Thread: Finn harps Look to the future with Revive and Thrive campaign

238 Posts

Finn harps Look to the future with Revive and Thrive campaign

http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/donega...ure.6019386.jp

Finally some modern thinking (of some sort) from Finn Harps New Board. For too long our club has been living in the 60's and 70's, great to see a few modern ideas coming to the plate.

60 Posts
    Good to see. Hopefully it will secure the club out for 2010, and avoid another season of financial losses.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    Good to see. Hopefully it will secure the club out for 2010, and avoid another season of financial losses.
    Clubs on it's knees, €420k in debt and struggling to start the season. Great move by the club as we are desperately in need of positivity up here.

Good stuff and the very best of luck going forward,beautifull part of Ireland that would attract European clubs for pre season training camps when stadium is in place ,A lot of work to be done before that but its great that people are being optomistic .

41 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/donega...ure.6019386.jp

Finally some modern thinking (of some sort) from Finn Harps New Board. For too long our club has been living in the 60's and 70's, great to see a few modern ideas coming to the plate.
    Great idea there. Hope it works. We're doing the opposite here. We've alienated the fans trust and we've given the two finger salute to local business's in the Turner's Cross area by trying to move to Cobh. Well done Tommy lad!
    Good evening!

60 Posts
    Clubs on it's knees, €420k in debt and struggling to start the season. Great move by the club as we are desperately in need of positivity up here.
    Jaysus. Didn't know it was that bad. Fingers crossed the new initiative will get things going, and ye have a couple of cup runs (not at our expense, mind!). I think that the "Buy Local" branding is a brilliant idea, especially as there is fierce pride in things Donegal up there from my memories, and the recession bell should help push that.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Must be a few Donegal people that have moved abroad and become wealthy ,some way of tieing them back too their roots by helping the club out with some kind of distance patronship deal might be worth a go.

1,524 Posts
    This is all very much a follow on from the strategic review carried out at the club last year. Unfortunately though the debts are such that the new board end up constantly fire-fighting rather than truly driving the club forward.

If this campaign is a success the debt can be reduced to a manageable level and we can really start to progress.

44 Posts

I really suggest looking at our Caret & Blue Club to see if its a model to revamp your 500 club. Monthly draw and discounts in local shops (ties in with your community move). The key (like most things) was excellent people setting it up. We now have cira 270-280 members at 5e/wk - not to be sniffed at.

www.claretandblueclub.com

Best of luck getting things going in the right direction.
    Drogheda United in this together

36 Posts
    good to see, hope it goes well for yaz, every team should have modern stadiums at this stage, altho can understand the funding isnt there.

would like every team in the league with a new ground and strong finances, bar rovers obviously

Quote Originally Posted by RoversHead View Post
    Must be a few Donegal people that have moved abroad and become wealthy ,some way of tieing them back too their roots by helping the club out with some kind of distance patronship deal might be worth a go.
    Excellant suggestion. Something similar has been talked about but not done yet. That project def has huge potential.

Shay Given...

Quote Originally Posted by kev mcq View Post
    Shay Given...
    Im sure if you asked Shay to help raise some cash he would but I was thinking of a wider appeal to the Donegal diaspra with an overseas patron package in place.I reckon its worth a go and if properly targeted and marketed online you could end up uncovering a whole new source of revenue.Get Shay and Packie to help launch it .Its usually when people think outside the box that great things happen,nothing to lose.

"This season, tickets for the seated area will be €15 (compared to €20 last season) while terrace tickets will cost €12 (down from €15 last season)."

I think that's still too dear for a FD match...
    Last edited by sligoman; 28/01/2010 at 8:26 PM.

I'll keep doing the lotto!

Quote Originally Posted by corkharps View Post
    I'll keep doing the lotto!
    Euro millions, the lotto wouldnt go far

46 Posts
    I think the article reads very very well. Its a well written piece as I'd expect of Doherty. It looks very much to the future while not forgetting the past and accepting mistakes of the past. I think that was always important to do and people are always prepared to back the club when they feel things are been done openly and honestly.

1,524 Posts
    You know you've made it when even the Evening Echo takes notice!

http://www.eecho.ie/news/index.aspx?...p=eyeysneycwsn

Fair play to Shay for the support.

111 Posts
    Wonder would Wee Daniel be interested...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

"This season, tickets for the seated area will be €15 (compared to €20 last season) while terrace tickets will cost €12 (down from €15 last season)."

I think that's still too dear for a FD match...
    20euro and 15 was definitely too dear for a first div game
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?