Thread: Andorra (A) - the game

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dotts101 View Post
    fai confirm on twitter game in andorra f#ckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
    Really? I rang them an hour ago and they said nothing had been decided yet and it's be next week before they knew? Russian fingerprints all over this....

Boll1x anyway, full statement here...

FAI appealing UEFA’s decision on Andorra match venue

The FAI is seeking to have the decision of UEFA’s Competitions Department to proceed with the Andorra vs. Republic of Ireland game in Andorra overturned. The FAI has appealed to UEFA to seek to have the Andorran FA’s original request for the game to be played in Barcelona upheld.

Commenting on the decision by the UEFA Competition’s Department, FAI CEO John Delaney said the decision goes against previous UEFA and FIFA precedents involving Ireland, England and the Netherlands – all of whom have played their matches against Andorra in Barcelona without issue.

“We are appealing this decision with UEFA”, Delaney added. “Given previous precedents, and the likely volume of fans wanting to attend, we believe the game should take place in Barcelona particularly as the home association had made the request to UEFA ”, Delaney said. “This is a real blow to our fans many of whom have already made their arrangements to travel”, he added.

The FAI has written to UEFA’s Head of Competitions and engaged in a series of contacts to have the decision re-considered. The FAI has also written to UEFA’s General Secretary seeking a reconsideration of the venue.

Among the key points made by the FAI to UEFA in appealing the decision were:

The FAI has co-operated fully with the Andorra Football Association’s request to UEFA to stage the game in Barcelona following their approach to the UEFA Competitions Department in early July. Both associations had agreed that they were willing to play the game in Barcelona.

The previous Andorra vs. Republic of Ireland game was also played in Barcelona on 28/3/2001. There is a series of precedents in the recent past which all concur with the game being played in Barcelona. These include two matches between Andorra and England and one between Andorra and the Netherlands in addition to the above mentioned match versus Ireland.

The interest in the game from the Irish supporters is very significant and many fans have already made flight booking and hotel accommodation arrangements. The disruption and financial pain, particularly in these very difficult economic times when fans have very little disposable income, caused to these fans will be immense. The FAI also believes that many more fans intended travelling, over and above those already committed.

The FAI believes that in light of the many precedents and examples of UEFA and FIFAs’ willingness to allow Andorra to use Barcelona previously and in the interests of all the fans who would wish to attend the game, the fixture would be best served by taking place in Barcelona.

230 Posts
    Doesn't affect me personally, as I'm flying to Nice and driving, but this is getting beyond a joke.
    UEFA are breaking their own 60-day rule. This is seriously fecking over the fans.

I'd guess that only thing wrong with the match being playing in Barcelona is the objections of Slovakia and Russia.

russia allowed england play in barca in 07 or 08, so why diff now?

95 Posts
    Anyone know how the public transport links between Barcelona and Andorra are?

I've 5 nights in Barcelona already booked so I'll lose one of those nights. On top of that I'll have to try book a room in Andorra on match night, then there is the extra travel expenses and that's all before the hassle of getting match tickets.

I'm sure a lot of people will be in the same position. Bit of a balls all round really.

170 Posts
    Bad luck lads, another bizarre ****-up by UEFA.

Apart from coaches into Andorra, you could take the scenic route on a Cercania (regional/ suburban train) to Latour de Carol, then L'Hospitalet pres L'Andorre (on the border, buses to La Vella). Probably take all day, mind.

I haven't seen D9-69 so glum since Rovers scored that penalty on Thursday...

Quote Originally Posted by dotts101 View Post
    russia allowed england play in barca in 07 or 08, so why diff now?
    because Russia went on to only beat Andorra 1-0 ( nearly saving Steve McLaren bacon in the process as a draw would of meant the Croatia 3-2 home defeat wouldnt of mattered)

3,349 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    Anyone know how the public transport links between Barcelona and Andorra are?
    They're grand, but it's a long-ish trip. Buses direct from either Barca airport or outside Sants Station (main bus/train station) - trip takes about 3 hours I think. Regular enough.

Agree with GR's alternative route - stunning trip, particularly if you're going by your own steam (motorway from Barca towards Perpignan, and then turn off for Andorra). That's about a five-hour drive though.

Remember Andorra's only small, so while the game will be on in Andorra-la-Vella (pending appeal), it's definitely an option to book accommodation in somewhere like Arinsal and get a taxi back after the game/drinks.

Have a look on I think, it's seat61.com?

95 Posts
    Confirmed for Andorra now.

Got bus information here: http://www.alsa.es/portal/site/Alsa

They're pretty regular thankfully and return ticket from Barcelona for just under €50. Booked a hotel in Andorra for match night too. Just hoping I don't miss out on a ticket for the match now. Would be a disaster to go all that way and end up watching it on TV in a pub beside the ground.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Any fans thinking of running buses from Barca to Andorra just for the game??

not a chance of getting tickets for this game only 850 seats so rep of ireland might get 100

95 Posts
    We will get more like 1000. It's a 1800 seater ground and Andorra usually have around 500 home fans. Should leave us with the remainder.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

67 Posts

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    Bad luck lads, another bizarre ****-up by UEFA.

Apart from coaches into Andorra, you could take the scenic route on a Cercania (regional/ suburban train) to Latour de Carol, then L'Hospitalet pres L'Andorre (on the border, buses to La Vella). Probably take all day, mind.

I haven't seen D9-69 so glum since Rovers scored that penalty on Thursday...
    Ain't that the truth, well ****ed off. Good to see you last week btw!

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    We will get more like 1000. It's a 1800 seater ground and Andorra usually have around 500 home fans. Should leave us with the remainder.
    Unfortunately it's not in the 1800 seater stadium as there are renovations going on there. We are playing in the other stadium which only has 850 seats. The FAI will only have an official allocation of 85 tickets but the blazers and sponsors will use all of them. I think its down to the local ticket touts to try and get into the ground for this one.

This is the ground unfortunately....

Last edited by EastTerracer; 30/08/2011 at 7:32 PM.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

95 Posts
    This just gets worse...
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Anyone fancy hiring one of those caravans overlooking the ground...

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfman View Post
    Anyone fancy hiring one of those caravans overlooking the ground...
    You might want to head over to the ybig site - they have been in touch with the campsite already.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

So anyone know the best place to watch the game in Barcelona?

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast