Page 6 of 17 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

Thread: Turner's future

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    Obviously, you've never seen him play.
    played with and against him obviously.........

Good luck to him, great player or not he has handled this whole situation in a poor way and shown zero respect for our club.
    I'll be giving him plenty of abuse when he lines out against us for the dirty shams next year and I doubt I'll be on my own.
    Jumped up nordie *****.

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    Good luck to him, great player or not he has handled this whole situation in a poor way and shown zero respect for our club.
    I'll be giving him plenty of abuse when he lines out against us for the dirty shams next year and I doubt I'll be on my own.
    Jumped up nordie *****.
    I do wish that posters on this board would get down off the fence.

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    I do wish that posters on this board would get down off the fence.
    Sure where's the fun in that.

serious amount of chinese whispers happening here, Shams just signed Dennehy up on website today, no mention of Chris Turner so that says to me the earlier rumour on here that he signed for Shams at the weekend isnt true, lets wait and see what happens, who knows could be a turner, russell midfield this season

Quote Originally Posted by redbuli View Post
    serious amount of chinese whispers happening here, Shams just signed Dennehy up on website today, no mention of Chris Turner so that says to me the earlier rumour on here that he signed for Shams at the weekend isnt true, lets wait and see what happens, who knows could be a turner, russell midfield this season
    Heard he is gone ! Signed for Shams Saturday.........Mercenary is polite term for this fella Im afraid.Good Riddenance to him!
    Till d End!

i find it hard to believe he has signed and not one shams fan on here gloating. if he had signed im sure we wud have loads of them on here telling us we are a small club and so on...... the tossers. if he stays i will be delighted and if he goes, he can go fuc himself the money grabbing nordie.

A comment or press release from the club would nip any rumours in the bud - by not doing so they are allowing the situation drag on.

id say we will be waiting till sundays forum, if he gone just come out with it. the longer they leave it the worse it will be on the club because they should be keeping their fans updated. hopefully no news is good news. maybe they are not releasing a statement as he is still a rovers player. wishfull thinking from me.....

Got a text froma shams fan yesterday saying he was up but hadnt signed (said if he had isgned he'd know) today got another text saying he was up along with 3 Cork players and signed.Said Turner said he "didnt undertsnad what he was signing with us" figue that whatever way you want.
    So lets wait and see.Maybe we will get a definite Sunday.
    Is he here is he there, who knows ,anyway we are set up nicely regardless.

Jus keeping ye informedish

Any word on Russell?

Quote Originally Posted by akearins View Post
    Turner said he "didnt undertsnad what he was signing with us"
    I'd say there's a few things Chris doesn't understand.

Smile

the one question that needs to be answered is did he sign a contract for sligo rovers last november. if he put pen to paper & signed a contract then he is a sligo rovers player (according to the law of contract). if he now wants away as far as i know we are entitled to put a price on his head & if shams want to sign him then they pay for him. what needs to be answered is have the club offically got his signature on paper, if so then we can negotiate. please correct me if i'm wrong.

Yeah your right there. If Turner has agreed a two year contract then Rovers are entitled to keep him to it unless an agreement is reached with another club or a mutual termination is agreed. There may be a clause in the contract so that he can buy it out, but that should be set quite high anyways.

I'm a bit disappointed by the amount of abuse the lad is getting on here. As far as we know hes our player. If and when he leaves I'll be the first to condemn him, but its a bit uncalled for until then.

Might well be confirmed tomorrow officially that he is Tallaght bound from what Ive heard!

bhs

hopefully he's gone. dont need tossers like him at the club....

Red 4 Eva...do you still have that banner you made for connor? X out the connor part and throw turner in i reckon

like that banner lads.. what game did that make its debut in?

( From Rovers website. They couldn't have lied to us, could they???)

Wednesday, 11 November 2009 16:55
    Sligo Rovers are delighted to announce the signing of Chris Turner on a two-year-contract. Turner joins after a year at Dundalk and previous spells with Partick Thistle, Bohemians and the Bit o' Red.

Turner had a very successful 18-month spell with Rovers between January 2006 and July 2007. The midfielder was recently named in the PFAI team of the year for 2009. He will be unable to play in the FAI Cup final with Sporting Fingal due to being cup-tied.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Quote Originally Posted by BYCTWD View Post
    Why would they have to? You never registered him or his contract.... If your club was paying an unregistered player AFTER the FAI told you they had issues with the contract and rejected it, more fool you.
    Far be it for me to question the word of someone who obviously knows everything about the affairs of every club in league but with my very limited knowledge of such matters it is my suspicion that registering a player and signing a contract with a player are two different processes and IF he signed a contract with us last November for two years then he has signed a contract -being registered to play is a another argument.

Its my understanding you didn't register that contract with the FAI for various reasons and as such he was never a Sligo player either contractually or registered.

Think about it - if he is announced at Rovers today as expected - that would mean he was with 3 clubs in a year and he couldn't sign. We know he signed for Dundalk, so that means that he was never officially at Sligo or Rovers have signed a player they can't play until June. I'll let you decide for yourself which scenario is more likely...
    A contract is a contract, whether it was registered with the FAI is totally irrelevant, it is still binding on both parties after an offer and acceptance.

Its my understanding you didn't register that contract with the FAI for various reasons and as such he was never a Sligo player either contractually or registered.

Think about it - if he is announced at Rovers today as expected - that would mean he was with 3 clubs in a year and he couldn't sign. We know he signed for Dundalk, so that means that he was never officially at Sligo or Rovers have signed a player they can't play until June. I'll let you decide for yourself which scenario is more likely...

God you've lost me there. He was signed with Dundalk last year/season I agree with you, that's one club.

When last season finished he signed a contract with Rovers for this year/season and next year/season and we can only assume at that time he was out of contract with Dundalk but anyway make that two clubs for last year/season.

Are you saying that if he now signs for Shams he will be with three clubs in the same year/season?

Page 6 of 17 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast