Page 9 of 17 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Turner's future

Disgusted with the way Turner has acted, and if our fans boo him, make banners more offensive than the McGuiness Nazi one and songs about Turner, its no more than he deserves with the way he's treated the club who gave him a chance in football. If it weren't for us, where would he be now ?

Hopefully rumours about Russell are true and we can get him in, may well be the better option, would be more commited and have a better attitude for us, and play like he cares for us. Himself and Coneely would be cracking signings. Any update on John Cass and who our 2nd choice keeper will be ?
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by clubman View Post
    A great player of that there's no doubt but a good signing he never was going to be.
    I think that sums it up perfectly.

We are better without him. We shall move on, although I shall be eagerly looking out for our home fixture vs Shams......should be fun....
    "Overwhelmed"

Quote Originally Posted by Redie View Post
    I can only assume Forza are already at the drawing board for one of their brilliant banners and that it will feature Chris and Seanie.
    What has Sean Connor got to do with any of this?

Get on with making the club stronger, raising funds, getting people to the showgrounds, getting behind the team and management instead of worrying about players who dont want to be at the club and have demonstrated this by leaving or demanding too much. Im sure that our Club management (Club sec i presume is responsible of registration) will be taking care of the Turner issue and maybe its about time this thread was closed and stop wasting time on discussing a lad who seems to have low intellect and doesnt seem to know what he wants. His baby must be have a high IQ if it told him it didnt want to move to Sligo and was only born in Dec. MOVE ON LADS.

Disappointed with this whole thing but glad it's over. Obviously if Chris is getting more money at Shams or if it suited his family better to play there then he's going to do it. He doesn't need to have any loyalty to Rovers, he's not from Sligo. Football is just a job for him, as it is with 99% of footballers these days, there is no loyalty, quicker people start realising this the better. How many of you are loyal to you're job if another employer came after ye which suited you better?

What I would like to know though is if he had signed an official contract with us then why was he let go(unless we got money for him which we don't know yet)? If he wasn't under a contract, why were we paying him and do we get that money back? Hopefully the club will clarify something regarding his contract.
    Last edited by sligoman; 29/01/2010 at 4:10 PM.

Disappointed with this whole thing but glad it's over. Obviously if Chris is getting more money at Shams or if it suited his family better to play there then he's going to do it. He doesn't need to have any loyalty to Rovers, he's not from Sligo. Football is just a job for him, as it is with 99% of footballers these days, there is no loyalty, quicker people start realising this the better.

What I would like to know though is if he had signed an official contract with us then why was he let go(unless we got money for him which we don't know yet)? If he wasn't under a contract, why were we paying him and do we get that money back? Hopefully the club will clarify something regarding this.
    If he was under contract surely he wouldn't have been allowed join Shams just like that as he would've been joining a 3rd different clubs in quick succession ?
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by clubman View Post
    He showed no loyality to Rovers when he left for Bohs, loyality isn't one of his qualities ......... The lad has problems - a lot of baggage and truthfully Sligo Rovers don't need his type. ........... Keep the faith!!!

Well said Clubman. I am extremely disappointed TBH, but Turner is a t*sser quite frankly! Lets move on and hope we can attract decent players who want to play for us. I think Turner could have been a problem in the dessing room if he did not want to be here.

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    If he was under contract surely he wouldn't have been allowed join Shams just like that as he would've been joining a 3rd different clubs in quick succession ?
    You know as well as I do that the rules don't apply to the big Dublin clubs. This whole situation is absolute bullsh1t.

Heard he is back in Sligo ready to re-resign.

Thankfully this is all over. Was delighted to hear he had signed but after this saga and all the uncertainty its best if he leaves. If his head was all over the place then its better he didn't pull on a rovers jersey. No player deserves all the attention this thread has got. He's gone so time to look forward to future signings.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/2841/

At least Rovers have reacted straight away.
    Good to see we're not letting it go. Obviously unlikely he's going to stay here(doubt we'd want him to now) but at least we might get some money for it.

Let's just accept a fair play award and move on.

21 Posts
    The gist of that statement sounds like Rovers have got nothing at all from Shams and the club is out of pocket paying Turners wages since the middle of November.

Lads, there's not really a lot more we can say on this at the minute as it obviously is going to go a certain route. As I said last night, Chris Turner has signed a contract with Sligo Rovers.
    Let's leave it for a wee while and see what happens.
    As soon as there is any further developements, we will let you know.

surely this free's up the budget for another quality player. i would take boco back on an improved offer if he is willing to return. losing morrison and boco will be huge as they were our most creative players and even the most critical fan of morrison must concede when boco and morrison were on form sligo rovers were on form !!!
    we seriously need 2 central midfielders going on last years form. in the middle of the park last year we lacked bite and creativity and it cost us dearly. i hope turners and boco's wages are put to good use with new signings. as for turner i hope he gets all the luck in life he deserves. if thats the way he conducts himself all i can say is that i hope he shows more commitment and loyalty to his gf and child.......... they have a good future ahead of them !!!

also kevin l can anyone confirm he got a signing on fee and wages payed as the rumours suggest

no reason for the club to be making statements before the matter is resolved.. would only further complicate things.. i presume the club wanted to keep Turner and a statement to the effect that he was talking to shams would of made that impossible.. glad its over, he'd lost the trust of fans before he even played a game

Club has been run professionally for past 2-3 years so hav econfidence we did everything correct and above board.Wat ****es me is that it seems its our own fans who are suggesting it must have been us who screwed up.
    Totally disagree with fans wiching him the best, he ****s over our club and we want to wish him the best.Any one of this thought have a word with yerselves.

Call a spade a spade he was out of contract with Dundalk saw an opportunity to get a wage in the off season and played us for fools.

Its time the PFAI stood up to the plate.For far too long we have heard McGuinness harp about the way players have been treated so badly by the clubs, well what about PFAI members screwing and playing the clubs like Turer is.

Let it lie and see what comes

shame on shamrock rovers for trying to register a player when there is obvious question marks over his contract with us.

Shams can be tarred with the same brush here. Model club my arse.

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    surely this free's up the budget for another quality player. i would take boco back on an improved offer if he is willing to return. losing morrison and boco will be huge as they were our most creative players and even the most critical fan of morrison must concede when boco and morrison were on form sligo rovers were on form !!!
    we seriously need 2 central midfielders going on last years form. in the middle of the park last year we lacked bite and creativity and it cost us dearly. i hope turners and boco's wages are put to good use with new signings. as for turner i hope he gets all the luck in life he deserves. if thats the way he conducts himself all i can say is that i hope he shows more commitment and loyalty to his gf and child.......... they have a good future ahead of them !!!

also kevin l can anyone confirm he got a signing on fee and wages payed as the rumours suggest
    Were we not using Boco's wages to pay Turner, ie. Boco was out of contract and gone?

Heard a story today that the compensation had been agreed between us and Shams, also heard that it may go to court! Glad to hear that the club still see him as a SLIGO Rovers player with a contract.

ps. F**k him, he was only milking us for the pre season money, but I hope he doesn't play at Showgrounds like he did last time out!!!
    Last edited by prodsc; 29/01/2010 at 10:20 PM.

i know for a fact turner got 10 grand for signing for rovers

Page 9 of 17 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast