Thread: Athlone Town on thursday night

Athlone Town on thursday night

Any one looking forward to our run in the Leinster senior cup starting with athlone on thursday in the Carlisle at 7.45? Played well last night in the second half so hopefully we can get a win under our belts.
    Wonder what team will he play too?
    www.braywanderers.ie (Club)
    www.braywanderers.com (supporters club)
    Sharks are as tough as those football fans who take their shirts off during games in England in January, only more intelligent.

kane doyle webster knight tyrell tuohy shields kavanagh massey oneill kelly

that would be my team for 2nites game

If everyones fit i'd go
    Kane
    Doyle Webster Byrne Knight
    Mulroy Shields Massey Tyrell
    O'Neill Barrett/Franco
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

any feed back on tonights game.. result

Won 2-1
    Shane O'Neill got the first, they got a penno to make it 1-1.
    Jake Kelly got the winner about 3 minutes from time.
    Team: Kane, Doyle, Shane O'Connor, Knight, Massey, Shields, David O'Neill, Dean Zambra, Kelly, Shane O'Neill, Mulroy.
    Bray Wanderers: So good they were relegated twice (and still stayed up).

Bray won a tight game 2-1. Played well in patches but Athlone will be disapointed to not have taken us to extra-time. They were on the attack when the ref blew the final whistle as well (though I was looking away at the time). After the pre-season defeats I'm glad that the lads got a win under their belts, can't hurt!

30 Posts
    Yep, Brian McCarthy was just striking the ball as the whistle went! Disappointing, we were alseep for the
    first and last 5 minutes and Bray pounced. Ref decisions were dodgy enough for both sides! I thought
    we lost the game in midfield though, little or no impact.

Congrats to Bray though, ye had the killer instinct that we were missing. Brutal crowd but as usual the
    people who were there were sound.
    Last edited by Ash; 26/02/2010 at 7:36 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post

Congrats to Bray though, ye had the killer instinct that we were missing. Brutal crowd but as usual the
    thanks.. bray had a killer instinct,, jaysus they are very strange words to be using for a bray team, but lets hope we will use them again this year, good to get a win before the league starts..

30 Posts
    Yeah, perhaps killer instinct was a bit too complimentary ... but ye took 2 chances when we were asleep and than was the difference!

Was a good hard game of football, well at least the last 30 minutes in which i seen, lets see if we can win this cup as we are a cup team, or will eddie play a weaker team when the season is in full flow?
    www.braywanderers.ie (Club)
    www.braywanderers.com (supporters club)
    Sharks are as tough as those football fans who take their shirts off during games in England in January, only more intelligent.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Yep, Brian McCarthy was just striking the ball as the whistle went! Disappointing, we were alseep for the
    first and last 5 minutes and Bray pounced. Ref decisions were dodgy enough for both sides! I thought
    we lost the game in midfield though, little or no impact.

He struck it wide though! Bray had all the possession but still managed to look a bit suspect at the back. Good luck to Athlone for the season ahead.
    All you zombies tweet tweet tweet.

The scoreline was tight but Bray were very comfprtable throughout i thought, Athlone caused little or no trouble in the 2nd half to Kanes net, can't remember him having a save of note to make. O'Neill, Kelly and Mulroy all linked up really well and had plenty of good chances to finish the game off earlier. I was pretty much in line with the winner and i thought O'Neill was offside when he 1st got the through ball. Good to get a win under our belts even if it was the LSC.