Page 91 of 95 FirstFirst ... 41818990919293 ... LastLast
Results 1,801 to 1,820 of 1884

Thread: Player eligibility row

1,825 Posts
    Get out for that one.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Since this thread began I have come to the understanding that when FIFA refer to association territory they are not referring to the the area of jurisdiction for the association. The eligibility of Bruce in 2006 confirms this interpretation. Even if the Channel Islands are under the English FA, they do not reside inside the territory of the English FA.
    Hmm, yeah I see your point. I was using the Bruce example to show national selection relies on more than just geography but I see it can be argued the other way too.

It seems a bit silly that FIFA would allow a loophole like that (Pitman doesn't appear to have any connection to Wales) but I guess like anything else they'd probably take the path of least resistance.

Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    I wonder why the channel islands dont have a fifa recognised team? Surely they have as much claim as the faroe islands for example.
    The islands individually would be too small - as far as I know, the only international footballers they've produced are Le Saux and Le Tissier, and Le Saux went to school in England. They're pretty protective of their sovereignty so they're probably reluctant to join together for a sports team like the Faroes.

2,796 Posts
    An Irish friend of mine played for the Channel Islands in the World Island Games. Just thought I'd throw that in.

603 Posts
    FFS, if anyone wants to pursue this fascination with the channel islands further - Bergerac is repeated daily on the 'Alibi' channel!

Here's a taster to get your mouth watering.....

Last edited by The Fly; 03/10/2010 at 8:58 PM.

603 Posts
    Secondly, in an effort to get the thread back on track, (though I appreciate that may not be wholly well received ), the IFA must be applauded for one act, namely, prohibiting the appearance of this 'harmless' little banner at future Northern Ireland internationals.

Last edited by The Fly; 03/10/2010 at 9:49 PM.

228 Posts
    Whoever came up with that banner must be a genius. Bet they're raging they can't show off their wit.

haha that's pretty good actually

Hand of Prod was funnier though.

1,928 Posts
    Is that a green UJ, cast off in a heap?

In general I'd agree, these Nordie kids who support the Republic should never forget who owns them.

170 Posts
    At least the team would play for (the) Jersey
    No need to be Sarky.

1,825 Posts
    Is that the most amount of jokes ever told about the channel islands?
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Quote Originally Posted by The Fly View Post
    Secondly, in an effort to get the thread back on track, (though I appreciate that may not be wholly well received ), the IFA must be applauded for one act, namely, prohibiting the appearance of this 'harmless' little banner at future Northern Ireland internationals.

Hadn't heard that. I suspected it wouldn't survive a campaign -but fair play to the IFA for getting in on the ground floor on that. It'll likely make it's way to away games anyway but that's just bigger chiropractor bills for the bigger eejit who hauls it there.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

228 Posts
    In general I'd agree, these Nordie kids who support the Republic should never forget who owns them.
    Well, this is it, isn't it?

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    The islands individually would be too small - as far as I know, the only international footballers they've produced are Le Saux and Le Tissier
    Trevor Wood- from Jersey, one cap for NI in 1995.

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    Hadn't heard that. I suspected it wouldn't survive a campaign -but fair play to the IFA for getting in on the ground floor on that. It'll likely make it's way to away games anyway but that's just bigger chiropractor bills for the bigger eejit who hauls it there
    So it will survive the campaign then? Probably joined by others in similar vein, I expect
    Last edited by Gather round; 04/10/2010 at 10:50 AM.

...I thought it fairly obvious I meant "at Windsor" as there's relatively little the IFA can do about what's brought into grounds elsewhere. Either way, as I've pointed out elsewhere it's in pretty poor taste. But by all means -fly the thing where they'll let ye, go nuts, it's only ye it reflects badly upon.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

170 Posts
    ...I thought it fairly obvious I meant "at Windsor" as there's relatively little the IFA can do about what's brought into grounds elsewhere. Either way, as I've pointed out elsewhere it's in pretty poor taste. But by all means -fly the thing where they'll let ye, go nuts, it's only ye it reflects badly upon.
    Of course, but as its purpose is mainly to get on TV and irritate RoI fans, it doesn't really matter whether it shows home or away.

As I've pointed out on this and similar threads, the reaction to the FAI picking Northern players (by both IFA and fans) looks hysterical, even vindictive. That said, the banner's just a gag, neither racist nor particularly tasteless. You're overreacting- and little point getting too upset, I reckon this may become the norm.

It clearly is tasteless because of its child molestation "double entendre". I'm not offended or even bothered about it though.

Back on topic (channel islands). Ireland "B" international Daryl Clare was born in Jersey according to wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daryl_Clare

Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    As I've pointed out on this and similar threads, the reaction to the FAI picking Northern players (by both IFA and fans) looks hysterical, even vindictive. That said, the banner's just a gag, neither racist nor particularly tasteless. You're overreacting- and little point getting too upset, I reckon this may become the norm.
    I'd scarcely say I'm over-reacting. I just said it was in poor taste and I stand by that. I'd not bother getting too offended by it or anything -as you point out it's not racist (though I never alluded it was), it's a gag ...a kiddy-fiddler gag, and a 20' x 2' kiddy fiddler gag at that. I'd suggest raising yeer standard but I'd be affeared ye might just get another well dodgy banner done up. ;-)

Trevor Wood- from Jersey, one cap for NI in 1995.
    Legend...

170 Posts
    as you point out it's not racist (though I never alluded it was), it's a gag ...a kiddy-fiddler gag, and a 20' x 2' kiddy fiddler gag at that. I'd suggest raising yeer standard but I'd be affeared ye might just get another well dodgy banner done up. ;-)
    I believe the IFA said it was racist. But what do you expect from them, eh?

131 Posts
    I believe the IFA said it was racist. But what do you expect from them, eh?
    I actually find it quite funny. Don't see anything in it that's even remotely offensive.

Page 91 of 95 FirstFirst ... 41818990919293 ... LastLast