Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Super League 2010

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    That's got yellow background, ours has white

They can't afford to go after us anyway...
    And it was exposed on this same thread last year anyway. Huge scandal that it is.

Westaro Cup 2010

A.Swinford v Iorras Aontaithe
    B.Straide & Foxford Utd v Westport Utd
    C.Castlebar Celtic v Manulla
    D.Snugboro Utd v Ballyheane
    E.Ballina Town v Fahy Rovers

R2

D v E
    Last edited by murphs jewels; 23/04/2010 at 10:17 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    And it was exposed on this same thread last year anyway. Huge scandal that it is.
    You will always be exposed by Pixiehead investigates!!

Erris 4 - Celtic 1
    Swinford 1 - Westport 3
    Manulla 3 - Ballyheane 2
    Snugboro 0 - Ballina 2
    S+F 1 - Fahy 1

No big surprises so far in the league I think, unless you consider Swinford beating Ballyheane last week a surprise, which I dont. I actually think the league is basically the way it will stay, in terms of there being three distinct groups. The first has Ballina Westport and Erris, who will battle for the top three spots. The second group contains Manulla and S+F, who are between the top group and the bottom group of five, four of whom will be relegated (unless a B Team comes in the top two in the Premier league). Anyone have an opinion on that assessment? Do you agree that it looks like Fahy, Snugboro, Celtic, Ballyheane and Swinford will fight for survival? Or might S+F or Manulla become involved? I think S+F are strong enough to pull free of this group and also have some players coming back, or so I'm told. Manulla are traditionally good enough to avoid any difficulty but I have no idea what they are like this year to be honest. Be nice to get some debate going though, this thread is on it's arse.

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Erris 4 - Celtic 1
    Swinford 1 - Westport 3
    Manulla 3 - Ballyheane 2
    Snugboro 0 - Ballina 2
    S+F 1 - Fahy 1

No big surprises so far in the league I think, unless you consider Swinford beating Ballyheane last week a surprise, which I dont. I actually think the league is basically the way it will stay, in terms of there being three distinct groups. The first has Ballina Westport and Erris, who will battle for the top three spots. The second group contains Manulla and S+F, who are between the top group and the bottom group of five, four of whom will be relegated (unless a B Team comes in the top two in the Premier league). Anyone have an opinion on that assessment? Do you agree that it looks like Fahy, Snugboro, Celtic, Ballyheane and Swinford will fight for survival? Or might S+F or Manulla become involved? I think S+F are strong enough to pull free of this group and also have some players coming back, or so I'm told. Manulla are traditionally good enough to avoid any difficulty but I have no idea what they are like this year to be honest. Be nice to get some debate going though, this thread is on it's arse.
    I agree except I'm not convinced that S & F are good enough not to be involved in the relegation battle.

Westaro Cup Predictions

Swinford v Iorras Aontaithe Home
    Straide & Foxford Utd v Westport Utd Home
    Castlebar Celtic P v P Manulla
    Snugboro Utd v Ballyheane Away
    Ballina Town v Fahy Rovers Home

Super League forum

................tumbleweed..................

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    ................tumbleweed..................
    Well why don't you post something and try and get it going again?

Ballyheane seem to have got a few players back in action and should be allright if they can keep them playing all season.

Quote Originally Posted by rava View Post
    Ballyheane seem to have got a few players back in action and should be allright if they can keep them playing all season.
    Ballyheane are masters of just doing enough and looking at their team sheet against Snugboro they looked stronger than previous weeks, I hope they can go on and string a few good results together.

Quote Originally Posted by The Don View Post
    Ballyheane are masters of just doing enough and looking at their team sheet against Snugboro they looked stronger than previous weeks, I hope they can go on and string a few good results together.
    I would say that Ballyheane need to win another couple of games if they are to survive in the Super league, but looking at the paper it would appear as if they are getting back some more of their players. Has Sean Fahy and Peter Burke finished playing.
    Manulla could be the surprise packet this season although it is hard to see anyone toppling Ballina again this season. They have a lot of scoring power in Duffy and Lavelle.

Quote Originally Posted by Bestie View Post
    I would say that Ballyheane need to win another couple of games if they are to survive in the Super league, but looking at the paper it would appear as if they are getting back some more of their players. Has Sean Fahy and Peter Burke finished playing.
    Peter Burke did not even finish last season with them & I hadnt noticed Sean Fahy missing. Two players that would make any superleague side and hard for Ballyheane to replace I imagine.

Joe and Pixie are ye getting a little worried about things yet or have ye more players to return.

646 Posts
    Joe and Pixie are ye getting a little worried about things yet or have ye more players to return.
    A little worried. I didn't see the Ballina or Ballyheane games but the Westport result was fully expected. Don't think we have anyone to come back. The team on Sunday was patched up though, couple had flu, puking at half time. Finished with 10 because of injuries. The only bright spot, is looking at the table, a win puts us up to 6th. Where that win comes from is the question.

Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    A little worried. I didn't see the Ballina or Ballyheane games but the Westport result was fully expected. Don't think we have anyone to come back. The team on Sunday was patched up though, couple had flu, puking at half time. Finished with 10 because of injuries. The only bright spot, is looking at the table, a win puts us up to 6th. Where that win comes from is the question.
    Just going to be a major scrap with everyone around ye by all accounts. Still, looking at the Boro squad they have several players from last years 'B' side and they struggled in Division 2 let alone in the SL. A bit like Celtic 'B' last year. It's a huge ask for guys who have to step up to a mighty bigger stage than playing in the lower tiers of Mayo football. Like you Joe, can't see where ye are going to pick up many points, only thing is that ye are in similar company at the bottom without too much to choose between the bottom 4-5 teams

With 4 or 5 games played now at this stage, is the league startin to take shape of how it'll finish?? of is it to early. i no there's a few teams to play a couple of game so maybe by then it'll be easier to see. by the half way mark of the season i think things will be pretty clear.

Look its no secret that we have lost almost all of last years Squad bar 5-6. The rest of the squad is last years B team. There are a couple of clubs in similar situations. Nobody expects us to get off the bottom anyway. The gaffer and the lads are doing their best but the odds are stacked against us. Sometimes you know its not going to be a nice day but you put on your hat and jacket and get the fcuk on with it

Quote Originally Posted by Back n the game View Post
    Just going to be a major scrap with everyone around ye by all accounts. Still, looking at the Boro squad they have several players from last years 'B' side and they struggled in Division 2 let alone in the SL. A bit like Celtic 'B' last year. It's a huge ask for guys who have to step up to a mighty bigger stage than playing in the lower tiers of Mayo football. Like you Joe, can't see where ye are going to pick up many points, only thing is that ye are in similar company at the bottom without too much to choose between the bottom 4-5 teams
    its basically a B team we have but theres no point in complaining about it. we knew what it was going to be like for the season ahead and we deserve to be were we are now. its just up to the whole team to stick together and fight for survival. most games are won in Mayo if you get stuck into other teams and thats something we havent been doing as yet. but we are still working in training and numbers are still high so we just need to keep working at it and see what happens.

Fair play for stickin at it lads, alot would have pulled the plug when they knew it was goin to be tough. but there's along way to go yet for alot of teams, so who knows how it'll finish at the bottom assuming that this 8 team league goes ahead, as no one seems to no what the story is..

Quote Originally Posted by etoo View Post
    its basically a B team we have but theres no point in complaining about it. we knew what it was going to be like for the season ahead and we deserve to be were we are now. its just up to the whole team to stick together and fight for survival. most games are won in Mayo if you get stuck into other teams and thats something we havent been doing as yet. but we are still working in training and numbers are still high so we just need to keep working at it and see what happens.
    maybe this has already been explained but why are yee missing so many of last years squad?apologies if so-just curious

Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast