Page 11 of 13 FirstFirst ... 910111213 LastLast

Thread: Cycling 2010

Ricco was caught by operation Red Cobra. Co-incidence he's known as the Cobra? Hmmm

Wasn't too surprised by Mosquera. Always suspicious of fellas who move from team to team and then bloom in their mid thirties. Even with 4 top 5s in the Vuelta in a row none of the ProTour teams ever looked at him. Should've been a big hint

Defintely have to feel for Pino. Reminds me of the Milram guy the day Schumacher was caught. he was personally betrayed

Not sure what to make of Contador to be honest - it's not like he hasn't had allegations made against him in the past, and he seemed to have an explaination for the UCI very quickly. However, seems such a small dose that why would he? He wouldn't be a personal favourite, but I'll try and keep an open mind either way.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Not sure what to make of Contador to be honest - it's not like he hasn't had allegations made against him in the past, and he seemed to have an explaination for the UCI very quickly
    In fairness there's usually a gap between hsi a and B sample being tested so if he got the ball rolling without waiting on B he'd have it ready now

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    In fairness there's usually a gap between hsi a and B sample being tested so if he got the ball rolling without waiting on B he'd have it ready now
    The quote on cyclingnews...
    "The UCI informed me on August 24," he said. "I had a meeting with the UCI medical staff on August 26, where I explained how this could have occurred."
    Seems to be a few "experts" saying it could be a result of a contaminated transfusion on the rest day http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/expe...oping-positive

I really don't know - I'd be more disappointed in that than a straight forward doping case to be honest.
    Last edited by Macy; 30/09/2010 at 9:59 PM.

He might have explained it on August 26th but he didn't have the (commisioned) Doctors report backing him up until this week.

I've absolutely no doubt the UCI will try everything in their power to allow COntador keep his title and continiue racing.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika View Post
    While I'd like to think that at least some cyclists are drug free, it just looks less and less likely. As Paul Kimmage said - a clean tour would mean slower times, sprints and therefore less interest.
    Am not sure times are what interests cycling fans as opposed to times in comparison to the other riders. Close races are still exciting.

60 Posts
    Matt Brammier has been off the front with a few other guys all day so far in the World Championships race, currently about 14m clear. Obviously, they will be reeled in fairly quickly when things heat up in the last 50km or so, should they stay clear that long. Good to see him at the front all the same.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Strong ride by Brammier. Roche was prominent for a while but missed the big break and ended up ina big pack with Cancellera and McCann.

My favourite non Irish cyclist Big Thor Hushovd won so I'm happy enough

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Strong ride by Brammier. Roche was prominent for a while but missed the big break and ended up ina big pack with Cancellera and McCann.

My favourite non Irish cyclist Big Thor Hushovd won so I'm happy enough
    Only saw the highlights, but I was kinda kicking myself I never thought of Hushovd when there was all the debate about whether it was too hard for the sprinters. On reflection it was exactly the type of course that suited him, but he was under the radar on all the coverage so it wasn't just me

Well Brammier has signed for HTC fr next year

Big news for Irish cycling. Means the National champion's jersey will be back in the pro tour.

I think he might be mates with Cavendish, going back to junior days and iirc they were in the Brit Academy together.

Yep, said he'd like to be part of his lead out team (he'll have no choice...)

Sam Bennett, our other highly promising rider had to cut short his stint as a stagaire with FDJ due a kneee injury. Shame, as he never got to ride for them. i think his sprinting power will defintely get him a contract sooner or later.

And jsut like that *boom* An post announces that Sam Bennett will ride for them next season. He's still very, very young too

Good result for Dan Martin yesterday in the Giro dell'Emilia - on his own in second and very prominent. Good form ahead of Lombardy.

60 Posts
    Fingers crossed he'll pull it off.

Meanwhile David McCann finished 5th for the North in the Commonwealth Games Road Race in Dehli, 11s down on Allan Davis, Hayden Roulston, David Millar and Chris Sutton. Cavendish was 7th a minute down.

Watched a fair bit of that. McCann involved in a break right from the gun. Was 14, then himself and McCauley (NZ) on their own until about 50k to go, when caught by group of 3 then another 4/5. McCann hung in there despite the best efforts of NZ and Aus to break it all up. Phenomenal ride up against all the ProTour lads.

Cavendish had to chase breaks all day and in fairness to him he worked hard and was in contention with 5k to go. he simply couldn't compete withthe Aussie team though.

Deignan signs with Radioshack.

http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/59...-for-2011.aspx
    http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/phil...news_headlines

Wonder what type of races they'll be involved in this year. Didn't compete in Giro and weren't invited to Vuelta. Hopefully he gets a decent calender

60 Posts
    Change of the set up with UCI should guarantee them the big races - top 17 this year get entered into everything, including the Grand Tours. With Milram and Cervelo folding, Astana seemingly not applying for PT status, and Footon and Lampre having a poor year, Radioshack (11th at the end of September) should be fine. And without their unchallenged leader any more, Deignan's youth may stand to him. That said, all the old 34+yo guys are finally out of the shadows, so they may hoover everything up.

Forgot about the new proteam set up. Hopefully Deignan gets an injury free year