Thread: When times were bad

When times were bad

Guys first off this is not a thread to have a go at Limerick fc, but only an opinion & annoyance at what i heard from someone a while back. while i was out one night enjoying my 7 up as i don't drink.there were a few people near me chatting & i started chatting to them & we started talking about soccer in England & i said to them do any of ye ever go to a limerick FC match as it would be better to support your local side. As the night progressed one of them started to get a pit tipsy & we started chatting about the club more. but then all of a sudden he let it slip that himself & another fella made a fortune last year working with the clubs kids. (he said how much the 2 of them got running the camps each week & it sickened my stomach). So my Q is why????? when the club were so near going under how could these two fellas be allowed to get away with making a killing off the clubs name at such a bad time. its also shows that the 2 of them don't give a sugar about the club & only interested in lining there own pockets

as i said this is only something i had to get of my chest as i have supported Limerick FC for years & please god many more to come

auld pub talk...more than likely nothing in it.
    you gowl!

Quote Originally Posted by declan hide View Post
    auld pub talk...more than likely nothing in it.

I don't think so this time. he was fairly smart about how much they made. all i want is an answer & an honest one this time plus some opinions

Quote Originally Posted by hailthelims View Post
    I don't think so this time. he was fairly smart about how much they made. all i want is an answer & an honest one this time plus some opinions
    you will have to follow up with more facts then that buddy

Description please.

a pub is a building where people go to converse,meet members of the opposite sex(or in some peoples cases the same sex),socialise or just to get twisted,a wide variety of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks are available within,most pubs also sell crisps,peanuts,etc,you should really try and get out a bit more

Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    a pub is a building where people go to converse,meet members of the opposite sex(or in some peoples cases the same sex),socialise or just to get twisted,a wide variety of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks are available within,most pubs also sell crisps,peanuts,etc,you should really try and get out a bit more
    You have just described Jackman Park on a Friday night during the summer, who needs a pub if thats all it offers!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Description please.

Monkfish im not going to name names & get people into trouble. i will leave that down to the club to sort out these lads, all i was told was that the two lads paid them selfs over 400 a week at a time. this is wrong because the club needed money badly at the time to stay afloat and every penny would have helped. now if im correct & i could be wrong, there was 4 camps to that a total of 1600 per person that is 3200 for 2 fellas to give this to them selfs for 4 weeks work. i love limerick as much as any other fan & it just shows that going by what this fella was saying they did not goive a s**t about the club. all they wanted to do was fill there own ego & pockets.

im just saying its wrong.

Monkfish im not going to name names & get people into trouble. i will leave that down to the club to sort out these lads, all i was told was that the two lads paid them selfs over 400 a week at a time. this is wrong because the club needed money badly at the time to stay afloat and every penny would have helped. now if im correct & i could be wrong, there was 4 camps to that a total of 1600 per person that is 3200 for 2 fellas to give this to them selfs for 4 weeks work. i love limerick as much as any other fan & it just shows that going by what this fella was saying they did not goive a s**t about the club. all they wanted to do was fill there own ego & pockets.

I know you where saying your not going to name names cause you don't want to get people in trouble but most people know who was involved in the camps for the kids so maybe your question should be kept more private amoungst people involved with the club rather than here. Especially if the full details aren't known and all there is to go by is a conversation with a few drinks in these lads. If it can be confirmed by more people involved with the club that this happened or at least the terms of these lads using the Limerick FC name can be found out then fair enough, but for now maybe it should be kept off a public online forum.

2 of my cousins went to these camps and had a great time. Do you expect these lads to work for free? The kids paid for the privilege of being at these camps and I'm sure that was used to cover costs such as wages etc.

And those kids all got a chance to be ballboys, the 2 I know were brought to the match by their father who never goes
    Last edited by harpin; 18/02/2010 at 10:18 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by harpin View Post
    2 of my cousins went to these camps and had a great time. Do you expect these lads to work for free? The kids paid for the privilege of being at these camps and I'm sure that was used to cover costs such as wages etc.
    everyone knows hes on about 2 exlim players who also played with the view hope this not true but told club knew the were taking money for this whats problem?

1,025 Posts

400 a week? Hardly robbery. The only way there'd be sonething wrong with it is if they told the club they'd do it for a lesser amount, or for free.

Quote Originally Posted by [B
    osarusan[/B];1322067]400 a week? Hardly robbery. The only way there'd be sonething wrong with it is if they told the club they'd do it for a lesser amount, or for free.

well he did going by what he told me. but he saw an opportunity to rob them. at the worst time possible & the fact that he gloated about not being there most of the time with a smirk on his face says enough.
    Last edited by hailthelims; 18/02/2010 at 3:22 PM.

well he did going by what he told me. but he saw an opportunity to rob them. at the worst time possible & the fact that he gloated about not being there most of the time with a smirk on his face says enough.
    A real Limerick fan would have put a bottle through his face for being a spoofer. liar or plain kunt. Shame on you.

Should have ran to the top of Arthurs Quay shopping centre, and activated the Pat signal. Scully would have seen the giant P in the sky and come down to sort out these drunken Messers.
    Castletroy_Blue's infamous 2011 season predictions: Europe!

56 Posts

Badly photoshopped but whatever

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ped_ped View Post
    Badly photoshopped but whatever
    This is Limerick, right?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Very odd and pointless thread

[QUOTE=jebus;1322733]Very odd and pointless thread[/QU

Why pointless jebus, onless u like people taking the club for a ride when times a finally looking good for the club.

Well the thread appears to be about some gossip in a pub that isn't backed by facts
    You say you don't want to name names but then also give away who they are
    I'm not quite sure if you're criticising the club or the people in question
    400 quid isn't what I would call ridiculous money
    Also can't see what you want to be done about this
    So I don't really see the point of the thread