Thread: LOI Article?

Wexford Youths player commits Anit-Doping offense

http://www.loi.ie/index.php/about/pr...+International

The Irish Sports Council and the Football Association of Ireland jointly announced today that the Irish Sport Anti-Doping Disciplinary Panel has determined that Michael Byrne who plays for Wexford Youths, has committed an anti-doping rule violation.

The Panel found that, contrary to Article 2.1 of the Irish Anti-Doping Rules, the presence of a prohibited substance or its metabolite, cannabis, was found in a sample of the player’s urine collected during in-competition testing at a match at Athlone Town Football Club between Wexford Youths and Athlone Town on the 26th September 2009.

Michael Byrne was not provisionally suspended prior to the hearing of the Panel. At the hearing, the Panel reprimanded the player and sanctioned him, subject to his right to appeal within 14 days, by the imposition upon him of a period of ineligibility of three months, backdated in accordance with Article 10.7.2, to the date on which he admitted the offence (2nd November, 2009).

The hearing was held under Article 8 (Disciplinary Process) of the Irish Anti-Doping Rules and this announcement is made pursuant to Article 15 (Public Disclosure) of the Rules.
    What does that back dated ineligibility mean does anyone know?

---------
    Can a Mod retitle this thread please?
    Last edited by Doomofman; 15/01/2010 at 2:25 PM.

Possibly this? Came from the LOI Website
    The Setanta Sports Cup Organising Committee today (15/1/10) confirmed that Derry City F.C. will not be invited to compete in the remainder of the 2009/10 Setanta Sports Cup.
    As the club recently had its contract to participate in the League of Ireland terminated, the Setanta Sports Cup Organising Committee has ruled that it would be inappropriate to invite the club to compete in the remainder of the tournament.

Consequently, the following arrangements will come into immediate effect:

- The results of the two matches, as well as disciplinary sanctions relating to the two matches, played by Derry City to date (1-1 v St. Patrick’s Athletic and 1-1 v Linfield) will stand;
    - Derry City’s two remaining fixtures in the tournament will not be played and Linfield and St. Patrick’s Athletic will be awarded 3-0 victories;

Derry City were due to face Linfield on February 26th/27th. This fixture will be replaced by a fixture between Linfield and St. Patrick’s Athletic.

Furthermore, the Setanta Sports Cup fixture between Cork City and Sligo Rovers, which was postponed on November 9th, has been rescheduled for February 22nd at Turner’s Cross with a 7.45pm kick-off.

this one here ?

http://www.loi.ie/index.php/about/pr...on-of-outcome?

Michael Byrne , Wexford Youfs, banned for drugs....

Thanks Danny...

473 Posts
    Fecking eejit

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    424 Posts
    Not a name I'm familiar with, it may even have been the only game he played.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

I'm pretty sure you're right Passinginterest, can't think of any time he appeared on the Senior squad otherwise. He's been on the underage teams a few times though.

83 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Not a name I'm familiar with, it may even have been the only game he played.
    He was an unused sub that night from what I remember and it took them hours to p**s into a bottle.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

2,629 Posts
    good to see the FAI weed out the drug users.

You're not funny, sorry.

2,629 Posts
    thats alright, no need to apologise.

185 Posts
    If it's any consolation Stu, you gave me a good chuckle.

420 Posts
    Does it help that i think you are too

Ah here lads, get the firing squad on me why don't ye.

In all fairness... i can't see a player benefit from using cannabis.. if anything it would have the opposite effect... either way drugs are no good!

Dont worry SkStu. . I thought it was a good one
    Ahhh

2,629 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EivissaPaul View Post
    In all fairness... i can't see a player benefit from using cannabis.. if anything it would have the opposite effect... either way drugs are no good!
    says the man in Ibiza!!

I'm soooo slow, didn't get it!
    Bamboozling