Turner has signed a 2 year deal with us.
Champions 2010
Champions 2011
Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
Bohs are going bust.
I know that's possibly tongue in cheek but much as I hate them they have done very little wrong in all this.
I hope we got something for him. The questions about all the wages we have paid him and the big signing on fee need to be answered.
Most worryingly, we are desperately short of quality in the centre of the pitch.
In my opinion our squad at the moment is much weaker than last season.
confirmed here
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35...sign-for-hoops
Now that it's confirmed.
What an arsehole. Way I see it, he was whoring himself out to a club because he had a child on the way. Got a sweet signing on fee,that was him sorted, now he turns his back on the club who have helped him out big style. No loyalty at all.
Shame on you Chris.
Last edited by Rovers1; 29/01/2010 at 1:49 PM.
It's funny that he signed a contract with us but then suddenly ''his girl and child do not want to move to Sligo''.
Family meetings - Out of style since 98'.
F**k you Chris.
Very disappointed with this whole affair...disappointed with the player although i shouldnt be suprised..and also with the lack of information from the club!!...anyway as has been said its over now and we can move on...cant wait for the fixture list now to see when we get the chance to get the best revenge possible!!
I can only assume Forza are already at the drawing board for one of their brilliant banners and that it will feature Chris and Seanie.
The majority of people who post here are genuine Rovers fans to whom the club means a great deal..i just thought a brief post at some stage through all this would not have gone astray..not looking for all the clubs business to be aired in public..everyone seemed to know what was going on so it was hardly a secret...i take your point though but the club or people in the know who post here are quick to post when it comes to fundraising etc....Turners move in on the Shams website..the only official(ish) post here after over 2 weeks and several pages of speculation was at 11:51am today..saying he was still our player!!!
What a bunch of ejits we have running our club. This guy walks in and takes thousands of euro out of our coffers and we get nothing in return. I said it when we signed him that it was a bad bad move, what Irish club in their right mind would sign a player 4 months before the start of the season. No wonder Shams weren't worried, they knew they'd get their man, while the ejits at our club payed his bills for a few months.
The club cant be expected to give out information until things are finalised. However, now would be a good time for the club to give a press statment, detailing everything people need to know so that the club and the fans can but this behind them and look forward to the season.
Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!
Have to say I'm with Rory and redobit on this - we can't expect the club, even in the Twitter age, to be giving constant updates on stuff like this.
Anyway, given his attitude, the departure of Turner will definitely turn out to be a good thing, even if the whole affair could have been a bit smoother.
"Even if the wind stops to blow
Even if the sea ceases to flow
Even if the sun ceases to rise
The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."
A great player of that there's no doubt but a good signing he never was going to be. He showed no loyality to Rovers when he left for Bohs, loyality isn't one of his qualities. If he has joined the Hoops they're welcome to him. The lad has problems - a lot of baggage and truthfully Sligo Rovers don't need his type. His ability is unquestionable but his attitude stinks. His record speaks for itself and one has only to look at the number of times he saw red last season to realise he'd not be any real addition to our setup.
Let's move on and forget about this whole episode. There's never been a greater opportunity for a successful season than the one that's about to start. Players are two a penny and it's the clubs that have the upperhand. Should common sense pervail and good preparations put in place then the Bit O' Red will once again live the dream.
Keep the faith!!!
Jaysus lads wasnt looking for a running commentary...it was going on nearly 3 weeks and ONE official statement on what the situation was would have helped...still dont know what the nature of his contract was,did we get a fee etc etc etc....wouldnt expect constant updates.