Page 16 of 17 FirstFirst ... 614151617 LastLast

Thread: Turner's future

Quote Originally Posted by bingoballs View Post
    We are all paranoid here in Sligo and the thought that there would be bias against us is insane! What I can't understand is if our contract with it was useless, why would the investigating body not accept that Shams contract was above board? I also heard that shams gave him a 10k signing on fee, don't know if this is true or not, but there is no mention of it and there is no mention of them talking to the player while he was obviously in some form of agreement with us? But I'm just paranoid anyway.
    The turner thing should be put to bed and let's thank god he is not in our midst. He would have created havoc as regards team spirit, player comradarie etc. Let's rejoice in what we have got, genuine sportsmen like Conor O'Grady, Gavin Peers, Eoin Doyle, Alan Keane, Matthew Blinkhorn, Danny Ventre, Richard Brush, Mauro Almeida, Dean Marshall and recent signings. Too much space has been given to a nobody, who has not covered himself in glory on his travels. Let's hope Rovers have learned a lesson on who they trust and do business with in the future. It has been a fiasco!

43 Posts
    We are all paranoid here in Sligo and the thought that there would be bias against us is insane! What I can't understand is if our contract with it was useless, why would the investigating body not accept that Shams contract was above board? I also heard that shams gave him a 10k signing on fee, don't know if this is true or not, but there is no mention of it and there is no mention of them talking to the player while he was obviously in some form of agreement with us? But I'm just paranoid anyway.
    I'll tell you right now that Turner did not receive any such signing on fee from Shamrock Rovers. That is not the way Rovers work. If it was we would have outbid Sligo in the first place back in November. As it was Sligo Rovers were willing to offer Turner more than we were willing to so he agreed to sign for you. A few weeks later Turner approached Rovers saying he hadn't actually signed for Sligo and asked was the original deal Rovers offered still on the table. Turns out that Sligo Rovers having had Turners contract refused to be registered by the FAI had tried to reduce the terms offered to Turner originally. Not known to be the most loyal of characters Turner went about securing the best deal for him. An awful mess but a mess wholly created by Sligo Rovers FC.

And do you not think Shamrock Rovers should have picked up the phone to enquire of us what exactly the situation with Turner was? In my opinion, your attempt to sign him while there was questions over his availability is unethical to say the least!

We are all paranoid here in Sligo
    Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they're not after you!
    Keep on keepin' on.

i was chatting a good few of the shams fans in the carpark after last weeks and match and every one of them said they didnt want him as thought he was nothing but a secterian knacker, wonder what view will they have after he plays a few games as he is a good player. their views may change considerably

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    i was chatting a good few of the shams fans in the carpark after last weeks and match and every one of them said they didnt want him as thought he was nothing but a secterian knacker, wonder what view will they have after he plays a few games as he is a good player. their views may change considerably
    they should be well used to sectarian arseholes with gary twigg in there ranks

Can somebody please enlighten me as to how exactly Chris Turner and Gary Twigg are "sectarian"?

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    Can somebody please enlighten me as to how exactly Chris Turner and Gary Twigg are "sectarian"?
    They don't play with Sligo Rovers so that automatically makes them sectarian. They are also gay, pedophiles and Gah supporters. Ok?

Lads to think that it went against us as we arent from Dublin is stupid. You sound like a hick, or a Cork person.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    well Turner was charged with a sectarian assault of a young catholic man in Coleraine just before he joined Bohs.

http://www.sligoweekender.ie/news/story/?trs=mhkfgbauoj

have no idea why Twigg was mentioned here...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

and twigg beat up a young protestant trainee from the north while at derby

Quote Originally Posted by foxfordred View Post
    and twigg beat up a young protestant trainee from the north while at derby
    Thats not because hes sectarian though...its cause hes a c*nt.

Close the thread....
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

But before you close it.... it's being reported in this morning's Mirror that Shams interest in signing Turner may waning with the arrival of midfielder Robert Bayly. Turner may end up in Galway with Seanie...

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

151 Posts
    Or Rovers with Cookie.

So Rovers are in the wrong (2009 contract deemed insufficient and player not registered with them) but...
    Turner is in the wrong (asked to repay Rovers € 5,000 wages and is deemed free agent)....and
    Shams were in the wrong (their 2010 form wasn't accepted)

So everyone was wrong.........and the FAI come out in the clear as if their procedures were fine..........mmmmmmmmmm..........something fishy here.

Peice from todays Sligo Weekender

"we are perplexed by the findings, we understood that the contract signed by him was not an invalid one at the time" Chairman Dr Kelly.

"when the whole process has been gone through we would like to furnish fans with the details of what happened"

As regards the FAI's investigation into the deal that appered to secure turners signature for the 2010 season, Sligo Rovers are understood to be confident that they followed normal procedure.

Dermot Kelly today confirmed that Sligo Rovers will not be appealing the DRC's decision regarding the Chris Turner dispute.

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

In the heights of elation since 7.18pm 14/11/10
    Quote Originally Posted by Only1Rovers View Post
    Dermot Kelly today confirmed that Sligo Rovers will not be appealing the DRC's decision regarding the Chris Turner dispute.
    At least we might get all the details of this ridiculous situation now. I just hope we have a good reason for not appealing, sometimes you have to stand and fight your corner.

Did he play last night against Sporting Fingal ?

Page 16 of 17 FirstFirst ... 614151617 LastLast