Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Super League 2010

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Jeez arent we all guns blazing Mr 2 posts!!!! With regard to Celtic I was talking to a mate who played the game so Im just relaying what I was told if you would read my post properly.Im sure this selection and tactics were also to the fore. I never said swinford would win the league or anything just that they are showing their worth for mid table. Now relax in future and dont introduce yourself on to a forum like a baby with nappy rash! Legend ehh?
    Am sorry...Im just getting used of how this thing works. My post wasnt in relation to Swinford as such but all teams baring Westport,Ballina and Erris. All other teams can go down in my opinion and i think it will go to the wire with 4-5 teams battling the drop

Quote Originally Posted by SalthillLegend View Post
    Am sorry...Im just getting used of how this thing works. My post wasnt in relation to Swinford as such but all teams baring Westport,Ballina and Erris. All other teams can go down in my opinion and i think it will go to the wire with 4-5 teams battling the drop
    No worries kid. Whats your connection to salthill anyhow? Or connection to Mayo league?

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    I think if you pick up a point in your first game thats away from home its not bad. Credit for the moneen surface it was the best ive seen it in a long time if not quite hard under foot! By the way Notts County are still looking for their crest back Fahy
    Credit to Anthony McDonald for the pitch.Long time no blog Pixie,your having a tough start to the season.Best of luck for the rest of season but it looks fairly clear which four or five clubs are going to drop.

Lads how many teams organise insurance cover for their players over and above the league cover. Personal accident type cover. Asking as one of our players suffered a serious injury last year which has prevented him working.

TO every club in the Super League did the mayo league ask any club to play there game on sunday at 11 am..?? please reply

Quote Originally Posted by robben 11 View Post
    TO every club in the Super League did the mayo league ask any club to play there game on sunday at 11 am..?? please reply
    No not us

Well Footie, thanks. Ya its a tough ask for the bottom four but their have been a few upsets so far so untill the fat lady sings!

Straide & Foxford 1-3Iorras Aontaithe
    Manulla 5-2Castlebar Celtic
    Snugboro United 1-3Swinford
    Fahy Rovers 1-4Westport United
    Ballina Town 3-2Ballyheane

No major surprizes this weekend. How did the league fair out with the shortage of refs this weekend?????
    Last edited by thekop; 31/05/2010 at 9:07 AM.

646 Posts
    Snugboro United 3-3 Castlebar Celtic

My biased opinion is that Snugboro were slightly the better of two bad teams. Had they converted a penalty at 3-2 and not finished the game with 8 men then they would've shaded it.

But i shouldn't really be talking about the game. On evidence, the 22 men playing football don't really matter. The game revolves around one man, the referee . Normall an affable chap, and I appreciate that he's doing the best he can. But I've never seen anyone get more decisions incorrect in my life. And he should'nt be reffing in the top division.

Excuses can be made for someone blindly not seeing an incident, but on at least 5 occasions, The ref completely made the wrong decision. Celtic, who weren't a dirty side on the day, had 3 straight red card offences. Yet finished the game with 11 men. It came to a point, where the Snugboro bench were giving out about decisions going for them.
    The ref had refereed a game in Snugboro 3 days before hand and quite plainly had a biased
    Last edited by Closed Account; 14/06/2010 at 12:19 AM. Reason: remove a name

Ill agree with most of what you said. However the thing that will continue to baffle me is that in all the history of football ive never seen a ref to change his mind and yet... players continue to argue with him as if he will magicaly change his mind so the two have no-one to blame but them selfs. The two decisions he made were shocking but sadly the dissipline of a few of snugboro will expel any arguments we might have into oblivion. We certainly havent had the rub of the green this season and im sure Celtic will feel they got off lightly but a few monkeys couldnt keep their heads and its sad that ive to lambast our own today when the focus should be elsewhere

646 Posts
    Fair enough, Snugboro players got the red cards, and I'm not disputing whether to deserve it or not. But its a fine line between naivety and stupidity. When the referee is as shocking as your man today, whats the point. Somebody could of picked up the ball and ran into the net and he'd of given a corner!

Come on 12th Man, it's time to do your duty and not allow individuals to be named on this site and be castigated in such a manner. The referee bashing has to stop when people's names are mentioned.

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fair Play View Post
    Come on 12th Man, it's time to do your duty and not allow individuals to be named on this site and be castigated in such a manner. The referee bashing has to stop when people's names are mentioned.
    Fair enough

I was at the match and I felt the referee maybe made one or 2 bad decisions for both teams but in relation to the sendings off he was spot on. Players think they can abuse officials and get away with it. Snugboro were lucky not to have another man sent off when one of your defenders grabbed a Celtic player by the neck and refused to release him. The attitude from the Snugboro management team was disgraceful. Running onto the pitch and ordering his players from it. From the sideline it looked like Celtic were the only team to try and play football with Snugboro using a hit and hope tactic.

Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    Fair enough
    I have to say that yeterday I witnessed this game as I have not attended a Super League match this year.I had heard the the standard was poor and with what I saw yesterday I have to agree.The two teams was well up for the game with it being a local derby but there was not a whole lot of football played.Celtic huffed and puffed there way through the game whilst Snugboro played well at times.On this evidence the two of them are looking like they will both be relegated.
    This was not a dirty game in any way but the man in the middle made a lot of dubious calls.I really do not know why two of the Snugboro players got the line it had to be dissent as I was not close enough and they were not for tackles.One end of the pitch it looked like he denyied Snugboro a blatant penalty and two minutes later a blatant handball in the Snugboro box he denied Celtic a Penalty.
    Nobody minds the odd mistake and Please remember that the man in the middle is only human but there were so many decisions that were wrong it beggared belief.I really felf sorry for both teams as It was not a dirty physical game,they were both honest in thier endeavour.

If somebody wanted to find out who the ref in question is it would hardly be rocket science.

He is normally a good ref, but had a shocker yesterday. Snugboro players (even though it was understandable why)should have kept their heads and probably would still have won game. It is unfair to name people on the forum but Fair play please spare us the lectures.

Quote Originally Posted by rava View Post
    He is normally a good ref, but had a shocker yesterday. Snugboro players (even though it was understandable why)should have kept their heads and probably would still have won game. It is unfair to name people on the forum but Fair play please spare us the lectures.
    awful hard on the players who have being battling against the odds all season to have a ref that wouldnt give them anything. celtic players diving(not blaming them), throw ins, corner kicks everything to celtic. he might as well of kicked the ball into the net himself.
    Mayo league have to stop the same referree reffing the same team for 2 games in a row as he was shocking on thursday night and alot was said to him then as well. so on Sunday we were going to get nothing form him and that was obvious from the start. i was surprised he gave us the penalty in the first place. could go on about him all day, just shocking.
    alot of fines to come for us id say but nothing can be done about him which is a joke. everybody knows its a hard job but when your like that theres no point in playing at all.

Sounds like an interesting game between snugboro and celtic. who was sent off for the boro? any reports on any of the other games?? Looks like ballina back on track again, big win against erris.

The referee in question has a no of personal problens, his son fell down the stairs and broke his neck only 29. I have not met for a couple of weeks, at that time he was going to be paralised and loose his left leg. He is normaly a very good ref and refereed at the very top in Northern Ireland.

Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast