522 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    The Seanad is a bit of a joke.
    Post #38.

Quote Originally Posted by weecountyman View Post
    Agree on the vote, disagree on the passport
    Post #71.

Ye might enjoy waffling on and repeating yourselves ad nauseum lads, but I have better things to do with my time. If ye're not going to read the thread before commenting, ye might be better off just hopping onto the bog with a copy of the Star and chatting about your epiphanies in the pub later that evening.

A few posts back I mentioned this exact thing, O'Dea was given free rein to talk absolute nonsense and skirt very close to libel, as well as assassinate any number of FF opponents (including the Greens it must be added) in the run up to the last election. It's an amazing paper where genuine thinkers like Kerrigan and Ross write alongside Harris and O'Dea.

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    If you want to vote in Ireland, representation in Ireland, or an Irish passport, then you should live in Ireland.
    Post #38.

Post #71.

Ye might enjoy waffling on and repeating yourselves ad nauseum lads, but I have better things to do with my time. If ye're not going to read the thread before commenting, ye might be better off just hopping onto the bog with a copy of the Star and chatting about your epiphanies in the pub later that evening.
    True taxes are more important than citizenship of passports (as you say in #71), however if you state that to have an Irish passport you need to live in Ireland then it's pretty much going to get a comment, so no need for a snitty reply.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by weecountyman View Post
    True taxes are more important than citizenship of passports (as you say in #71), however if you state that to have an Irish passport you need to live in Ireland then it's pretty much going to get a comment, so no need for a snitty reply.
    Damn right. I'll be working abroad in a few months when I start my next job. Should I give up my passport? Of course, I'll just wave at customs whenever I need to travel and say, "Dahamsta thinks I don't deserve one." Maybe you meant to qualify that, but you didn't, and it stands as a remarkably stupid comment. Don't you dare run for the high moral ground with aspersions of intellectual superiority when people call you on it. It's pathetic sofistry, and you'd eat anyone else who use it here alive.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

522 Posts
    I qualified it two posts later. If posters are too lazy to read the thread properly, that's their problem, not mine.

A few choice quotes that I think you all might enjoy from the Willie O'Dea support group on Facebook

One writes

One day all this overly PC ****e will go out of fashion, and people who tell it like it is will be truly appreciated. How strange the way none of the media picked up on Willie's very valid queries about FG, and the destruction of a whole 10 years of their financial records. As for Gilmore, how anyone who belonged to a ...party originally funded by the U.S.S.R can judge anyone is beyone me.
    Damn this PC nonsense indeed

another woman who doesn't seem to understand what being the Opposition means says

To all the opposition.....Get on with the job of getting the country back in order and stop devieating and nit picking......Grow up all of you,
    another truly religious man adds

don't kick a person when they are down, he has accepted responsibility, apologised and paid the ultimate political price!!! We all say something we regret from time to time,' let those who haven't sinned, cast the first stone'
    And with that I'm off out to ask the BNP to reinstate the Black and Tans in Ireland if they ever get into power so we can lose a few of these from the collective gene pool that is the Republic of Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    A few choice quotes that I think you all might enjoy from the Willie O'Dea support group on Facebook

One writes

Damn this PC nonsense indeed

another woman who doesn't seem to understand what being the Opposition means says

another truly religious man adds

And with that I'm off out to ask the BNP to reinstate the Black and Tans in Ireland if they ever get into power so we can lose a few of these from the collective gene pool that is the Republic of Ireland
    That's brilliant stuff Jebus! I guess all these folks must be Sindo readers, every second article in the paper today seems to be castigating the Greens/FG/SF/meeja etc etc.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/an...t-2072633.html

The headline alone must be in line for most pathetic leader of the year to date: Sinn Fein supplied the bullets for political hit - and of course the next line is that FG have aligned themselves with copkillers. I love Ireland!

That article you just posted weecountyman is everything that is wrong with journalism in one piece, not just in Ireland either.

That type of hysterical spinning should never be allowed near a national newspaper, even if said newspaper is just a glorified newsletter for Fianna Fail

I qualified it two posts later. If posters are too lazy to read the thread properly, that's their problem, not mine.
    You didn't really qualify it. You just said you were more interested in taxes. That doesn't diminish the part about passports in the original post IMO

522 Posts
    That's a qualification. Let's just leave it, I think the posters were just too lazy to read the thread properly and my opinion isn't going to change. As should be obvious. Jesus, I thought I was pedantic like...
    Last edited by dahamsta; 21/02/2010 at 9:48 PM.

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    That article you just posted weecountyman is everything that is wrong with journalism in one piece, not just in Ireland either.

That type of hysterical spinning should never be allowed near a national newspaper, even if said newspaper is just a glorified newsletter for Fianna Fail
    All the hysterical spinning in the world, and still no political accountability. It's ridiculous.

1,552 Posts
    Willie O Dea: a man of the people cruelly struck down by the media: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...reaking52.html

Not in any way an arrogant, nasty, unethical, aggressive little fecker.

522 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Willie O'Dea The Lying Liar
    "Elements of the media don’t like me ..."
    If it's any consolation Willie, I don't like you either.

1,552 Posts
    I see it has been announced that he will not face a criminal charge of perjury. Strange really as it looked pretty open and shut- if they can't charge him for it could they ever charge anyone?

The hilarious part is that he STILL feels hard done by. What an absolute moron.

“But I still lost my job. It’s like something out of Alice in Wonderland : pass the sentence now and have the trial later,” Mr O’Dea said last night.

522 Posts
    Sure they won't bring a case against Callely either, despite the fact that he's essentially been accused of fraud in a public arena. Where's Ivor's defamation case, eh?

156 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    I see it has been announced that he will not face a criminal charge of perjury. Strange really as it looked pretty open and shut- if they can't charge him for it could they ever charge anyone?
    He's a Fianna Fáil politician, they have friends in very high places to put a word in powerful people's ears

Can't wait until Bertie gets away with his ever reliable testimony from the Mahon tribunal
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

Nice little 20-day slap on the wrist for Callely. No way he'll step out of line again after this.

1,025 Posts
    Sure they won't bring a case against Callely either, despite the fact that he's essentially been accused of fraud in a public arena. Where's Ivor's defamation case, eh?
    Apparently somebody somewhere requested the gardai to investigate Callely and they are duty-bound to do so.

(Source: my mother, approximately 3pm today)

398 Posts
    Cannot believe this, O'Dea is a wally, Callely dodgy and I took the time this morning and read the starting line up in the Dail and Seanad - off the top of my head I tried to pick out how many have been done for or gotten away with some sort of carry on. I counted 25! And not just from the soldiers of destiny!

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345