Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Limerick Division 1B Cup 2009/2010

Park 1-2 Pike B

What can I say about this lads??
    An unbelievable effort by every single player, and without a shadow of a doubt the most satisfying trophy I've ever had the pleasure of lifting. It was a superb performance by everyone.

The game itself was a good one, if not the most pleasing football, it was high tempo for 100 minutes and both teams battled hard. Park played some nice stuff in the first half, but created only one real chance and Stuie pulled off a super save at his far post. We had a wonderful opportunity to take the lead, but Shane Considines effort went just over. Then with about ten left in the half, the excellent Dom Bourke(my man of the match) won a header in midfield, I flicked it on and Nabser pulled out a thunderbolt from 20 yards. Keeper no chance at all.
    Second half we were well on top but Park always carried a threat and won a pen with the linesman giving it. They put it away and the game went to extra time.
    We won a free in the first half and Frank Hogan with the aid of a slight deflection(winkwink) got our second. We held out for the win and needless to say we had a few shandy's in the club after..

Considering we were missing Cian Hannah, Shane Constable and Danus 'The Terminator' Bokens, and had Michael Geary go off after ten minutes, the character shown and the guts displayed by every man made me very proud of our boys. Well done to the Golden Nugget and all of the people who made this a memorable night and season for the Hoops second team..

Let the hoops roll on and on....

Our excellent management team:
    Dober

Duffy

Mark Noonan
    Last edited by Zizou; 08/05/2010 at 2:11 PM.
    The Beautiful Game

Quote Originally Posted by serpico View Post
    Pike won 2 1 after et.nabs with a screamer and a frank hogan peach.very dodgy pen for park.pike were by far the better team on the night and were full value for their victory.Anthony lee man of the match by a mile.pike had a very good youngfella playing left full.
    Good to see 2 Moyross men do well Frank Hogan scoring and Anthony Lee man of the match...

Quote Originally Posted by hoops12 View Post
    get over yourself.pike full deserved it ,dominate for most of the gane while park/shannon or watever ye call yerselves these days were just posing around thinking they had nout to do but turn up
    hoops 12, glad to see you are able to read minds, but where ever u got that training you would want to get your money back.
    i was one of the park players and to say we thought all we had to do was turn up is a long way off the truth. we had 2 very close games in the league against ye so why would we think this was a mere formality.
    Pike were the better team on the night and deserved the cup. The winner was a defection off the wall that wrong footed the keeper. a little luck goes a long way....
    After the few very good chances we had in the opening 15 mins (that we did not take), pike had the better chances afterwards, with carey in goals pulling off some very good saves.
    we did not create enought throughout the game to go and win it. Fair play to pike and i am glad the trophy went to a a club and a few of the lads i know well (seen that we did not win it).
    If they can keep that squad together they will be a good bet for promotion next year (but i suspect ye will lose nabs)....

on a side note in my many years playing at jackman park (and yes it is loads, but not a long as pikes roberto carlos..;-), the pitch is an absolute disgrace. How limerick play there i don't know. To think of getting to jackman as an achievement and then to try and play football on that crap is a joke to the ldmc....

anyway hope the good Pike people i know, had a good night last night...
    'You should never have a bad game, off the ball.......'

Quote Originally Posted by Goals4fun View Post
    hoops 12, glad to see you are able to read minds, but where ever u got that training you would want to get your money back.
    i was one of the park players and to say we thought all we had to do was turn up is a long way off the truth. we had 2 very close games in the league against ye so why would we think this was a mere formality.
    Pike were the better team on the night and deserved the cup. The winner was a defection off the wall that wrong footed the keeper. a little luck goes a long way....
    After the few very good chances we had in the opening 15 mins (that we did not take), pike had the better chances afterwards, with carey in goals pulling off some very good saves.
    we did not create enought throughout the game to go and win it. Fair play to pike and i am glad the trophy went to a a club and a few of the lads i know well (seen that we did not win it).
    If they can keep that squad together they will be a good bet for promotion next year (but i suspect ye will lose nabs)....

on a side note in my many years playing at jackman park (and yes it is loads, but not a long as pikes roberto carlos..;-), the pitch is an absolute disgrace. How limerick play there i don't know. To think of getting to jackman as an achievement and then to try and play football on that crap is a joke to the ldmc....

anyway hope the good Pike people i know, had a good night last night...
    well said phil

Honesty. Expect nothing less from you big man. Well done on league win and best of luck next season.
    The Beautiful Game

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by Zizou View Post
    Honesty. Expect nothing less from you big man. Well done on league win and best of luck next season.
    Knew you wouldn't let us down with your post yesterday. The Darren lookalike was my favourite.

I aim to please. What about our triumphant win. Were you down there no??
    The Beautiful Game

Afraid I missed it, however my mate who is a massive Park fan kept me updated. He even rang as the peno was being taken. He is as good as Len Dinneen.

Quote Originally Posted by twohalves View Post
    Blatant penalty - huge push in the back!Fairplay to the linesman for giving it. If it happened in midfield it would have been a free kick so a good decision to award and also for having the ba==s to flag for it. Also,Frank Hogan peach? I wouldn't say that.Free kick on the edge which Frank was hoping to see past the keepers right but a horrible deflection took the ball to the keepers' opposite side and trickled over the line. o.g in my eyes. Pike were the better side though and only for Graham Carey in goals it would not have went to extra time. Pike are the biggest shower of whingers I have ever seen both on and off the field tonight.Never guess their A manager was playing for them would you now??
    Well done though to the lads,nice to see the trophies shared.Don't think any team has won the double so far this year.
    good to see Limerick referees have each others backs covered.....but how can you defend the official when it comes to the back pass incident? first of all he blows his whistle to acknowledge the infringement..he then awards a free kick thirty yards from goal,,then after some remonstrations from the Pike Rovers players,he advances the free kick to just outside the penalty area.He awards an indirect free kick outside the box for an infringement of the back pass rule....haha...laughable!! Another major mistake by Limerick officials at the headquarters of local football...don't forget the F.A.I. junior cup semi-final..I know Regional won't.

Quote Originally Posted by Spindoctor View Post
    good to see Limerick referees have each others backs covered.....but how can you defend the official when it comes to the back pass incident? first of all he blows his whistle to acknowledge the infringement..he then awards a free kick thirty yards from goal,,then after some remonstrations from the Pike Rovers players,he advances the free kick to just outside the penalty area.He awards an indirect free kick outside the box for an infringement of the back pass rule....haha...laughable!! Another major mistake by Limerick officials at the headquarters of local football...don't forget the F.A.I. junior cup semi-final..I know Regional won't.
    I couldn't agree with you more Spindoctor.

I think you have that wrong. he blew for a free. placed the ball inside the box, and roberto carlos and a few others were shouting it must be in the box (the was the second funny thing , apart from the keeper picking the ball up from a throw.......)

were you on the pitch spindoctor or twohalves????

I think you have that wrong. he blew for a free. placed the ball inside the box, and roberto carlos and a few others were shouting it must be in the box (the was the second funny thing , apart from the keeper picking the ball up from a throw.......)

No, but very very nearby.

Red face

Quote Originally Posted by twohalves View Post
    No, but very very nearby.
    nearby,you say....didn't see you flag for it though!

it was thrown into my hand from our centre half....
    There's no such thing as luck. Victories for the underdog are an aberration on the order of the universe - which is why I've had damn few loses in my time

Quote Originally Posted by Spindoctor View Post
    nearby,you say....didn't see you flag for it though!
    Yes,nearby,watching the game and as a paying punter into Jackman I am entitled to my opinion. I think you may have me mixed up with someone else my friend. I thought it was a hilarious incident, for a man to be playing right-full practically all season for Park and not knowing that he couldn't pick the ball up from a throw when he goes in goals!!! He actually played very well in goals too in fairness.

Quote Originally Posted by lifegoeson View Post
    it was thrown into my hand from our centre half....
    yeah silly from the center half to throw the ball to you, for it to bounce a few times and you had 'no option' but to pick it up......lol

your a funny man..ha ha

it will be up there as something i will look back on and smile when i am finished playing ball....

up there with a handball in the box a few years back when finnan was in charge (first time), winger goes down the line, gets to by line and crosses the ball. defence calll for a goal kick due to the ball crossing the line, the ball comes into the box and a defender hears the calls (no whistle from ref) and not being under pressure does a paulo dicanio and catches the ball. Everybody looks in amazement, the ref blows whistle and gives peno for deliverate handball.......which they score from...lol

yeah silly from the center half to throw the ball to you, for it to bounce a few times and you had 'no option' but to pick it up......lol

your a funny man..ha ha

it will be up there as something i will look back on and smile when i am finished playing ball....

up there with a handball in the box a few years back when finnan was in charge (first time), winger goes down the line, gets to by line and crosses the ball. defence calll for a goal kick due to the ball crossing the line, the ball comes into the box and a defender hears the calls (no whistle from ref) and not being under pressure does a paulo dicanio and catches the ball. Everybody looks in amazement, the ref blows whistle and gives peno for deliverate handball.......which they score from...lol
    Good to see the lighter side of football lads and it's great to be able to have a laugh about it. Was watching a game saturday evening when the ball literally "broke" to the midfielder,there was a huge bang just as the player was about to half-volley the ball forward. He got some fright as did a lot more of the players. There's been a lot of serious stuff this year going around with objections etc.but at the end of the day it's Sunday league football and guys should be thankful to be able to play and have a run-around and should enjoy it a little bit more.

Any red card :P

your a funny man..ha ha

my first taught was to roll it back to you bet you'd have fell around the place laughing then..... to be honest at first i didnt think anyone had seen me pick it up hehe until roberto carlos told on me.. I have a better one i played in goals for star against fairview in the league a few years back think we were 3-4 down so i put the water bottle on the goal line not thinking. two min later the view forward took a shot which i got a finger to but still beat me and hit the water bottle and went wide....... everyone there seen it........... except the ref who gave a goal kick..
    There's no such thing as luck. Victories for the underdog are an aberration on the order of the universe - which is why I've had damn few loses in my time

Quote Originally Posted by lifegoeson View Post
    my first taught was to roll it back to you bet you'd have fell around the place laughing then..... to be honest at first i didnt think anyone had seen me pick it up hehe until roberto carlos told on me.. I have a better one i played in goals for star against fairview in the league a few years back think we were 3-4 down so i put the water bottle on the goal line not thinking. two min later the view forward took a shot which i got a finger to but still beat me and hit the water bottle and went wide....... everyone there seen it........... except the ref who gave a goal kick..
    you need to see a doctor or take off your invisible cloak.....

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234