Thread: UTV/ITV On Sky.

61 Posts

UTV/ITV On Sky.

Can you get UTV/ITV on Sky? Had a look through the listings and it doesnt show up. Im getting fed up with Ntl going off all the time and thinking of switching.

It's not on the Sky listings but if you go into Other Channels in your menu you'll find it in there

Yes you can, but you have to manually tune them. They don't have them on the EPG.

1. Go to "Services"

2. Select "System Setup"

3. Select "Add Channels"

4. Change settings to:-
    V
    5/6

5. Tab down to "Find Channels" and press "Select".

61 Posts
    Cheers lads . I take it you can add a good few others as well ye?

Is Sky any good?

Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    Cheers lads . I take it you can add a good few others as well ye?

Is Sky any good?
    Yes you can add ITV 1-4, BBC 3 and BBC 4 and a few more that have feck all on.

Sky is an overpriced POS if you ask me, but most don't have any other options when it comes to satellite TV. The movie channels are bad so I wouldn't recommend them, it's all repeats.

The service you get with sky is good, though. It never cuts out etc.

Pretty much what Boo Boy said, service is good, most channels are rubbish

Quote Originally Posted by Boo_Boy View Post
    Yes you can add ITV 1-4, BBC 3 and BBC 4 and a few more that have feck all on.
    You can't sky+ them (where you can NTL+ them)

(BTW this is the second time in a month I've praised NTL. NO real agenda but apologies if it seems that way)

Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    Can you get UTV/ITV on Sky? Had a look through the listings and it doesnt show up. Im getting fed up with Ntl going off all the time and thinking of switching.
    irrespective how you get it , analogue, digital direct or through sky/NTL the channel is stll **** poor

Quote Originally Posted by Boo_Boy View Post
    Sky is an overpriced POS if you ask me, but most don't have any other options when it comes to satellite TV. The movie channels are bad so I wouldn't recommend them, it's all repeats.
    Depends, you could just get a Freesat reciever, especially if you're not interested in paying for sport or movies. The freesat HD PVR's are supposedly better than Sky+.

Not enough people know that BBC Suite, ITV Suite (for the moment at least), Channel 4 Suite and Five are Free To Air on Satellite imo, or I suspect the take up would be greater. I've heard a few consumer "experts" discussing TV options, and digital changeover (ha), and they never mention free to air sat.

It's normally on RTE though, who with the crap deal they did with sky have a vested interest in not having people aware and also their paymasters in Government obviously want to eventually launch Digital Terrestrial after years of messing about where the commercial companies business plan revolves around people paying for the UK Terrestrial channels.

Anyway, here's the thread on boards.ie about adding as "other channels"

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post

(BTW this is the second time in a month I've praised NTL. NO real agenda but apologies if it seems that way)
    Wouldnt be one for praising NTL either but if you are a sports fan, i think NTL is superior to Sky at the moment. For more or less the same price, you get the likes of Setanta Ireland and ESPN included with NTL, this is extra with Sky. NTL does appear to be willing to offer packages specifically to Ireland which isnt really the case with Sky.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Not enough people know that BBC Suite, ITV Suite (for the moment at least), Channel 4 Suite and Five are Free To Air on Satellite imo, or I suspect the take up would be greater.
    I agree, my family thought Sky forgot to deactivate our account after we cancelled it because ITV and BBC were free. My aunt knows sweet F all about TV and electrical stuff but she was paying Sky €21.50 per month even though the only channels she watches are ITV, BBC, Channel 4 & True Movies, all that could be watched for free which was something she didn't know of course.

Locked into a 12 month contract too .

622 Posts
    Random post I know but with tomorrow night in mind, I tried adding those fta channels to my old Sky+ HD box. Couldn't load them! " not receiving a satellite signal" was the response.

We had a Sky+ account up to about 3 years ago, until we realised with saorview and fta we didn't need to waste the money with Sky.

Anyone got a solution?
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

772 Posts
    Can the dish pick up any channels ? for example is sky news or bbc on the main EPG working ?

Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    Random post I know but with tomorrow night in mind, I tried adding those fta channels to my old Sky+ HD box. Couldn't load them! " not receiving a satellite signal" was the response.

We had a Sky+ account up to about 3 years ago, until we realised with saorview and fta we didn't need to waste the money with Sky.

Anyone got a solution?
    They could've just moved frequency since you last used it, if you're getting other channels. KingofSat is the site I use for frequencies, and add the channels again.

If you're not getting anything, try a different receiver on that cable if you can, just to confirm whether it's a dish/cable/lnb issue or the receiver.

Was the old box unplugged for long? Sky do over the air updates for the software, so it could be that too. I'm not familiar with Sky HD receivers, but that used to be the case with the old digiboxes anyway (if they miss an update it can take 12-24hours of being plugged in for them to get the update(s). I think there is a way to force a software update, but you'd have to google or go to a more specialist forum (satellite on boards for example).

Any chance they'll block ITVs match coverage in Ireland tonight seeing as Setanta have the Irish rights?

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    Any chance they'll block ITVs match coverage in Ireland tonight seeing as Setanta have the Irish rights?
    Not much chance, Freesat is too big a platform these days. I guess it's possible that it might be through sky or ntl. The UK FTA stations generally buy UK and Rep. of Ireland rights to cover the overspill (population difference means it's not much extra).