local media will try to create a story. But it's not that big a deal.

Clearly you've not read the alternative 'reasoning' on OWB or even asked local nationalists why? And nothing to do with 'crude bias', just facts(eg. Have never mentioned local traffic arrangements!!) !
    Don't be absurd. I've challenged that reasoning on this thread, never mind OWC, as well as reading and replying to local NI nationalist fans. On this issue I agree with Mr Parker, Newryrep and others as I've said. And with GSpain, whose experience of regularly watching games in and involving NI is rather greater than your own.

Er, you were at pains to detail the layout of South and Central Belfast even after being corrected by AWEC amd I, who've actually lived there. More importantly, you seem to be telling the local RoI fans why they support as they do. They're perfectly capable of explaining it themselves.

Oh and you Brits are welcome to that eejit Lawrenson
    With you on this one. Get that miserable b*gger off screen and I'll become a card-carrier for Fianna Fail and the SDLP.

52 Posts
    Jaysus, I hope Lord Widgery isn't chairing this tribunal tomorrow...

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dantheman View Post
    Jaysus, I hope Lord Widgery isn't chairing this tribunal tomorrow...
    I understand a senior FAI official will be patrolling outside the tribunal office with an Uzi, just in case.

603 Posts
    The following is a piece by Paul Rowan, in The Sunday Times.
    I was unable to find a link, so I've just typed it out.

"Daniel Kearns was released by West Ham Utd several months ago, has yet to find a new club and if he does, appears destined for a career in the undergrowth of professional football, a bit like Jean-Marc Bosman.

Like Bosman, the greatest legacy of his footballing career might lie in the courts as tomorrow the CAS in Lausanne hears the case of the IFA v Daniel Kearns, the FAI and FIFA, in what has up till now been known as Gibsongate. Should the CAS decide to uphold FIFA's position that Kearns is entitled to play for ROI, even though he and his immediate relatives were born in NI and never lived in ROI, then the ruling could have a huge impact on the future of football in Ireland and a particularly negative one for the team North of the border.

The IFA is not particularly bothered about Kearns, but they feel it is a case they can win, otherwise they wouldn't have spent tens of thousands in legal fees pursuing the case this far. What stung them more was the defection of quality players such as Manchester United's Darron Gibson, Marc Wilson of Portsmouth and Everton's Shane Duffy. As NI U21 manager Steve Beaglehole put it to The Sunday Times: "They were some of our most promising players. They stay with us and then they get cherry-picked when they are making a mark at their clubs. That is when the offer comes and inevitably it is the best players that are sought after."

What frightens the likes of Beaglehole is that NI, which has already been overtaken by ROI in terms of successfully qualifying for big tournaments, might become effectively an Irish B team should it suddenly become fashionable for young players in the North to defect to the South. The defections have inevitably been from the nationalist community so far and should the trend escalate, tentative efforts to rid the sport of sectarianism in NI, would be smashed to pieces. Kearns himself holds an Irish passport and always has done. But the IFA will argue that recently introduced FIFA laws on eligibility should bar him from playing for the country that he feels is his allegiance by birthright.

Under FIFA rules, any player who has a passport for a country can represent them provided they have some link to the nation they represent.

The rule was tightened in recent years to stop abuses, particularly by Brazilians who were popping up on international teams in the Middle East after being handed passports. In Duffy's case, his parents were born in Donegal, so the IFA did not pursue that case, but they believe that Kearns is a test case they can win because his relatives were born in NI.

FIFA has already rejected this argument and if the IFA are proved wrong in Lausanne - as most people think they will be - then an increasing number of young players will be tempted to follow Kearns' path. That both associations are playing for high stakes is evident by the fact that the FAI is sending over a highly regarded senior counsel from Dublin, Paul Gardiner.

The CAS is the final arbitrator in the matter and will hear the case in camera before reserving judgement."
    Last edited by The Fly; 18/07/2010 at 2:49 PM.

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Rowan
    Should the CAS decide to uphold FIFA's position that Kearns is entitled to play for ROI, even though he and his immediate relatives were born in NI and never lived in ROI, then the ruling could have a huge impact on the future of football in Ireland and a particularly negative one for the team North of the border
    Equally, it could have a more modest impact. Most obviously, many international footballers (including in NI's senior and particularly youth teams) are from outside the country. Ditto plenty of other countries, large and small. Even the Germans had a Brazilian ringer, England have struggled since they lost their Canadian.

Some top players from NI will turn out for the Republic instead, others from our youth sides will fall out of international football completely. I'm not denying that the net effect will be weaken the NI side, but to repeat there are reasons why nationalist-background players in future will continue to play for NI. Broadly, the team's easier to get into, any international football may be thought better than none (especially if it increases the chance of professional football in Britain or beyond), future players may see things differently from current fans and so on.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve Beaglehole
    They stay with us and then they get cherry-picked when they are making a mark at their clubs. That is when the offer comes and inevitably it is the best players that are sought after
    This is a bit silly. SB mades it sound like the FAI send round the child-catcher from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. In practice they pick the players they consider the best, the most likely to progress to the senior team. If Dogarse and his boss want to stop this happening, they could have made an effort to reach some bilateral agreement with the FAI. That neither side will choose anyone who's reached 18 and played adult representative games for the other.

Quote Originally Posted by Paul Rowan
    What frightens the likes of Beaglehole is that NI, which has already been overtaken by ROI in terms of successfully qualifying for big tournaments
    You what? They matched NI's record of three finals in 1994 and have qualified for one out of eight since. We're talking mediocre and more so here, not contrasting success and failure.

might become effectively an Irish B team should it suddenly become fashionable for young players in the North to defect to the South
    Translation: it might be fashionable for a small number of very good players who are good enough to reasonably expect full international football for either and to have a choice. Since, almost by definition, there are few such players at any given time, it won't become fashionable.

For many people (including some comedians on this forum), NI is already a B team on the slightly tenuous grounds that it's short and mid-term record is weaker. Fine, but by the same reasoning the Republic regularly fielding five or six players from Britain makes them a B team too.

I recognise that some nationalist-background players might prefer no international games at all to playing for NI. Fine, their loss.

The defections have inevitably been from the nationalist community so far and should the trend escalate, tentative efforts to rid the sport of sectarianism in NI, would be smashed to pieces
    Ill-informed nonsense. Even if by 'anti-sectarianism smashed' all he means is 'more than the odd nationalist plays for the South', I've explained above why this is unlikely to have an enormous effect. The NI team will continue to include nationalists, while most fans in nationalist NI will go on supporting the Republic. Which isn't sectarian either. The intent (and effect) of Football for All is to make the atmosphere at games and arround more welcoming, not to convert anyone.

if the IFA are proved wrong in Lausanne - as most people think they will be - then an increasing number of young players will be tempted to follow Kearns' path
    There's nothing stopping them now, up to a competitive full international cap, or having already changed once.
    Last edited by Gather round; 18/07/2010 at 2:09 PM.

446 Posts
    It's perfect possible for me, or anyone else from NI to have only British nationality, but clearly to be Irish. Part of Ireland is part of Britain, remember?
    Except yer own family!
    That aside, you are either Irish or British, not both. A
    s we keep repeating the latter don't want to be Irish. Even the dogs on the street know that!
    As awec said they barely acknowledge Paddy's Day. Which is fine.

And part of Ireland is in the dregs of the British, er, 'empire' as was. Britain ends, in your case, at Cairnryan!

Actually, it exists in every Northern Ireland election result for the past 90 years.
    Created so specially for the unionists. With no account taken for the indigenous population.
    Yawn.

Many of the people affected (ie, those born to non-nationals in the Republic, and the parents) will likely be refugees, or unable to return to their own countries for economic or other reasons, and thus to qualify for passports there.
    I'd be delighted should you offer some evidence that reassures my concerns.
    Or you could find it yourself if you were really that bothered, though I doubt your 'concerns' are in the remotest relevant.

1.8 million people = millions, even to a pedant like you, surely?
    Said the Hypocrite to the bishop.

It's quite straightforwardly explained.
    It doesn't really matter whether there are two million or 20 million in NI, if the Republic generally doesn't give them (including me, potentially) the vote, social services and the like, its costs are negligible.
    That's not to deny the importance of what it offers to people in NI or beyond, but that's more symbolic.
    Whereas the Southern electorate didn't seem to agree with you about the lack of a major issue locally - else they wouldn't have welcomed Ahern's populist stunt so enthusiastically.
    If you say so. Precious few others are currently making it an issue. And again you don't mention for any reasons of concern about the latter!

I assumed they all had Irish lineage, but they're all English in the widely-recognised sense of having grown up and spent all/ most of their lives there, and probably in having British parents and British pasports to travel on before getting called up by the FAI.
    Presumably you are unaware of the concept of Diaspora??
    Being born outside your own country does not automatically mean you want to accept citizenship of the host!
    90% of them have full Irish heritage in the 'purest' sense, which I only mention as you seem to think this is an issue!

I've challenged that reasoning on this thread, never mind OWC, as well as reading and replying to local NI nationalist fans. On this issue I agree with Mr Parker, Newryrep and others as I've said.
    More importantly, you seem to be telling the local RoI fans why they support as they do. They're perfectly capable of explaining it themselves.
    Amazingly enough you only think you've 'agreed' with them, whereas their replies don't really support this eccentric claim. Still if you want to think so, fine. Not seen you disagreeing with any such comments on OWB.

And not telling Nats from the North anything. Just know rather more about their views and mindset than your goodself and am sure they'd tell me if it was anything wrong??

446 Posts
    They matched NI's record of three finals in 1994 and have qualified for one out of eight since. We're talking mediocre and more so here, not contrasting success and failure.
    Except ours are in living memory. Yours are 26 years and counting by the time of 2012, though recognise, if there are play-offs for 2016 in its current ridiculous format, even the North could make those?

Fine, but by the same reasoning the Republic regularly fielding five or six players from Britain makes them a B team too.
    I recognise that some nationalist-background players might prefer no international games at all to playing for NI. Fine, their loss.
    A B team for who?? Like said upthread, they're all Irish citizens FFS. With that mindset, who can blame Nats for the latter.....

603 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    Except yer own family!
    That aside, you are either Irish or British, not both.
    err.............Good Friday Agreement Constitutional Issues part 1:

The participants endorse the commitment made by the British and Irish
    Governments that, in a new British-Irish Agreement replacing the Anglo-
    Irish Agreement, they will:

...(vi) recognise the birthright of all the people of Northern Ireland to
    identify themselves and be accepted as Irish or British, or both, as they
    may so choose, and accordingly confirm that their right to hold both
    British and Irish citizenship is accepted by both Governments and would
    not be affected by any future change in the status of Northern Ireland.
    Last edited by The Fly; 18/07/2010 at 2:40 PM.

446 Posts
    Fair enough Fly, but how many people actually have both?
    Heard it was originally around 10k, around half of which was 'business users', though would be amazed if that number hadn't, er, rocketed at some point, before the crash.

170 Posts
    That aside, you are either Irish or British, not both
    Sorry, this is just nonsense. I'm quite clearly, self-evidently both British AND Irish, however difficult that is for your Ladybird book of Cartoon Provo cliches to understand.

Created so specially for the unionists. With no account taken for the indigenous population.. Yawn
    Correct me if wrong, but I'm fairly sure the nationalists get a vote too. Of course I accept the way the border's drawn is unfair, but if there wasn't one at all as you'd prefer, it would be more so. But don't let me disturb your beauty sleep.

Or you could find it yourself if you were really that bothered, though I doubt your 'concerns' are in the remotest relevant
    Will do. I have in the past actually, I remember a doctor who was working in a Dublin maternity ward at the time telling me of the large proportion of births there to mothers from west Africa and eastern Europe who would struggle to pass on their own nationality on to their kids.

Apart from being relevant in themselves, my concerns are a response to your predictable, cliched, factually wrong assumption that the Republic offers equally to everyone in Ireland. It doesn't, so don't assume it's a clincher whatever the argument.

Presumably you are unaware of the concept of Diaspora?? Being born outside your own country does not automatically mean you want to accept citizenship of the host! 90% of them have full Irish heritage in the 'purest' sense, which I only mention as you seem to think this is an issue!
    Now you're sending me to sleep. For what it's worth I assumed 100% of them had full Irish heritage, whatever in the purest sense means- maybe they've had some ritualistic Catholic bar-mitzvah or something? It's only an issue in the terms you raised it- all these people are eligible to play, but if a lot of them come from, or give support to, another country, it might create a nine day wonder in the media.

Amazingly enough you only think you've 'agreed' with them, whereas their replies don't really support this eccentric claim. Still if you want to think so, fine
    The posters I quoted have made clear that their unwillingness to support NI has little or nothing to do with the choice of flag or anthem, the location of Windsor, or similar factors. They support the Republic of Ireland. I mean, I'm not making any particularly extravagant claim here.

Not seen you disagreeing with any such comments on OWB
    Try the thread title referring Daniel Kearns, unless it's been deleted. I'll admit it was hard going- FHTB is almost as hard to have a rational discussion with as you are.

And not telling Nats from the North anything. Just know rather more about their views and mindset than your goodself and am sure they'd tell me if it was anything wrong??
    Sharing their broad view (albeit at an exaggerated, cartoonish extreme) doesn't necessarily make you any better informed on it than I am. But to repeat- I'm not making any great claim, just judging people from what they post here.

Except ours are in living memory. Yours are 26 years and counting by the time of 2012
    Admittedly I'm a gnarled veteran, but my memory of 1982 and 1986 is quite vivid thanks (as it is of 1988, 1990 and 1994). Like I said, more recently we're comparing mediocre and more mediocre.

though recognise, if there are play-offs for 2016 in its current ridiculous format, even the North could make those
    Glad we agree on something. I'm still not convinced 24 teams will happen, let's see how Poland/ Ukraine goes.
    Last edited by Gather round; 18/07/2010 at 2:58 PM.

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fly
    ...(vi) recognise the birthright of all the people of Northern Ireland to
    identify themselves and be accepted as Irish or British, or both, as they
    may so choose, and accordingly confirm that their right to hold both
    British and Irish citizenship is accepted by both Governments and would
    not be affected by any future change in the status of Northern Ireland
    Indeed. Although of course, my clear both-Irish-and-Britishness long predates 1998. As I said, I'm a gnarled veteran. Just to stress the point- I don't need [Republic of] Irish citizenship to be Irish. So the figure for those who've applied for joint citizenship, although interesting generally, is irrelevant to how Irish I am.

446 Posts
    I'm quite clearly, self-evidently both British AND Irish, however difficult that is for your Ladybird book of Cartoon Provo cliches to understand.
    Ha ha. Well if yer the benchmark, then both countries should apply to disband immediately!

If you can find vast swathes of people who claim similar I'd be amazed. My experience of most unionists is that they are 'Irish' by default having been born on the island, but don't want anything to do with the vast majority of the population or their vision of idenity or culture, including Prods from outside the osc who they see as 'selling out'.
    Taken from the same book of 'cliches', you refer to, in the usual paranoid manner.

Correct me if wrong, but I'm fairly sure the nationalists get a vote too. Of course I accept the way the border's drawn is unfair, but if there wasn't one at all as you'd prefer, it would be more so. But don't let me disturb your beauty sleep.
    WTF are you on about?? Everyone who's half-wise knows the whole thing was gerrymandered.

I have in the past actually, I remember a doctor who was working in a Dublin maternity ward at the time telling me of the large proportion of births there to mothers from west Africa and eastern Europe who would struggle to pass on their own nationality on to their kids.
    Apart from being relevant in themselves, my concerns are a response to your predictable, cliched, factually wrong assumption that the Republic offers equally to everyone in Ireland.
    Pomposity Alert!
    Very touching, but hardly relevant now.
    Your patronising concerns are wholly false as you think it's a useful issue to support your views against the Irish state, you now 'claim' to be part of above??

It's only an issue in the terms you raised it- all these people are eligible to play, but if a lot of them come from, or give support to, another country, it might create a nine day wonder in the media.
    Actually you raised the issue, implying they weren't Irish because they had lived elsewhere. presumably more irony?

The posters I quoted have made clear that their unwillingness to support NI has little or nothing to do with the choice of flag or anthem, the location of Windsor, or similar factors.
    Except you said it. And am fairly confident those are all partial issues, but then you haven't presented any evidence from any nationalists!
    We await your response with interest.

Try the thread title referring Daniel Kearns, unless it's been deleted.
    Yer the one saying how wonderful OWB are. Go on there and convert them instead?? Enough others have tried!

Sharing their broad view doesn't necessarily make you any better informed on it than I am.
    Why not let them be the judge but am fairly confident on this one I'm right and you're wrong! Lol.

Admittedly I'm a gnarled veteran, but my memory of 1982 and 1986 is quite vivid thanks (as it is of 1988, 1990 and 1994).
    Hmm. Hardly in keeping with the consistency in your arguments on here.....
    Especially, with regards to amnesia!

38 Posts
    ArdeeBhoy seems to be failing to grasp the most basic of things if he thinks that you are either Irish OR British.

Everyone born on this island is Irish. Part of the island is also British.

Just like anyone born in Scotland is Scottish and British. They are not Scottish OR British.

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Fly View Post
    The following is a piece by Paul Rowan, in The Sunday Times.

Under FIFA rules, any player who has a passport for a country can represent them provided they have some link to the nation they represent.

The rule was tightened in recent years to stop abuses, particularly by Brazilians who were popping up on international teams in the Middle East after being handed passports. In Duffy's case, his parents were born in Donegal, so the IFA did not pursue that case, but they believe that Kearns is a test case they can win because his relatives were born in NI.
    Terrible research by the journalist.

25. Thanks From:

Page 53 of 95 FirstFirst ... 343515253545563 ... LastLast